We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Ranked #62 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

Stayed at Humphrey's from 24th March-28th March and the service there is excellent. Free hot coffee at the lobby, internet access, a helpful concierge and everything else you can imagine. The hotel itself is small and modest, but the decor (especially in the lobby) is tropical and beautiful. The rooms look a little old and need an uplift (especially the bathrooms) but the beds and pillows were really comfortable. We had a room by the pool and it was quite noisy until 11pm (when the pool closes). Did not notice any noise from the neighbours (like some people have mentioned), it was pretty quiet even though the hotel was full during the Easter weekend.

The restaurant is so-so, not outstanding food, price was over-average.
Bali-hai, recommended on the hotel's website was a joke. They cannot seem to decide between Californian, Portuguese , Hawaiian and Asian cuisine. Overpriced as well. Room service was slow, order was mixed up and we were charged twice of what we should have paid for. Food was not spectacular.

Shelter Island is a lovely place to stay if you have your own mode of transport. (the hotel itself has free parking) If not, it can get pretty tedious trying to get downtown. It is not far, just laboured with too many lights and very slow driving.

The hotel itself may have its faults but it is without a doubt, charming.
The front desk during the day is lovely and helpful but the night staff is often just young men who lack professionalism.

Bottomline: If you are looking for a resort-like place of average quality,
this is it. Marriott, it is not.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    500
    187
    95
    61
See reviews for
422
580
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invermere BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2005

Our family stayed at Humphrey's from March 11-15 2005. We found a great rate of $139.00 Canadian a night compared to over $200.00 a night through our Travel Agent. The Motel has complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport and Amtrak Station every half hour. Check in was good, we ended up with a Marina View Room, no balcony but the window was quite large. Section M is a long way from the pool if you have children. The hotel is older but has been renovated and the rooms are quite nice and very clean. We only had a shower, no tub, fridge and a coffee maker as extras which was nice. The pool area is beautiful, very tropical and very clean. The gardens are very nice and the young lady at the concierge was wonderful, very friendly. The hotel is not close to attractions and we had to taxi it which can get expensive. Most of the restaurants are expensive in this area and not really kid friendly. I would stay here again but not with children, I felt it was more of an adult resort and not really geared for kids. The area is high end with the marina surrounding it so be prepared for higher prices. The walls dividing the rooms are also quite thin, one morning we could hear word for word the conversations of the people staying right next to us and they weren't loud. If you can get a good rate and either a marina or garden view you won't be dissapointed but if you are travelling with children I would choose a place more central to the attractions.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

Stayed at humphrey's for 6 nights in october 2004 when we were at conference in san diego. The room had everything you needed, was clean and quite big, although nothing extraordinary. The hotel facility, however, is lovely. Lovely pool area, with hot tub and bar. Lawn for playing crocket, palm trees, a pond with fish and fantastic wiews of the harbor. Since it is located on shelter island (which itself is a nice area) it's almost necessary to have a car to get in to town. You can take the buss, but that only goes every half hour, and then you have to change to the train to get down town.
The restaurant is also very nice. Overall, a fantastic hotel, a bit far from the center.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed there for Valentine's Day weekend and we both enjoyed it very much. We live in southern Orange County, CA, so we were able to drive down there. Although it is off the beaten path it is still very close (5 minutes - tops) from the "hot spots" of San Diego.
The outside of the establishment is a bit drab and looks almost a little run down. But the interior of the rooms, the grounds, and the lobby are all upscale and refined.
Check-in was painless and easy. One thing you HAVE to do is ask for any upgrades. Otherwise your room will face the parking lot. We asked for an upgrade ($20 extra per day) and our room and patio faced the putting green.
The room was very spacious! We got the standard room with a king size bed and there was plenty of room for the both of us. They have nightstands on both sides of the bed with 2 HUGE drawers that hold all your stuff. The armoire that holds the TV also had three large drawers. The closet is very big as well. Bottom line - you can put everything you brought away someplace so it is out of the way! The room also has a coffee maker and fridge as well. This is a nice touch for breakfast food, snacks, and drinks.
The grounds are amazing! Although we explored San Diego during the day, many of the guests just hung by the pool all day. The grounds give a feel of being in Hawai'i with all the palm trees, tropical plants and colorful flowers. There is a bar outside, and employees walking around to provide service. There is also an area with a stage for concerts that happen in the summertime. We did not get to use the fitness center, but I peeked in and it seemed nicer than the average hotel fitness centers.
Besides the pool, the other parts of the resort are very green with trees, grass, and walkways to take you around.
We ate at the restaurant for Sunday brunch and the view of their private marina was beautiful!
This place is definately worth it! We are planning another visit!!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2005

We recently stayed at Humphrey to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. The rooms were comfortable and spatious. The view of the bay and of downtown San Diego was spectacular. The hotel is close to everything and the onsite restaurant is amazing. The food was wonderful, the drinks were expertly made and the view was beautiful. The only negative we experienced during this trip was the surly desk person who insisted I had booked a room with two queens. He changed us to a king size room and the rest of the trip was a breeze. The lady at the front desk when we checke dout was all happiness and smiles.
This hotel earns a A++++++

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydney2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2005

We recently stayed at Humphrey's for 4 nights - three nights on Expedia and one night we booked at the hotel to extend our stay. It was a great atmosphere and a real vacation resort (though small - it was unique and wonderful).

YOU NEED TO KNOW: The hotel will match expedia rates if you call them directly. This is huge because it gives you flexibility and you don't need to prepay. They have a generous cancellation policy (not that you'd want to cancel your stay) and you can check out early without penalty (unlike Expedia rates).

ALSO - We got a "more used room" (which was more than adequate) with the expedia rate. With the house rate (which got lowered because we found an Expedia rate which they matched) we got a 2nd floor bay view room with a balcony and a high cieling.

The pool area is second to none...large, neat shape, clean and great tropical feel. And the hot tub at night was perfect.

The gardens are really well kept and the resident parrots make it feel like a vacation.

The service was wonderful...they were accomodating, made reservations for us and were available 24/7. We stayed three nights and then another night at the end of the trip. Both times they gave us free upgrades, from traditional rooms to view rooms (either the pool or the bay).

The restaurant looked really nice, though pricy....so we didn't try it.

It's convenient to the airport...though you won't notice it. It's about a 5 minute drive to everything...Sea World, Gas Lamp, the Zoo, Old Town.

We were really happy with this place....be sure you get a good rate...they exist...though if you don't...it's still a great place.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2005

This hotel is clean, roomy, has modern interiors and amenities, and a friendly staff. All the fears I have when selecting a place to stay when travelling were put to rest after this stay. Stay here if you are a worrier!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#53 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Property: Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing