We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #152 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
334
Reviewed June 27, 2004

B & B Bayside Bungalow Suite June Special $285. Included breakfast and parking. Special because of June Gloom? Specials for sure equals many, many, many kids. Recommend reserving any room with a bayside view. Although the resort is absolutely breathtaking, the big star is the bay. Room was reminiscent of a friend who let you crash at their beach house. Comfortable and very casual. Most amenities are present, except snacks and drinks. There is a very well stocked gift shop on site. A breakfast buffet is offered at $15.95. A bit pricey for breakfast, but convenient and quite tasty. Dinner at Baleen was extraordinary. The view, service, food. I had the Chinese Fried Snapper $26. The presentation included the head and tail. It was the best meal I've eaten all year! The resort offers many, many, many activities. We rented a motor boat at their marina for a couple hours one day, and we had a massage at the spa. The staff with out a doubt is very friendly, but the service can be inconsistent. For as many positives there is regarding this resort, I think I can put up with a few inconveniences. And finally, the location can't be beat, just north of downtown San Diego and just south of La Jolla. We had a fabulous San Diego vacation. Thank you Paradise Point.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,488)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Point Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,306 - 5,312 of 5,488 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2004

Great resort in the middle of Mission Bay, within minutes of downtown San Diego. Lagoon room w/2 Q beds - ample room for 2 adults, 2 kids. Great family resort - picked up shells on the beach, rode bikes, played tennis, swam in main pool (5 pools on property) and had a wonderful time playing the putting golf course (all grass, not a pee-wee golf course with dragons or windmills). Nice, well maintained landscaping. Room 170 near main pool is noisy, so we moved to quiet lagoon room #582. Barefoot Grill ok for breakfast... dinner menu weak.

4  Thank WCEAGLE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntington Beach, California
11
Reviewed June 16, 2004

My boyfriend and I needed to get away from the stress of civilization, and Paradise Point is just the place! It's on it's own little island in Mission Bay. Each couple have their own private cabana, with different sizes and amenities. Great for romance, but it's also made for families too. We had a Bayside cabana, much better than the Garden view cabanas. We had our own patio, and beach front. The place is not brand new, but extremely well maintained, clean with room fridge, cable tv and movies. When you want to shop or go to the restaurants on the property, a hotel employee picks you up (for free) in a six seater golf cart outside of your cabana and whisks you off. They have a beach front bar/cafe, and a great upscale restaurant, Ballens, with the best food I've had at a hotel in a long time. The view of the bay is incredible. Staff is extremely courteous and helpful, when I ordered room service after midnight, they said no problem, even though it was technically too late. We plan on going back again!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chino Hills, CA
14
Reviewed June 12, 2004

I was really looking forward to going to the Paradise Point Resort but was somewhat disappointed in our stay. I had certain expectations based on the price that we paid for our room. Although the room was large with a kitchenette and a nice bathroom with two sinks and a separate shower/tub area, it had a very standard feel. We were a bit lost because there was no information in our room on the resort (places to eat, things to do, spa amenities, room service, etc.). On our last day we didn't even know what time check-out was. There is a $10 a day charge to use the fitness center, which I was told was standard at resorts, however, other than the size I'm not sure what makes this place a resort. Additionally there were no chairs on our patio, when we called housekeeping they said they were all out, when we pushed the issue they said they would find us some. They delivered two plastic chairs that didn't match, one new and the other very dirty. On the brighter side the pool was very kid friendly with a large splash zone, warm temperature, and a sand area for the kids to play. The Paradise Point Resort has great potential but needs work in the area meeting guests expectations - before they have to ask would be great.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellevue, NE
1
Reviewed June 11, 2004

I read the reviews of Paradise Point and was not sure we should stay there, but we did. It was a great decision. We were there at the beginning of June and there were no ants and no bugs. We got to the resort at about 2pm, and we asked for a room with a view. The lady at the desk said she would try for a room overlooking the lagoon and across from the ocean, but that it would be an hour before it was clean. So, we went to lunch at the Barefoot. Yes, the service is slow there and it is pricey, but the food was excellent and fresh. We could not have asked for a better room. We had ducks every morning on our patio. The foilage was beautiful, and the island was so peaceful and quiet. We heard no one else around us. When you enter the resort, you feel like you are on a deserted island. Yes, the island is spread out, but the walk is so beautiful, you even smell the flowers. We were pleasantly surprised at how warm the main pool was. The beds were so comfortable, and the four down pillows on each bed and down comforters were so wonderful. Don't listen to other people's complaints about this resort. We didn't want to leave. This is a wonderful place and we would go back again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rapid City, SD
1
Reviewed June 11, 2004

Enjoyed our stay with family of four. Grounds were beautiful, quiet and gave you the feeling of seclusion and being somewhere other than in a metropolis of 2.3 million. sure beats a downtown highrise hotel. This is not an ocean beach hotel so dont expect crashing waves/ swimming/ surfing on site (those are a couple miles away) our children were older, but a large number of families with young children were guests. families with young children travelled on bicylcles as the resort is more spread out than it seems. bungalows are not large, but comfortable and clean. went spent a good portion of our time at San Diego attractions. the resort is centrally located for sightseeing and car travel is not difficult. A rental car is a must if you fly in. At the price we were paying it seemed a bit over the top for the resort to charge $16/day just to park your car in front of your bungalow; but we were charged extra for parking (in addition to admission price) at every attraction we went to, so I guess this is a California thing, midwesterners just have to get used to. overall, a very nice stay.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2004

Paradise Point was indeed paradise! I had a wonderful time from the end of the conference I was attending in San Diego until I left San Diego. The room was beautiful and spacious. There were ducks strolling across our patio one morning! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our every request. Baleen and the Barefoot Bar were great places to eat and drink. The grounds were unbelievable! I have no idea what anyone could possibly complain about here. I will return!

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patronlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#164 of 278 in San Diego
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $163 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Prestigia, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing