We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western Inn
Ranked #135 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were visiting from Israel during the holidays and we stayed at this hotel based on recommendations from some close friends. We made a great choice. I like the location and the ease of being able to go anywhere around the city from this starting point. The rooms were well appointed and the service was warm and hospitable. The receptionist even went out of his way to arrange to have Kosher meals delivered to us when my elderly mother did not want to go out due to some pain on her knees. We will return on our next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    113
    59
    23
    24
See reviews for
110
100
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koloa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for only one night but found it to be a great value for the price as my associates were staying only one block away and paying twice the price. It was very clean and breakfast although minimal was served.
A good place for business men watching their budget or families trying to stretch their vacation dollars. And....great location near all the restaurants and shops in Old Town San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdkeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed San Diego and hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Always stay here when in SD. Close to everything and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. We always find the best rates for the area too! It is just a short drive to Sea World, where the kids love to go. Easy freeway access no matter what direction you are heading. Easy 5 min walk to Old Town restaurants and attractions. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nothing terribly wrong with this place. Nothing to rave about either. Bathroom was servicable, but a little unkempt. The beds were way too hard for me. Didn't get a decent night's sleep in the three nights I was there. No Pool. They charge $8 per day to park in the parking garage. Didn't see that mentioned in Expedia. They represent the hotel as being the closest to MCRD and infer that this is where Marine Corps families would want to stay. There are two other Hotels right next to it. I would choose either one next time. Their "Continental Breakfast" is rolls and coffee. There are much better deals in the area and, if I am in San Diego again, I will seek them out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vallandingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were greeted immediately and check inn fast. We were informed of the breakfast times as well as good places to get a nice meal. One thing not informed to us when the reservation was made thru hotels.com was the 6 dollar parking charge. We were told that we could park in street. Not a guarantee that its 100% safe but nothing has happened before so we took our chances. The room was booked same day and we got a discount. The room is large and bed comfortable. The room was clean. The TV didn't work at first but the sent up a maintwnce man and he pleasantly fixed the connection. My only problem with room is the lighting or lack of it. And they don't have enough outlets in the room either.breakfast is coffee fresh muffins and child cereal . I would def come back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeze1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Dear Guest

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope that you enjoyed our wonderful city and hope to see you when you visit San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived to the hotel and I had booked the room for next day by accident on hotwire. The guy at the desk just gave me the room anyway, and was AWESOME about it. The room was older but fine, and huge- a big living room/kitchenette sorta thing, and spacious bedroom with comfortable big bed. Close to Old Town and the airport which was where we were going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Pleasant accommodation in a great location for visiting the Old Town of San Diego. All the staff were extremely helpful to the extent of keeping the spare seat from our hire car for 3 weeks whilst we toured Baja! Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and breakfast included to boot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boudination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, General Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us and were very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our staff and were happy happy that they were able to help. We hope you choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#90 of 278 in San Diego
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn

Property: Western Inn
Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing