We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Inn & Suites
Ranked #138 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very good price, clean and big room. Peoples who's working there are super nice and helping. Close to the old town and of the airport. We recommend that hotel. We definitely going back there next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinM0ntreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    105
    56
    20
    24
See reviews for
95
91
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St John'ss, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed at the Western Inn about 6 times in the last 2 years and will do so on future trips to San Diego. The hotel is in a great location, 10-15 minutes from the airport, right on I-5 going North, close to bars and restaurants of Old Town and 5 minutes walk from the trolley station to take you down town. The rooms are large, comfortable, well-equipped and clean. Best thing of all is the service from the hotel staff. Not being part of a chain means that you get personal customer service from the hotel manager Sanjay and his staff, who will all do anything they can to help and make your stay an enjoyable one. Add all those things together, and the hotel is great value for money as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Western Inn is conveniently located in the Old Town section of San Diego. Old Town has access to the tour trolley, shops and great dining. We will stay at this hotel on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 16167090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am not sure what to focus on more here, the hotel itself or the level of customer service I received from this hotel. Sanjay the manager at the front is awesome and really makes you feel helped and at home. In fact I found myself speaking with him about various things for more than 30 minutes one day. The hotel room I had was extremely spacious and featured new shutters in the room and new bedding which I was told had just arrived a week earlier. It sounds like the property is doing its best to really renovate everything and with a price that is low especially when considering how central they are to getting around San Diego I don't think I could beat it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerServiceTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms are big & comfortable, and clean. I heard no street noise. The fridge & microwave were nice to have available, & the service was very helpful. No, it's not a fancy place, but it was very close to MCRD, and it met my needs just fine. I look forward to staying there next time I'm in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is the best "little" hotel in San Diego! Centrally located in Old Town, it has very reasonable rates, walking distance to Old Town, an underground parking garage (free!), continental breakfasts, suites available, close to all of the parks, Seaport Village, Petco Park, and all of the shopping.

Don't be "put off" by the fact that it is an older and smaller hotel. It is extremely well-maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is central.

What more would you want?

Room Tip: Suites are available with microwaves, refrigerators, and very large bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest
We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us. We try to keep all our guest happy and we are happy that you are one of the many happy guest that have stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is dangerous! The elevator doen't have the safety feature where it opens if something is still in the doorway. The decor is awful, it smells, there were huge cracks in the walls, the bathroom was disgusting, and everything was old and damaged. The rooms are depressing and oppressive. I could have never slept there! Third world countries have better hotels than this! The owner did refund my money. he seemed to know his hotel was a nightmare! It should be condemed!

Room Tip: There are so many cheaper and better hotels in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep very guest happy, but we are sorry that you did not like your stay. We will look into this problem and correct it right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#137 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Diego Old Town
#149 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn & Suites

Property: Western Inn & Suites
Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to OLD TOWN, Trolley line and close to all major attractions. All rooms comes with free wireless internet, Continental breakfast, coffee maker, and iron. You can walk out and explore over 150 international shops, historic landmarks theme restaurants and art galleries. The San Diego Convention center and Gaslamp is only 10 minutes from the hotel.The Western Inn is just 3 miles from San Diego Airport and 1/2 mile from MCRD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing