We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 11 2013 Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #147 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“May 11 2013 Wedding”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of the best resort stays we have ever had! The staff was incredible. Very accomodating, and extremely friendly. I don't have one complaint. My daughter and son in law chose this as their destination wedding location, and we couldn't be more pleased with their choice. We will definitely return to Paradise Point.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    1,373
    976
    589
    540
See reviews for
2,227
1,059
84
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The grounds are beautiful here, with paths to walk, bridges, gardens, ducks to feed, private beach that is very clean, 5 heated pools including 1 with zero entry for little kids. We loved Barefoot Grill (amazing drinks including mojito and the Point, really fantastic pork chop and hamburgers). The staff at this restaurant was so friendly and fun, especially Emelia (spelling?).
We were upgraded to a garden bungalow, which was about 100 yards walking to the private beach. My 2 year old was so happy with gardens, beach and feeding the ducks.
The bungalows were very quiet and spacious, only problem was the very flat pillows and the bathroom could be upgraded, but wonderful place. We will definately be back!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bungalow , was very quiet and nice for a family as our son had a separate room for his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I brought my family here for labor day weekend as part of our annual pilgrimage to San Diego to see our beloved Giants take on the Padres. For the past several years we had stayed at hotels in the Gaslamp District and wanted to try something a little more family-friendly for my children (ages 7 and 4). We found a terrific deal for Paradise Point and were very impressed.

The room was more of a beachfront bungalow, which made our vacation feel like even more of an escape. I liked having the sandy beach only a few paces from our room, although we spent much more time at the pools. Yes, multiple pools. We took our pick, and I couldn't keep my kids out of the water. The poolside drink service kept us parents happy as well.

The location is terrific if you are going to Sea World, but not much else... Downtown, the zoo, and any non-resort food options require a bit of driving and fighting traffic. We found ourselves eating onsite just to avoid the hassle. I don't think that is a deal-breaker however, and will happily stay here again if we find another killer deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Every negative comment you read on here is true. My husband and i JUST checked into our ocean front bungalow suite and already i'm wishing to leave. We are here for 4 days and i dont know if i'll last.
Everything is old. O-L-D. Everything needs to be updated. This is not what i would call a luxury resort hotel. Though the view is worth a million bucks, the room is more like a motel... very beachy crappy. Paradise Point thrives off of their "conde nast" accolade, but honestly why not pay more and stay at a resort that was actually number 1 on the conde nast list - Pelican Hill Newport Beach CA. THAT is a resort. This is a crappy motel.
I'm very disappointed. The walls are old, the floor is dusty and dirty. The bathroom smelled like a bathroom, the smoke detector was missing with the wires all hanging out (see photo)... The picture quality of the flat screens were horrible and outdated. The wet bar area again was dusty and dirty. The walls are thin so we can hear all of the workers outside talking. Again, i JUST got here and this is my first impression review - first impressions on the sleeping room is EVERYTHING to me. It doesn't matter how wonderful the service is, the room is crappy.... we will NOT be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miriamgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff at P.P. was amazing! From check-in to Room Service to the Marina. Everybody was friendly and helpful. What a great place for families and gathering of friends. Casual and easy going. The grounds are lush and a great place to stroll and relax. The resort is a bit 'dated', our Bayside Bungalow had an amazing view...but showed serious wear and tear, could have been cleaner. The staff and activities more than made up for the appearance of the room. You can bring everything with you from beach chairs, firewood, scooters, and bikes...to using the resorts tennis, horseshoes, etc. would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We greatly appreciate the feedback on your recent staycation at Paradise Point. It’s great to hear that our friendly staff was able to wow you with great customer service throughout your stay and across our entire 44 acre resort. We do apologize that our accommodations fell a bit short of your expectations, and we are pleased to have the opportunity to demonstrate the superior lodging experience we are known for during your return visit.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently stayed here for a relaxing long weekend to celebrate a graduation. The property is beautiful and very conducive to enjoying a relaxing time. We stayed in one of the bungalows with a pond off of the back patio. What a great place to end the day and enjoy a cocktail and unwind. On Saturday night there was both a prom and a wedding, but they did not have a negative impact on my stay. The property is very spread out so the noise does not carry.

The real gem of this place is the customer service. The staff here are very upbeat and friendly. I especially enjoyed our check in with Jillian who was very helpful a pleasant to work with. Chris showed us to our room and he was full of good information and very helpful. A little kindness toward the staff goes a long way. The staff here rocks!

There are additional fees for staying here, but that is very common these days. Do your homework and be prepared for the fees you will face.

I have stayed at other Destination Hotel properties and am always amazed at the quality of the customer service.

The location is close and convenient for trips to the sights of San Diego. Especially close to Sea World.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corman911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for the review on your recent stay at Paradise Point. We’re delighted to know you enjoyed a relaxing getaway and the friendly, helpful service that is a signature of the Destination Hotels & Resorts collection. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The entire property was beautiful and well taken care of. The layout of the bungalows gives everyone easy access to the beach. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The food was excellent. We enjoyed out stay and plan to come here again. The location is close to three malls, Sea World, lots of beaches, biking area, walking areas. A perfect place for our getaway for our anniversary, but an awesome place to bring your family. We will be back.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on or close to the beach. There was a room available for $100 more per night ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancylenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#156 of 278 in San Diego
3,321 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing