We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey, Sanjay-get some new matresses!”
Review of Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western Inn
Ranked #131 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Okay, this place is within walking distance to bars, restaurants, and the trolley station. The rooms were clean and the maid service was good. Our room had a coffee pot, fridge, and microwave as well as a large pantry if we wanted to store some food.
Parking is $6 a night which was a surprise to me.
The bed was terrible, possibly the stiffest mattress I have ever slept on (including Mexico hotels).
The place is definitely no frills, and the room is poorly insulated. The continental breakfast consisted of two choices-a mini muffin or frosted flakes. That's it. Coffee or milk to drink. Not complaining, it was sufficient to get us started, but I would not consider this a "continental breakfast". However, considering the location I would stay here again-just maybe pack and egg crate pad to soften the terrible bed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseLovesVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Western Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 345 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel's convenience to everything in Old Town is it's biggest plus. Price is not bad either. It is a comfortable, no-frills hotel. The king-size bed was comfortable (fitted sheets didn't fit, though), the water pressure in the shower was incredible. After staying in many foreign countries I've come to appreciate this. A privacy wall outside my room made me feel a bit closed in. There is a nice balcony area with tables on the back of the hotel. I found it accidentally. Sanjay at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ode2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We thank you for your review we try our best to make all our guest happy. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stumbled across this place 5 years ago and have been staying ever since. For an older hotel I have no complaints. It has covered parking, which I like and is walking distance to everything including the trolly which can take you practically anywhere you want for about 4 bucks. The rooms are clean, tidy and unintrusive. WE always have a coffee pot for fresh coffee and a refrigerator if requesting one. You are provided with a continental breakfast downstairs, which includes the usual, oj, tea, several cereal brands, and muffins, enough to get your motor going before you start out on the days adventure. The staff personal are all friendly and our host, GM Mr. Sanjay is a very nice person, always ready to help, and smiling all the time. I like the hotel for all its worth, nothing too fancy, no flatscreens (ill bring that to his attention, hee, hee) but just plain nice. WE are not in the rooms for any length of time so it suits our needs perfectly. and just off the highway which is great.

Room Tip: third floor facing the street towards old town was actually quiet. Rooms are reasonable, clean, goo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vonnielasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The room was okay, bed good, area great. Nice front desk staff and nice area for exploring. Lots to do around the hotel. The room was dark and forlorn but that was okay, the bed was good and it had a fridge and micro, i think. Great area, Old Town San Diego is awesome. Crazee Burger is stellar, so is Coyote Grill. Too much good food and drink makes for a good trip. Beaches are a short drive. Downtown Gaslamp is epic.

Room Tip: some are dark and dreary, some are nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jahmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Avoid this place. During my stay I was parked in the hotel garage in a designated space when a clay roof tile fell and severely damaged the hood of my car. The hotel staff showed a lack of concern and still has not taken responsibility for the incident. Sanjay, the GM on duty, won't even return phone calls to my insurance company. Stay anywhere but here if you decide to make Old Town your home base on your visit to San Diego.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
Thank RyanS_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I have no complaint, because I know this was an old 2 star. There is no pool, and nearly no amenities outside of the room. I always wonder why reviewers don't mention the bed quality. Isn't that why we all get rooms...to get a good nights sleep? The mattresses are foam and the box springs should have been replaced 5 years ago...they sag. However, I slept great and was blown away, because I expected the worst. Draw your own conclusions.

If you want to visit San Diego and you are on a budget, choose this place. If you can afford a $120/night nicer room and you aren't used to Motel 6 level of accommodations, don't even consider it. After 2 nights here, we moved up to a 4 star resort in Carlsbad 30 minutes north to visit Legoland for 3 days. I could never have done it the other way around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is located right beside the Courtyard Marriot and that seems to be the best way to explain it to many of the taxi drivers. The staff is the friendliest I have seen in the area and willing to go the extra mile to help guests out when they need it. Guest laundry facilities are available. There is no shuttle from this motel and you will need to get a taxi or rental car to travel to most places but when you factor in the much lower price and the fact that the staff is so helpful, it is a small sacrifice. We highly recommend this place to first time visitors on a budget who want to be centrally located to Sea World, Balboa Park, and the harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn

Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $70 - $998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing