We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Western Inn
Ranked #135 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were greeted immediately and check inn fast. We were informed of the breakfast times as well as good places to get a nice meal. One thing not informed to us when the reservation was made thru hotels.com was the 6 dollar parking charge. We were told that we could park in street. Not a guarantee that its 100% safe but nothing has happened before so we took our chances. The room was booked same day and we got a discount. The room is large and bed comfortable. The room was clean. The TV didn't work at first but the sent up a maintwnce man and he pleasantly fixed the connection. My only problem with room is the lighting or lack of it. And they don't have enough outlets in the room either.breakfast is coffee fresh muffins and child cereal . I would def come back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeze1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Dear Guest

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope that you enjoyed our wonderful city and hope to see you when you visit San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    114
    59
    23
    24
See reviews for
110
100
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived to the hotel and I had booked the room for next day by accident on hotwire. The guy at the desk just gave me the room anyway, and was AWESOME about it. The room was older but fine, and huge- a big living room/kitchenette sorta thing, and spacious bedroom with comfortable big bed. Close to Old Town and the airport which was where we were going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Pleasant accommodation in a great location for visiting the Old Town of San Diego. All the staff were extremely helpful to the extent of keeping the spare seat from our hire car for 3 weeks whilst we toured Baja! Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and breakfast included to boot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boudination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, General Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us and were very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our staff and were happy happy that they were able to help. We hope you choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a good hotel in need of some serious TLC. The staff were really helpful, but a bit let down by the fabric of the place. The public areas a bit worn and grubby in places. The room itself was good, plenty of room and the bed was comfortable and clean, but the window didn't quite shut properly. As it was November the nights were getting a little cold, not too bad but more irritating was the noise of the nearby highway which was a bit intrusive.
Really convenient for Old Town, and the Trolley/train/bus interchange - San Diego public transport is really good and easy to use. Good selection of places to eat near the hotel. Also had a very easy to use, reasonably priced laundry facility, with a key available from the nice man at reception which meant you could leave stuff knowing it was secure. Cheap and cheerful about sums it up. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, General Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us first of all we value your business because we understand that their are so many choices. We have upgrade our bedding cover and window and are in the process of during more work during this winter. We are happy that you were happy with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very good price, clean and big room. Peoples who's working there are super nice and helping. Close to the old town and of the airport. We recommend that hotel. We definitely going back there next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinM0ntreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John'ss, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed at the Western Inn about 6 times in the last 2 years and will do so on future trips to San Diego. The hotel is in a great location, 10-15 minutes from the airport, right on I-5 going North, close to bars and restaurants of Old Town and 5 minutes walk from the trolley station to take you down town. The rooms are large, comfortable, well-equipped and clean. Best thing of all is the service from the hotel staff. Not being part of a chain means that you get personal customer service from the hotel manager Sanjay and his staff, who will all do anything they can to help and make your stay an enjoyable one. Add all those things together, and the hotel is great value for money as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, GA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Western Inn is conveniently located in the Old Town section of San Diego. Old Town has access to the tour trolley, shops and great dining. We will stay at this hotel on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16167090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 278 in San Diego
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn

Property: Western Inn
Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing