We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone had a smile.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #152 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful resort on a 44 acre island next door to Sea World. We had a very nice room with king bed, jacuzzi tub and fireplace overlooking the water. We had a problem with the gas fireplace. It was handled with a smile and we were given a $50.00 credit for the inconvenience. Overall a very enjoyable 2-night stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a water view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajdonnar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,831 - 3,837 of 5,627 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

First, let me say, there are many great places to stay in San Diego. And depending on what your interests are there are different hotels to fit your needs. If your need is to get away, forget your worries and relax on the beach, this is your place. My wife and I stayed in a bayside room and as soon as we stepped inside we felt a sense of relaxation with a spectacular view of the beach and bay - the beach is literally inches from the front door.

What we enjoyed the most was the peacefulness and tranquility of our room and it's location. Granted there was other rooms around and other guests staying in those rooms the layout of the resort gives you a sense of privacy, adding to the relaxing feeling.

Here are a couple extra tidbits:

The rooms in this resort are actually small bungalows spread out from the bay throughout the gardens. Don't let the rustic look fool you, the rooms are well appointed with comforts just as good as if not better than any premium hotel.

The staff was extremely kind and on top of their game. I'm personally very critical when it comes to staff service (because it's pretty bad everywhere these days) but this place was top notch.

The room was well appointed with comforts and amenities as good as any quality hotel. The staff was extremely generous and helpful.

The beach is actually a public beach but because it's adjacent to a hotel, most people think it's a private beach thus giving it quite a bit of privacy.

This review really can go on and on but lets wrap it up and get you on your way to the Paradise Point. This place is worth the trip, hands down.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a Bungalow (on Orchid St) on the bayside with a sunset view! We cannot put a price on the experience as we planned this much needed getaway. Being able to sit on the patio and relax and have a drink or two or three was great. So close to Mission Beach and Pacific Beach and a cheap cab fare to Downtown or PB. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Bungalow on the bay, room 329 picture perfect to a Sunset view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Paradise Point Resort is top notch. It is family friendly. The private beaches are pristine. The pool is fun for all ages (I am talking about the main pool... they do have multiple pools too). The spa is so relaxing! My children really enjoyed climbing up the metal lookout tower, you can see forever up at the top. We have returned to Paradise Point and we have been impressed each time we stay there. The location is great too, close to Seaworld, and all the main highways. The resort is quiet and tranquil. The landscaping is pretty awesome for a afternoon stroll as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danceswithjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is our second time staying at Paradise Point and, as the first time, we were NOT dissappointed. The first time, over a year ago, we brought all four of our children and had a blast. this time it was just my husband and me celebrating our anniversary. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We like how it feels like you are on a secluded island and you can relax, take in the bay views, swim, play tennis etc,, yet you are minutes from downtown San Diego and Sea World if you wish to enjoy what San Diego offers. You could easily stay a week to explore Paradise Point and the surrounding area, America's Finest City!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Jennifer, thank you for writing a review on your stay at Paradise Point, and congratulations on your anniversary! We appreciate your continuous business and you choosing to celebrate with us. As you mentioned, our island resort located in the heart of San Diego is the ideal destination for both family vacations and romantic retreats. We hope you will come back to paradise soon, whether it’s with your entire family or for a getaway for two.

Best,
David Hall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel wasn't that bad. I stayed in a Lanai Premium Suite steps away from the Bay. I really liked the room. The decor was nice and the beds were comfortable. I had a private patio so it would have been very easy to relax. Plenty of space to go around for everyone. The only thing that I didn't like about the room was the bathroom....and the bathroom is really what makes it or breaks it for me. I felt like they forgot to upgrade the bathrooms when they upgraded everything else. The shower and tub were a little moldy and could use some new caulking. The smell wasn't pleasant either as it smelled as if I was in a musty basement mixed with lye....very chemically. Other than that its a nice place. Easy to get around as the Bellmen can move you around via golfcarts. Beware of the Barefoot Restaurant though, it sucked. I reviewed that separately and You can check out if you want to know more.

Big Question...would I stay here again? Only if I had too. I don't think I would use my money to pay for it. Convention wise, the food and service was great, the meeting rooms were great so overall a good place for a meeting.

Room Tip: Get as close to the Bay as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Took a one-night, mid-week break from Los Angeles with my husband and was very pleasantly surprised by the experience. We bought a voucher from Groupon and while the website does make the hotel look a little bit corporate focused, it actually felt like a holiday beach resort break, surrounded by water on an island. It was peaceful and quiet and each room is self contained. It is a great location to take children as it is walking distance to Water World. We shall take our nieces and nephew when they come to visit. There are also fire pits on the beach that you can light and the hotel staff came around with s'mores for us to use.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninna_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#164 of 278 in San Diego
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
4,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $161 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing