We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Point, San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #144 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Paradise Point, San Diego”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For anyone that remembers the old Vacation Village in Mission Bay, this is the same place with new paint, and a new name. I was always a fan of the old barefoot bar, located at the beach, with easy boat access from the doc. But on our last visit in March, the service was horrible. The food was actually pretty good, but the service was bad. We waited over 25 minutes just for bar drinks, then another 20 minutes for food. The fine dining restaurant was great! Great views, great food, and a great waiter.
Be careful with online "deals" or "vacation packages" or "summer deals", or what ever they try to market that month. We bought an online deal from their website, and used their reservation center for a room with a "resort credit" for F&B of $75.00 per night. They added the additional $75.00 per night to the room rate that was quoted, and then deducted it from the over all charges. I had to call accounting twice to get it corrected.
Location definitely sells this property, the rooms are older, outdated, but clean. Front desk staff was great, and very helpful. Our son loved the "Kids Club" (babysitting service). If you have teens, there is plenty of room for them to enjoy the pools, beaches, mini golf, etc. But, for the cost of the room for two nights, I think we may go back to the Marriott on the water in down town. Or, back to Coronado Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertdave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the comments on your experience at the resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the cuisine at both of our waterfront restaurants, but regret that your service at Barefoot Bar & Grill was not on the same level. This was likely due to higher-than-normal volume during spring break and we will look into adding more staffing for future peak periods to avoid this issue. We hope our unique location, friendly staff, and all-ages activities you enjoyed will bring you and your family back for another island stay soon.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    1,348
    947
    568
    518
See reviews for
2,147
1,041
84
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

WOW! I'll start with that. My wife, three year old daughter and I traveled here last October. We will definitely be back. Paradise Point is basically in the heart of the San Diego area, but you'll feel like your on a private island in Hawaii. The resort blends in beautifully with the surroundings. Very nice check in lobby and the rooms are all bungalow style. We didn't stay on the water, but even our room had a water view, since canals run through out the resort. My daughter loved all the ducks. Rooms were very nice, understated, but nice. The main pool area was great! Felt like any major resort we've been too. However, the bar by the pool wasn't open every day, thought that was weird. The Barefoot cafe was great for breakfast. This resort was the perfect escape for 4 days. You can walk the resort very easily, and has everything you need, two restaurants (one fine dining, and one casual), convenience store, mini putt putt course, private bay, fire pits and close to every thing. My daughter loved s'mores on the beach. We didn't have a car, and didn't need one. Paradise point is located right next to SeaWorld, which we went to two days. It was a quick cheap $7 cab ride there, and you get dropped off right at the front. We also went to Pacific Beach area two nights and ate at restaurants down there. Cab was only about $15 each way. So it seemed cheaper to do that, rather than renting a car and paying parking. There is so much to do here, you won't be disappointed. We loved this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KtownTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The name says everything; paradise! We stayed in i a Lanai garden room. Beautiful room and the pool nearby where so nice, we almost had it by ourselves. Because there is many pools in the area. Although I think that the parkingfee should be free, that was not good. 34 $ per night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fabulous few days stay at Paradise Point towards the end of March. The hotel is very different to anything we had stayed in before. The room (or bungalows as they are called) was spotless and very spacious with everything we needed, I particularly liked having the coffee machine to make a coffee in the morning. Bathroom was also a good size, plenty of towels and toiletries as well. The resort itself is beautiful, with a few pools, although we only used the one at the Tropic, plenty of sunbeds and poolside bar. We had a couple of meals in the Barefoot Grill, food was lovely, portions were really big, most people seemed to leave with doggy bags! All the staff in the hotel were very pleasant and helpful all the time, couldn't fault them at all. The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is the price they charge for car parking. Each bungalow seems to have it's own bay so I don't think they should charge for using it, most people who stay at the resort must come in cars as it is a wee bit outside San Diego, so it seems an easy way to make money. If you are there for a week it would add over $200 to your stay which is quite steep.The on site shop sells tickets for lots of things in San Diego, zoo etc. We bought tickets for Trolley Bus tour, it comes to the hotel to pick you up and it was a great way of seeing San Diego, well worth the money. Overall, we loved every minute of it and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiemoore1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wireless Internet very weak. Resort store prices very high. Very easy walk to Sea World. The place is very pretty. Rooms are outdated, but comfortable. If you take a cab from here to anywhere it is going to be expensive, but parking a car here is very expensive as well. All items for sale at this resort are very high priced. We were charged 17 dollar a night resort fee, plus on top of that you would get charged a parking fee of 34 dollars a night if you bring a vehicle. Place is quiet, lots of pools. The pond in the middle of the property is a night walk. The fire pits on the beach is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Stop at store before checking in. Resort prices for everything extremely high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a great family friendly resort close enough to all San Diego attractions but far enough away to make it easy to relax. We recommend spending the extra money on a bay front bungalow, at over 650 sq. feet and 3 steps to the sand. This can't be beat! The spa is very accommodating and is one of few that will cater to teenagers as well. The spa is pricey but no difference than any other hotel spa in the area. The restaurant's served quality food and service was always prompt, but even with slow service, just sit back and enjoy the wonderful view. We recommend taking advantage of the great all day room service menu. With a large dining table and 4 chairs in the room placed in front of a large window facing the bay, this is where we enjoyed most of our meals.
In closing, we made no specific plans on this trip but had an assortment of activities at our fingertips thanks to the wonderful staff at paradise point resort. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the bay front bungalow. We booked a month in advance directly with the hotel website and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMotors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wy
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found ourselves cutting back on activities around San Diego just to return to Paradise Point to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, good food, and friendly staff. I suggest getting a room in the garden, close to the beach for an ultimate experience. My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaveThisSpaceBlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your stay at Paradise Point. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the tropical setting, waterfront dining, and helpful customer service that set our resort apart from others in San Diego. We look forward to your family’s return to paradise for more island fun and relaxation in the near future.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#148 of 279 in San Diego
3,237 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,154 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing