We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place with supportive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #72 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Pros: 1) Clean and decent rooms 2) Supportive staff 3) Good and healthy breakfast 4) Nice swimming pool 5) 24 hrs Internet connection 6) Nice location (You will find lot of restaurants, grocery stores near by - walkable distance) Cons: 1) Coin Laundry is missing 2) Internet connection needs to be reset with your checked-in room credentials every 24 hrs. This will be a painful if your connection gets disconnected in between the meetings as part of 24 hrs duration.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Anil_atp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 778 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Bad eggs for breakfast (they tasted more like mashed potatoes not eggs) / Not able to take a bath due to drain not working to hold up the water.. On either issue, staff did not really feel like it was of any concern.... :(

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drehobl, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort of our rooms and breakfast offerings and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Hampton Inn San/Diego/Del Mar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very Nice Hampton Inn. Clean, up to date and good service at a good price. Allows pets. Breakfast was very good - eggs, bacon, breakfast breads, fresh fruit, steel cut oatmeal with plenty of good toppings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Conveniently located, the Hampton was clean, had great beds and the breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure when in the area. the staff was helpful and it was a great value. The underground parking garage was nice with direct elevator access to your floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great Hotel, Good location, excellent breakfast. My first time at this hotel and I had a good rest. The only thing that bothered me was the noise of the tv from the adjoining room but fortunately there was a door separating the bedroom from the adjoining door and after i closed it i heard nothing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 542garyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hampton Inn, Del Mar, is a great hotel with reasonable prices. Two double beds, excellent (and healthy choices) complimentary breakfast, small fitness gym, and very helpful staff all add up to a very pleasant stay. There also is a small outside pool but the weather was too cool for us to use. No doubt that it was a good hotel for us to stay as we needed to be near family in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ann1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Staff is very nice and responsive. Parking is both outside and below the building (so that it's locked at night). Excellent proximity to the I-5, and in a minute or two you are to Del Mar Heights Road, or in the other direction in a little longer you are to La Jolla Villa drive. Rooms are pleasant and well tended. Overall, a positive experience, though breakfast is not up to the standard of say, the Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#113 of 286 in San Diego
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar

Address: 11920 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $118 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Del Mar
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing