We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best getaway in town (usually)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #140 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bonita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best getaway in town (usually)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We're locals who work at home and need a getaway at times. Perfect spot to run away 2x a year. Mixed ratings this last visit though (2/14) - Great bayside room, great location, lovely resort - HORRIBLE dining. Baleen is closed for reno and Barefoot Bar was dumpy, average (at best) food, plastic wine glasses and paper napkins. Ratty and droopy framed t-shirts hanging on the wall as art. Really? This is a resort, remember? Maybe it's next in line for a reno. I sure hope so! Denny's would have been an improvement. But, service staff and view were good. Barefoot experince kept this from being a Very Good rating.

Room Tip: Baysides are wonderful if you can get them discounted. Spring for one the "Premium" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizLockLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
LizLockLind, thank you for the TripAdvisor review, as well as your continued patronage of our resort. We regret to hear that the only shortcoming of your most recent visit was a disappointing dining experience. We sincerely apologize for this but are pleased to inform you that Baleen will be opening as a new fine dining venue in April. We trust that this exciting new restaurant will restore your high opinion of Paradise Point when you visit us again.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,680
    1,314
    894
    532
    494
See reviews for
2,060
1,007
79
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

No street names on the property, so it was very difficult to find units. Strange configuration of bungalows for more than one family were a huge inconvenience. I thought all three rooms would (logically) be off living room/kitchen area, but they're not. One daughter and her family had to go through our bedroom to get to the LR/K. Our other daughter and her family had to go through her sister's bathroom and bedroom and through our bedroom to get to the LR/K. VERY AWKWARD ... and no privacy for our daughter and her family in the middle unit. We only ate at the Barefoot Grill: food was outstanding but service was generally slow. Zero entry pool was good for kids but pool was definitely not heated. Expected more for the price we paid.

Room Tip: We were in a bayside bungalow facing the bridge. Good view but motorcyclists on bridge were very lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here for four nights while attending a conference that was held at the resort. Overall I enjoyed my stay here. All of the staff that I encountered (front desk, maids, and ground staff) were very friendly. The resort itself is large and rambling. It is somewhat isolated in that you really need a car to get to any off-site restaurants and stores. The resort has a pizza restaurant, an out door restaurant, and a fine dining restaurant (although the latter was closed for renovations when I stayed there). I never tried the pizza place but had breakfast and a few lunches at the outdoor restaurant that also doubled up as a bar. The food was very good and there was a nice selection of local craft beers available. The resort has a gift shop that also sold a few food items and wine. The best bet though is to try to make sure you have a car so that you can get off-site for a larger selection of restaurants etc. I never counted them but the resort had three or so pools, none of which ever seemed particularly busy. My room was spacious and had a small refrigerator and safe. I would certainly consider staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeogProfOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortoli, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Padadise point resort hotel is good for location but it is in a private land far away from the city. I stayed in this hotel for a conference in february. It was a bad experience for several resons. First of all, for lunch or dinner you have not choice: there is only a restaurant inside the resort very expensive and the food is not good. As I said before, if you want to go for lunch or dinner outside the resort the only possibility is to take a taxi and it is not cheap.
Secondly, rooms and bathroom are not cleaned well: dust and stains everywhere.
Furthermore, you must pay a so called "paradise passport", and you have not choice.
Finally, they charged my credit card for the entire stay even if I paid in advance before to arrive. I asked the hotel to release my money and they answered me that they cannot do it because the money will be released on it own. Unbelievable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Severino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Severino, we appreciate the comprehensive review on your February business stay. We’re sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with several aspects of our hotel, including its dining options, Passport to Paradise, and location in the heart of the city. The hotel is home to five restaurants, as well as extensive recreation facilities which are included in the Passport to Paradise for one low price. If you’re looking for food or fun beyond our on-site amenities, a 10-minute cab ride will get you to many of the city’s main attractions and restaurants. Regarding the cleanliness of your accommodations and the issues with payment, we sincerely apologize for missing the mark. Our team released the funds immediately, but the bank can take up to two weeks to process this and return the money to your account. If you have any further questions regarding your bill, please contact Instant Service at (858) 274-4630.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

oradell
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Pros: The property is beautiful. The food is delicious. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful and responded very quickly when we asked for something (extra pillows).
Cons: There is no place close by the property to walk to if you want to get a cup of coffee or some groceries. The coffee bar closed at 11 am and when I got there at 9, there were no bagels, danish etc available because they were sold out. My first day there, I had jetlag and slept until 11. I was out of luck! NO COFFEE available unless I wanted to have a sit down restaurant experience, which I didn't. I wanted to rent a bike to get to a store. The resort charged $30 AN HOUR!! My sister and I walked to Mission Beach and found a little bike shop and rented bikes for $32 for four days. That's the way to go. We didn't rent a car until the last day because we refused to pay the $36 fee that was going to be added to our bill. I can't understand why the resort would charge this fee when there was an empty parking space right outside of our bungalow. I can understand paying for parking in NYC or DC, but not here.

Room Tip: Rent bikes off the property. Stop at a supermarket and stock up before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at Paradise Point Resort & Spa. Such an EXCELLENT stay! Took my wife there for her birthday and we loved it. All the employees greeted us every time they saw us. We were in a great room and the gentleman at the front counter upgraded us to the presidential suite. ON THE Beach! So beautiful. The grounds are kept well. Customer service was excellent. Food at the Baileen was incredible. Great location as well. So many things to do in the area. WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishmael22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

we stayed at paradise point for a family wedding, would have originally stayed 4 nites but due to snow on the east coast and flight cancellation we only could stay for two. the wedding and reception venues were terrific and the entire grounds are breathtaking. We loved walking around the lush grounds and enjoying the natural beauty of the plants, waterways and birds. The service including food, transport on bellman golf carts and rooms was excellent. Would definitely come back again, so much we didn't have a chance to experience. thank you for making my nephews wedding a success, and a lovely experience for all of us Christina S/ NY

Room Tip: garden lanai room clean private comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Christina, thank you for the flattering review of Paradise Point. We’re delighted that a family wedding brought you to our San Diego resort all the way from New York. We regret that weather cut your trip short, and we hope you’ll return for another stay soon so you can fully experience the island and its amenities.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#143 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing