We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hampton and they Nickel and Dime families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #65 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Hampton and they Nickel and Dime families”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at this Hampton Inn for 8 days in May 2012 to visit SD sights and family. The first shock was that when I asked for a crib they wanted to charge me $10/day and then another manager relented and said that cribs are no charge but extra beds are.

Unlike other Hampton Inns I have stayed at, they don't have microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms as standard. You need to order them for another $10/day for each. When I told them that I have never had other Hampton Inns charge me for these appliances, they said, "Well, since you are staying a whole week we will only charge your $10 for each for the week" I said "Well OK..." but still a annoyed. If they charged me $10 per day, I could have bought one for the week.

Except for a few employees (Maria in the breakfast area - you are great!), the rest of the employees do not have a smile on their face and seem unhappy. Pool is small but adequate.

Beware that right now they are doing construction around the hotel that starts around 6am and you can hear it from the rooms.

I would not go back to this Hampton Inn, just because they nickel and dime you, however, it was convenient for us to visit family in Vista and go to Legoland and Sea World.

Room Tip: Pick one upstairs and away from the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    239
    87
    36
    23
See reviews for
242
147
53
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
4voyageuse
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 1 night in May 2012 at this hotel. We were 4 adults, 2 double beds. Cheapest room.

+ : The hotel grounds are very well kept. It looks new. Pleasant lobby with a fireplace, huge TV/breakfast room, hot drinks dispensers all day long (mild, regular and robust coffees, several types of quality teas and herbal teas, Nestlé hot chocolate), some fruits. There is a workout room (4 machines) and a heated pool. There is a computer in the breakfast/ TV room with a printer and an extra USB outlet.
+ : The beach is 2 miles away and the river / marsh (Torrey Pines) is very nice and peaceful.
+ : Helpful and welcoming front desk personnel.
+ : The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable (even for 2 people sleeping in a double), flat screen TV, quality toiletries. There is a coffee machine in the bathroom but there is more choice in the TV room downstairs. Wifi is reliable but sometimes slow (hotel wifi...)
+ : the breakfast: coffees, teas, herbal teas, hot chocolate, 3 kinds of fruit juices, water, 3 kinds of cereal, milk, hot oatmeal, bagels, muffins, toasts, waffles, hard-boiled eggs, sausages and eggs, 2-3 types of Yoplait yogurts, bananas and apples, fruit salad, butter, cream cheese, maple syrup, jams, peanut butter.

- : The pool is on the small side, and it would be nice to see plants around. It feels a little simple, "dry". There is no jacuzzi, a little disappointment. Even cheap motels come with an outdoor jacuzzi.
- : There was no refrigerator in our room but we didn't need any.
- : The surroundings are really not interesting : freeway 5, office buildings, hotels, no shopping mall or restaurants immediately next to the hotel. However, there is an AM/PM next door.

FRANCAIS:

Nous étions 4 adultes dans une chambre de 2 lits "doubles" (140), au tarif le moins cher.
+ : très propre (l'hôtel est récent). Il y a une cheminée dans le hall, une salle de télé / réfectoire, des machines à café (peu fort, normal et fort), différents thés et tisanes, et des sachets de chocolat en poudre. Il y a aussi quelques fruits. Salle de sport (4 machines) et piscine chauffée (22 degrés).
La plage se trouve à 2 miles, la route est sympa car on longe une rivière et un marais (nord de Torrey Pines).
Personnel accueillant.
Chambres propres, lits confortables, sdb bien équipée et produits de toilette de qualité (shampooing, après-shampooing et lait pour le corps, savons). Machine à café dans la chambre mais il y a plus de choix en bas.
La connection wifi tient, rapidité normale pour une wifi d'hôtel. Dans la salle commune il y a un ordinateur avec une imprimante, et une sortie USB (séparée de l'ordi)
Pt-déj: boissons chaudes (voir ci-dessus), 3 types de jus de fruits, eau, 3 types de céréales , lait, flocons d'avoine, bagels, muffins, gaufres, oeufs durs, saucisses et oeufs sur le plat, 2-3 types de yaourts Yoplait, bananes et pommes, salade de fruits, beurre, confitures, fromage à tartiner, sirop d'érable, beurre de cacahuètes.

- : la piscine est petite et ça manque de verdure. Il n'y a pas de jacuzzi, surprenant pour ce type d'établissement.
Pas de frigo dans la chambre.
Rien d'intéressant en sortant de l'hôtel: la route, le freeway 5, des bureaux, d'autres hôtels... Il y a un AM/PM (station-service) juste à côté si besoin est.

Room Tip: Tennis players: there are 2 city-owned free tennis courts 4 miles away on Court St. and 21st St. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4voyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is my new home base when I visit San Diego. I love the huge rooms, the comfy reading chair, free WIFI and delicious breakfast. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tltfaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel had a lot of positives: reasonable price, good access to freeway, clean facilities throughout, and well-maintained exercise room and pool. The price included a wonderful breakfast offering homemade oatmeal, real scrambled eggs and bacon, as well as the ubiquitous waffles. The staff was friendly and attentive. The only negative was the lack of a refrigerator in the room. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldyogastudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We usually stay at Hampton Inns when on the road. This is the fourth time at this Inn over the years as it is close to my sister and Torrey Pines beach. It is very reasonably priced as we took the internet price $70 per night. The room was the usual and the breakfast was OK. What was off was the lobby. We checked in on Friday night around 9 pm. There as a pleasant young man at the desk but in the lobby were three young people who were noisy and one couple the young girl was laying in the guys lap, ok, but her shoes were plainly on the sofa. The lobby was also a little tired feeling as well as the carpet in the elevator. I would stay here again but my wife would not. Hmmmm.

Room Tip: Try not to face the busy road especially if you open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripwilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

  I attended a weekend event that required staying at either the Hampton Inn San Diego / Del Mar or the San Diego Marroitt Del Mar, across the street.  My decision was strictly based on the ability to  cool the room and  to open a window. I selected the Hampton, because there was an  AC unit in the room.

For a variety of reasons, it turned out to be a good selection for me.   The staff were polite, friendly and efficient.  The room was quiet, clean, comfortable, and with free wifi and parking.      Although, I did not take advantage of the breakfast, I always enjoy a quick, help-yourself, coffee in the lobby.  

The major perk was not being in the Marriott where  the VERY, VERY, LOUD events blasted DJ announcements and music into the surrounding area.   Even in my room, across the street from the Marriott, with windows closed, I could faintly hear the  acoustics until just before my bedtime.  Why would I have wanted to be any closer?

Not important to me, but possibly a deal breaker for others:
       Not a huge swimming pool.
       Fitness room is not extravagant
      
 
Other info:

1.    Mexican restaurant, Tio Leo, is a 2 minute walk from the Hampton.
2.  Several restaurants and other retail stores within 8 minutes walk, as well as an Avis car rental office.  I rented a car at LAX airport and rather than return it to SAN airport, I saved a couple of hundred dollars by returning it to the Valley Center Drive location and taking the Super Shuttle to the airport from the hotel.  I would have saved a bundle even if I chose to take a taxi.





      

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton inn for 12 nights and having read some of the reviews was a bit wary,needn't have worried.the rooms were spacious and clean with regular linen / towel changes.the location is excellent for the I5 freeway and the breakfast a welcome plus also no rip off parking charges.i would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#88 of 279 in San Diego
607 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Address: 11920 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Del Mar
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing