We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a pleasant stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #69 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family. Clean hotel, comfortable beds and pillows, free wifi and free parking, along with a free basic breakfast.

Easy access to the five freeway.

The pool area is located in an odd area and small.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaandRod93013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 759 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Clean, quiet enough.... I paid $169 base per night at height of summer season. Quick visit to see area colleges and surf with my teenage son. 5 minute drive gets you to Torrey Pines State Park/Beach. Visit this beach during the week and you'll find parking available in the big lot at the main entrance. A little further north is Del Mar. Nothing super luxurious, not really a romantic get away place.... But perfect for a quick value oriented stop in San Diego. About 20 minutes north of downtown.... With traffic this can be a 40 minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOBEAVS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Loved the easy access to the 5 freeway combined with relative proximity to shopping/dining and the beach. Desk staff was always pleasant, from check-in to check-out. I had printing/copying/faxing to do and they never batted an eyelash when I asked for help. This hotel has the option of outside or garage parking, both free - I liked that! And free WiFi worked wonderfully. My room was clean and I loved the bed, but I think carpets and bathrooms could use a bit of updating. Also, I found out at night that this is a pet friendly hotel, and not all the pets are so friendly! To be fair, the dogs made less noise than my kids typically do. Breakfast was nice, I appreciated the hot options (eggs, sausage, oatmeal). Coffee was very good. Taco Bell and AMPM are next door, a nice shopping center is very close up the road for lots of shopping and dining options. It was a pleasant 10 minute drive to the beach.

A few months ago, I stayed at the neighboring Marriott property - very classy, but no free WiFi or free breakfast. During peak season, price differential makes the Hampton Inn an irresistible value, but I was a bit amazed when I realized that my January stay at the Marriott actually was a lower rate than my July stay at Hampton Inn.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Shani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Dropped in off the road, nice rate, clean room, away from the freeway.

AirCon worked great. I would stay here again.

Bed comfy, TV good, breakfast was very nice.

Plenty of parking, easy access from the main road. Bit of a drive to the ocean, didnt find it in the finish.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the Freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Extremely clean hotel. Fast check in. Close to nice restaurants by car. Drove 5mn to get the beach to see sunset. We enjoyed our stay. Should have stayed another day. Hotel was full on the weekend. We had dinner as the Del Mar Highland center, where there are two good restaurants, a grocery shop, and domino's pizza.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabah_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

In general, we thought the hotel was OK. But the ice machine was broken and the hallway going to our room was like a sauna -- really hot and humid. That part of the stay kind of sucked. When we got into the room, the room air was completely off. We turned it on high but it still took an hour for the room to cool down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great Location of the hotel! A little difficult to find but other than that the parking was great, great proximity to beach, shopping, restaurants, and commerce area. A little pricy - I believe due to Comic Con. Hotel staff with GREAT!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Katelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
#111 of 278 in San Diego
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#107 of 278 in San Diego
629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar

Address: 11920 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $124 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Del Mar
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing