We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Visit - AGAIN!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #131 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit - AGAIN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been vacationing at Paradise Point for many years. We have spent time there both as young people ourselves and now with our own children and it never fails to exceed expectations! Location, Location, Location!
The grounds are always well groomed, beautiful and the staff is helpful. The sand and the Bay are clean and not over crowded. If you book a room on the water either as a single, a couple or with children, there is little reason to leave the property for anything!

The Bayside studio suites are a "must have" favorite. There are very few hotels right on the water that offer this kind of bungalow/room. Aside from renting a private beach house, we haven't been able to find anything like this anywhere.
This was our first visit back since the decor and campus was been upgraded/changed a few years ago and although it is now more "modern" instead of classic beach house style, everything was nicely done inside the room and very comfortable.

It was also the first trip that we have needed to reserve two attached rooms on the beach. This was a birthday adventure for one of our teens and we were concerned because initially the front desk wasn't sure that they could guarantee the attached room configuration which was a must have with underage children. We also asked to be situated close to one of the firepits which we have never requested before.(Most of the firepits are spaced well enough along the beach to be convenient to any of the beachfront rooms.)

It was a busy weekend, but the staff made sure that our rooms were in the perfect location & the firepit was right in front of our room!!

The hotel has added more family friendly dining options on site and although we were initially surprised by the mandatory ++ parking fee and "passport" fee, we discovered (too late!) that the mandatory passport includes a free family pizza dinner + salad etc... at the new pizza restaurant which is open after 5pm.

My suggestion to anyone is to CALL the hotel directly when making reservations. This is not an inexpensive vacation spot, but there are several different types of rooms in different areas and the overall hotel experience cannot be beat!

Well done AGAIN Paradise Point! We will be back soon!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room & call the hotel directly to book your reservation and ask questions, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the continued business and the exceptional review of Paradise Point. We’re thrilled to hear you’ve been a loyal guest for quite some time, and that you’ve now passed the vacation tradition on to your children. Though we cannot guarantee room placements as you mentioned, our team always does their best to fulfill guest requests; we’re so glad we were able to accommodate you and make your birthday celebration special. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay at Paradise Point Resort & Spa year after year and look forward to your next visit.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    1,265
    852
    492
    467
See reviews for
1,969
985
76
953
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hotel was on the older side, I was a little nervous when we were shown to our room. However, the room was clean, the air conditioner worked well. The bathroom is a little outdated, the shower is in a bathtub, but the grounds were beautiful. We were attending a convention there, so it was convenient. The weather was perfect, I really enjoyed my morning runs on the little beach with spectacular views of the city across the water. The main pool was very nice and enjoyable as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beverly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just came back from spending 2 days at this resort, I wish I had more time to enjoy the facilities offered. You feel like you have your own little bungalow amongst the beautiful grounds of this resort. We had a junior suite which was spacious, a big comfy bed nice seating area and a small little kitchenette. Our backyard deck was on a little pond the ducks came right up to greet me when I stepped out to enjoy the tranquility of this place. Quiet convenient to the downtown area. Enjoyed a cocktail at the Barefoot bar and grill with it's beautiful view of the bay. We also had breakfast there one morning and would recommend the maple cinnamon French toast, never thought I would finish this loaf that was placed down before me but my plate was cleaned so delicious.
Would come back and spend more time there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn93054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a great location that is close to shopping, restaurants, downtown, and many of the tourist attractions. We had wanted to stay here on previous trips but ended up staying elsewhere for various reasons.

The Great:
Lovely layout with rooms spread out over a large area. Parking was close to our room which was handy ($32 a day). The grounds are easily the BEST feature of this resort. Lots of pools, hot tubs, and a long beach area with nice views. There are 3 restaurants on site as well as a small store. We mostly ate at the Barefoot Grill which was right by the water. Food was always excellent, the price was very reasonable, and the service was decent. I think that was the best on-site restaurant that I have experienced at any hotel.

The Good:
Lots of pools, hot tubs, beach with plenty of chairs available. Resort was fairly quiet considering that it was so close to busier areas of San Diego. Beds were comfortable enough.

The Bad:
Rooms were pretty standard. Bathrooms could use an update. I thought the rooms were OK for what we paid but not worth the higher summer price. Parking fee seemed pretty high considering each stall was assigned.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and might come back to this location (based on the location and views).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Rock, we’re so glad you finally had the chance to stay at Paradise Point and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the resort. Your kind comments on the grounds and restaurants are greatly appreciated, as is your feedback regarding your guestroom bathroom, which we’ll look at making some improvements to. We hope you decide to stay with us again the next time you’re looking for accommodations conveniently located in the Mission Bay area.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The resort was very nice, clean with beautiful views of Mission Bay. Our room was the lanai bayside...the room was average ...seemed to be remodeled but could've used more improvements especially in the bathroom ....tub and fixtures looked old. Although the room was brightly painted, the plaster on walls looked chipped. However,the view was fantastic! We didn't bother eating at any of the restaurants ,other reviews didn't sound that great. Be prepared for an additional $34/night parking fee and $17/night resort fee. The $17/ night resort fee is Ridiculous especially if you don't plan on playing tennis, ping pong or any of the other " resort activities". Very close to Sea World,San Diego Zoo and other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceytlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

As soon as we pulled up by son thought we were in Hawaii. I came as a single mother with three of my kids age 9, 14 and 22 and all three loved it! My oldest felt relaxed, and all loved the pool and the quadrycle ride. I also loved how the rooms are like bungalows and not an average high tower hotel but easily accessible to the pool, market, beach and the different restaurants. We didn't have to leave the island and wished we stayed longer. We'll definitley be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Love this resort and will definitely come back. Only downside is pricey resort fee & parking. They have great specials with great prices. Grounds and pool are beautiful. Great location in San Diego. Great place for destination wedding too. Baleen is very good too.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#148 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing