We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Ranked #65 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Wonderful Hotel - they even have concerts - right on the Marina - quiet and the pool was large and had a 9ft deep end. Great restaurant inside hotel and more that you can walk to. We even checked out bikes for free.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from pool if you want quiet as it is open late and kids are having a good time. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    453
    173
    91
    59
See reviews for
380
523
52
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent 6 lovely nights here and were very pleased. The room was comfy and beautifully decorated. It was nice having a small patio to enjoy the evening drink. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Room service was great for late night drinks and chocolate covered strawberries.

We didn't know about the concert hall when we booked. It was a nice surprise, but also the only downer. Specifically trying to park during the concert times. It was frustrating having to struggle to find a parking spot close to the room after paying $10/night for the privilege. They should reserve enough spots for guests and direct concert guests to another lot. One night we had to park down near the restaurant. Granted, it is not that far a walk...restaurant, concert hall, and hotel are all on the same block....but our room was on the opposite end of the row... next to lobby... and there were lots of people around for the concert. So we stopped in at the backstage and had a couple of drinks until the crowd cleared. This was a lovely spot. We enjoyed listening to the band... 52nd Street. Admission is free for guests.

The pool is large with lots of seating, plenty of towels, with drinks and food service available.

We plan on returning. Hopefully getting a room overlooking the water or the concert hall and plan on enjoying the music and the relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on July 26th and 27th, 2012 and the hotel has beautiful grounds, wonderful pool, nice rooms, and very friendly, helpful staff. Downsides: parking lots are small, with small spaces, and there is a $10/night charge for parking. Many restaurants in the area within walking distance, which is good because on concert nights the hotel restaurant is busy and has a limited menu. Did not go to Sheryl Crow concert which was held the nights we stayed there, but could hear the concert from the pool which was nice. Hotel is in great location, right on walking paths which have beautiful views of the bay. Some rooms face the marina, but our room faced the pool area, which also is a pretty view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SALeeReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

While we were greatly pleased with the location of this hotel, our room (C126) was old. The bed (king size) was hard as a brick and squeaked as we got into it. Also, the doors on the rooms are so heavy (and set to slam closed automatically) that it was very noisy just from that since there are 4-6 rooms facing each other in the buildings and, of course, everyone keeps different hours. If you plan on sleeping in (past 7:00 a.m.), you should probably get a room somewhere else.

Room Tip: If I were to do it again, I would ask if there were any renovated rooms available. Our room faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGirlSouthBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for 7 days every year for the past 6 years. Great location but rooms are outdated. We get the suite which has a small kitchen. Pool and grounds are kept up and the concerts at night always bring in a crowd which makes things interesting. Grounds have a putting green and croquet equipment. Pool gets crowded in the afternoon.

Room Tip: rooms facing the marina are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Diego and for your continued patronage of Humphreys over the years! We truly appreciate it as well as your feedback.
We are in the process of a full renovation, however the larger one bedroom suites and a handful of junior suites have not been renovated yet. These suites are scheduled to be renovated starting this fall.

Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to see you back on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After spending three lovely nights at the Pacific Terrace hotel in Pacific Beach, this hotel was a little bit of a let down.

It seems a little outdated and our room gave us a parking view... not the best. The room was spacious but the carpet and furniture was not in perfect condition.

The hotel was quite busy with a red carpet event the night we were there which made it noisy. Also, the hotel seems to be a popular spot for families with many small children. Also, no help from the staff to get our luggage to the third floor.

It was not too expensive so the value was decent.

Where we were truly surprised was the restaurant. Humphreys restaurant was great. This place is a hidden gem. And I'm pretty well travelled in terms of restaurants from local eateries to three-star Michelin. It might have been because we had no expectations for that place but our meal was excellent and not expensive. We picked plates that centered around sea fare and everything was good. On top of that, the dining room is beautiful with views of the marina. Seriously, check this place out.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambientson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

paid way too much for a 'junior suite' that turned out to be a slightly larger than average hotel room. did have a beautiful view though.

no bottled water, no minibar, drinking glasses not replaced when the room cleaned. the second day, the room was still not cleaned by 3:30 pm. parking $10/day extra. at night security guards tell you where not to go because there's a concert going on.

the worst part was that the bed was right by the door so you hear every dish from room service in the morning and every door opening and shutting down the hall all night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hsheffield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#50 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Property: Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing