We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Best Music Best Hotel in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Ranked #55 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently stay at Humphrey s Half Moon Inn and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff is second to none. They made us feel so welcome. When we checked in we were able to receive a upgrade that was really great. The Marina view is wonderful,our suite has its own little patio. The suite was very clean and very roomy. The grounds of the hotel a picture perfect and had beautiful landscaping. The pool area has a bar that is open up on weekends with very friendly bartenders. We were able to go to the Sunday Brunch for Mother's day and it was very good. Our package included a 2 hour bike ride that was so much fun. This might be a old hotel, but it is a perfect hotel to stay in. Don't forget to check out the great music in the Backstage Bar located right on the hotel property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janyceleone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
There are newer reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here because I wanted to go to a concert at Humphry's. If you love music, this is so much fun to stay and see an outdoor concert in a beautiful setting. Indoor lounge has marina view and great acts, too. The hotel location is with in 10 minutes of the airport,great restaurants to walk to and is surrounded by marinas. Easy shuttle from airport, nice not to rent a car. There is water everywhere, some small pockets of beach, but cool marina vibe is a nice change from a busy beach. Ocean beach is 2 miles across Point Loma. Pool and hot tub is nice with a fun tropical decor through out grounds of hotel. Food in the restaurant was excellent! Prices are very reasonable, especially for southern cal in the summer.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the concert schedule if you want peace and quiet. Can book a room on opposite si...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cctraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the Rock 'n' Roll Marathon in San Diego. It had a great hot tub and swimming pool. The shutters in the windows really blocked out light. It is tucked away on Shelter Island, away from the trafficy downtown. There are a few great restaurants in walking distance. It was the perfect choice for us. Apart from one unfriendly check-in gentleman, everyone I interacted with was wonderful.

Room Tip: There is a concert shell, so if you don't want to hear it, ask for a room away from that. Conce...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just spent a 5 day vacation in San Diego at Humphrey's. Stayed in a suite with a marina view and the room was great. Very clean and serice was very good. We were close to the stage area but there wasn't a concert that weekend so it was very quite. On the marina side you do not get pool noise.The hotel is located close to downtown and most freeways so it is very easy getting around town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durango64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Admittedly I was dubious at a '60's era "motel", I was proven wrong! This low key gem offered a beautifully renovated suite, gorgeous grounds and a great view.
We visited on a NON Concert weekend, so I cannot speak about noise, etc. But the resort was a nice trip!
Breakfast in the dining room was well priced, well cooked and served. I will definitely return!

FYI-- you need a car to stay here. While there are plenty of walking opportunities, dining is limited on Shelter Island. Although, don't miss trying Pomodoro! Dinner there was excellent and reasonably priced!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Marina side for a nice view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Compumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I and adult daughter stayed here over Rock 'n Roll Marathon weekend. I thought the property was an exceptional value. Although not new, it was refurbished and very nicely maintained. Front desk staff were very helpufl and we found we were upgraded to a junior suite without requesting it - all for $109 per night. Suite had king bed, kitchenette, pull-out sofa and two chairs, patio overlooking San Diego bay, and even plush bathrobes in the closet. We got to discover Shelter Island and some fine restaurants there and really enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed here for our 6th year anniversary & they made it a beautiful experience. We booked directly with them instead of using 3rd parties such as expedia, hotwire, etc. The next day, I received in email from the reservationist asking if there's anything they can do to enhance our experience. I let her know we're celebrating our 6th year anniversary, if there's anything special they can do for us, it would be greatly appreciated! Finding the resort was no problem. Location was right by the water. Front desk staff was nice and informative. They surprised us with a bottle of complimentary champagne & a cute personal welcome card saying "happy 6th year anniversary!" and such! The room itself was GORGEOUS. Huge flat screen TV, huge king bed, granite counters, nice huge closet.. The setting was very relaxing and tropical. We had only one issue with the television which we called to have a maintenance check it out. They fixed it, and left us a little chocolate in a shape of a hammer with a note apologizing for the inconvenience (Cute!) We had dinner at a near by restaurant Brigantine, and also went to the resorts night bar which was fantastic. Overall, loved the resort, would definitely recommend, and come back again when we visit San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviav730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#49 of 278 in San Diego
1,387 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $139 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing