We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and value.”
Review of Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Western Inn
Ranked #133 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St John'ss, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, service and value.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed at the Western Inn about 6 times in the last 2 years and will do so on future trips to San Diego. The hotel is in a great location, 10-15 minutes from the airport, right on I-5 going North, close to bars and restaurants of Old Town and 5 minutes walk from the trolley station to take you down town. The rooms are large, comfortable, well-equipped and clean. Best thing of all is the service from the hotel staff. Not being part of a chain means that you get personal customer service from the hotel manager Sanjay and his staff, who will all do anything they can to help and make your stay an enjoyable one. Add all those things together, and the hotel is great value for money as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    112
    58
    23
    24
See reviews for
108
99
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, GA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Western Inn is conveniently located in the Old Town section of San Diego. Old Town has access to the tour trolley, shops and great dining. We will stay at this hotel on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16167090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am not sure what to focus on more here, the hotel itself or the level of customer service I received from this hotel. Sanjay the manager at the front is awesome and really makes you feel helped and at home. In fact I found myself speaking with him about various things for more than 30 minutes one day. The hotel room I had was extremely spacious and featured new shutters in the room and new bedding which I was told had just arrived a week earlier. It sounds like the property is doing its best to really renovate everything and with a price that is low especially when considering how central they are to getting around San Diego I don't think I could beat it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerServiceTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms are big & comfortable, and clean. I heard no street noise. The fridge & microwave were nice to have available, & the service was very helpful. No, it's not a fancy place, but it was very close to MCRD, and it met my needs just fine. I look forward to staying there next time I'm in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is the best "little" hotel in San Diego! Centrally located in Old Town, it has very reasonable rates, walking distance to Old Town, an underground parking garage (free!), continental breakfasts, suites available, close to all of the parks, Seaport Village, Petco Park, and all of the shopping.

Don't be "put off" by the fact that it is an older and smaller hotel. It is extremely well-maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is central.

What more would you want?

Room Tip: Suites are available with microwaves, refrigerators, and very large bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest
We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us. We try to keep all our guest happy and we are happy that you are one of the many happy guest that have stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is dangerous! The elevator doen't have the safety feature where it opens if something is still in the doorway. The decor is awful, it smells, there were huge cracks in the walls, the bathroom was disgusting, and everything was old and damaged. The rooms are depressing and oppressive. I could have never slept there! Third world countries have better hotels than this! The owner did refund my money. he seemed to know his hotel was a nightmare! It should be condemed!

Room Tip: There are so many cheaper and better hotels in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep very guest happy, but we are sorry that you did not like your stay. We will look into this problem and correct it right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The host was very friendly and service-minded. Even though our coupon was valid for only one night, he accepted it for both nights, and we didn't even ask. The room was big - twice the size of standard motel rooms - and it was clean and neat. It wasn't very modern, but the standard was still better than average. At the price we got it for, it was no doubt the best motel bargain we made on our two-week road trip. The location was also very good - just off the highway (no noise though) and a short walk from the Old Town of San Diego, with good restaurants and a nice little "old fashioned" town center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1981TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to keep all guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#92 of 279 in San Diego
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn

Property: Western Inn
Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing