We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #134 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great place for a getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2005

The Paradise Point Resort has everything; you don't need to leave if you don't want too. The resort is structured around a bay and has duplex bungalows. Our bungalow had a small entrace area, a huge room, fridge, mirowave and eating area, large bath area, couch and a small patio. We were a short walk from the bay, the spa and the pool. Our room was very clean and well organized. We enjoyed our stay very much and this would be a great location if you're planning on visiting Sea World which is right down the street. We booked trhough Hotwire at a rate of $119 per night and it was a steal at that price.

Helpful?
4 Thank MilesToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    1,287
    867
    504
    476
See reviews for
1,993
993
78
994
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2005

If you have money to burn stay here. Parking is 18.00 a night on top of your 182.00 per night. They do not tell you this until you get there. Too, late then, it was a package. Then, simple fare was quite expensive as well. Any healthy choices will cost you dearly. Lovely view, great Christmas decorations. The worst part, having to leave unexpectantly 2 days early. We had trip insurance and Expedia tried to get our 2 days back or at least a portion. The manager would not give a dime back he said. We were very disappointed as we had no choice and had to leave early. It is up to the discretion of the hotel and they chose to give nothing back. From now on Days Inn it is They do it all...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnygal1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

I was on a business trip for only one night and it was definitely not my best choice here.
The hotel is located near Sea World in the middle of nowhere, so you better have a car or be prepared to pay very high taxi fees.

Though the lobby and rooms were nice and kind of tropical warmth, this is imperatively a summer resort, and unless you plan to go there for a week or so and use all the hotel facilities, simply choose something else.

It did reminded me of Gilligan's Island, but getting to my room was a mess and parking the car in the "right" spot was another mess.

Getting from the hotel to downtown takes about 15-30 minutes depending on Traffic, but make sure I insist you have a car, beware of the $18 fee per day, I arranged it because I ran out of hot running water in the middle of my bath.

I visited tha spa which is nice, but nothing out of this world.

Just an average summer resort.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2005

My parents used to take our family when I was a little girl to Paradise Point, then called Vacation Village and we loved it, so when my husbands company decided to make Paradise Point their destination for a company retreat, I was very excited to take my own children there. I am always one to read reviews, and was disappointed when I read a few bad ones, however, now that I have stayed at Paradise Point, I will have to highly disagree with the negative reviews. I don't know if Paradise Point listened to the complaints and fixed them or what, but we had a wonderful time there. The rooms were very clean and very cute. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent and professional, and the food was great. The beach area was very nice also. And you can't get a much better location. There were over 50 employees there, and every person we talked to seemed to agree that Paradise Point is a wonderful, beautiful place. I would definantely stay there again! My kids loved it! Thanks for a great trip Paradise Point! Keep up the good work so my children and theirs can continue to enjoy this beautiful place.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2005

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights and were very impressed, it is set in a beautiful tropical island with lovely Bali type pogodas with chairs to sit and look out over the lovely lakes. We checked in very quickly and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our bungalow type rooms were spotlessly clean but a bit like the chalet style that you get in a holiday camp but once inside our bathroom was lovely and the room was very well furnished, the beds were huge and the linen was clean, we had a lovely lanai with two chairs and a table overlooking the lake,it was very tropical and very relaxing.The Bayside restaurant was very good but we asked for cappuchinos after our meal and was told to go next door to the Baleen restaurant which was very expensive. We were charged $22 for four coffees.The pool areas were lovely and very clean. A beautiful place with lots of lush tropical plants but the rooms were not as luxurious as the island. Would stay there again and we loved San Diego.

Helpful?
3 Thank bensnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2005

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. We paid an extra $50 a night to upgrade to a bayside view room- 233. To be honest, I was a little nervous about staying here because of the reviews on here, but we had a great time- don't be put off. We found staff to be helpful and friendly.

The grounds are really amazing- gorgeous gardens and pools, with blazing torches at night- it was a shame that we had lousy weather as we would have enjoyed it much more with a bit of sun. Having said this, the pools are heated, and we loved the adult pool with the hot tub at night- it is pretty much deserted and very romantic with changing light colours in the pool/tub at night, with clean towels provided at the pool. If the weather had been hotter we'd have loved to have stayed on the loungers there.
The bayside view was really lovely too.

We ate at the Barefoot Bar and Grill every night and for breakfast one day- we found the prices to be reasonable and the food nice- eg $6.95 for 3 massive pancakes and syrup. Service was very good too. If you feel like eating out one night and don't have a car, take the no. 9 bus into Old Town, where there are lots of nice Mexican restaurants. The bus stop is at the end of the entrance to the hotel. the Baleen was too expensive for us.

Sea World is a short walk away. We wanted to visit Coronado, so took the Old trolley Bus tour which can be booked and picked up from the hotel for $30, which was good value. We also went shopping at Horton Plaza and at Fashion valley. You can get on the no 9 and change at the Old Town transit center for Fashion Valley mall, all for $1.75 fare. Alternatively there is a free shuttle that goes from the hotel twice a day except Sunday. We loved the shopping and got some bargains in the Macys sale.

On the downside, we were pleased with the room, but found the carpet to be a bit dirty if we went barefoot- probably because of the bayside location. It did smell a bit musty on arrival, but we didn't notice it after that and it didn't affect my asthma at all - think it's its sea location which causes this- we went to mauritius and had the same problem with mustiness but worse. We didn't have ants- and were generally pleased with the size and facilities in the room- not as bad as painted on here.

Gift shop was very pricey for essentials, which was a shame ($7.99 for a sandwich). These aspects stop us giving it a 5- if the prices for rooms were a little lower and the rooms refurbished we would have given the resort 5. Similarly, we found the Spa to be very expensive ($120 for a 50 minute facial), so did not use this, when i would have loved to have gone if it had been a bit cheaper.

Overall though, we thought the resort was great and would stay here again if visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honeymoonusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2005

We stayed here for 5 nights and upgraded to a standard suite #301. The room was large and clean with a nice patio that faced the adult pool and a nice pond. The kitchen was a joke, with just enough room to walk in but we ended up not needing it anyways. Disappointed we upgraded. The room did smell musty and the everything had a damp feeling to it, but we noticed that if we set the a/c unit to just blow air and close the outside vent, the smell went away. That is the price you pay for being on/by the water. The bed was very comfy and besides the damp feeling, no complaints. Cute room. The grounds were beautiful and extremely well kept. We loved taking evening strolls to burn off our dinner. We only ate breakfast at the Barefoot Bar & Grill and besides being a little pricey, enjoyed our meals and service. The coffee was awful so we went to the Coffee Cart next to the gift shop every morning for a coffee. The gift shop is nice, but again pricey for what is offered. At night, the grounds are beautifully lit with a romantic feel. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Adult pool was nice and relaxing. The lounge chairs were padded with a thick cushion so we easily fell asleep. Over all, we enjoyed our experience at Paradise Point.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#145 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing