We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #149 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon.
For the price of the place, we would have expected big rooms, but the room we stayed in was small and stuffy. At least the bed was comfy.
I felt it was way overpriced for what we got, the Holiday Inn would have been a great comparison.

  • Stayed: June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twkrssk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,316 - 5,322 of 5,790 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel shows as a 4 star on Priceline. I might give it 3 stars but definitely not 4. The rooms are sparsely decorated and in need of updating. The food was surprisingly bad in the casual restaurant - I tried lunch, dinner and room service and was very disappointed with each meal. My friend remarked that it was one star food at 4 star prices.The property itself is quite pretty and is pleasant to walk around but not "luxurious". Front desk staff were courteous and the concierge was very helpful. There is an adult pool which came as a welcome respite since this is a very family oriented resort - especially during march break. My only consolation was that I booked this hotel at a very good price. Could only recommend it if you get a good deal and keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank claire1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This resort may have been the best value I have ever experienced. We chose the PP Resort because the more classically popular SD options - The Del, Marriott, etc. were asking twice as much for "hotel" rooms with no views. At the AAA rate of under $200/night - on those glorious grounds, I would have been happy with a garden hose. Yet, the showers as well as the rooms were were spacious, quiet (stay near the adult pool), & cool, with garden views we found to be nicer than the beachfront. Our friends who came down from Pasadena & San Francisco, discerning all, found it reminiscent of Hawaii. Glorious tropical feel, unpretentious adorable staff, decent pools (especially the empty adult pool), perfectly fine casual restaurant by a natural "acquarium" where our 4 year old frolicked within a few feet of our table. The hotel was fully booked yet we never felt crowded, nor had to wait for a table in the restaurants. Best of all - the upscale Baleens's restaurant could compete with any, anywhere. We are major international foodies and were blown away by the food, its presentation, and the service.

For a family with tot aged kids, the Paradise Point resort is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorothyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed at the Paradise Point Resort the weekend of March 8,9, 2008. We are a couple whose two children's families also stayed. While one couple professed satisfaction with the resort (they stayed in a beachfront suite) we other two famiies felt it worn and much in need of attention.
The good: Rooms were clean and ready upon our arrival. Beds were of very good quality and comfortable.
The bad: Arrival: We were greeted at the spartan front reception with little or no sense of care after 'valets' ignored guests while they walked into lobby. At no time were we told prior to our arrival that there was a $21 'parking' fee for our car. When we asked if we could park elsewhere the fee was halved for 2 nights. In our room the blinds did not operate properly on one window and could not be opened. The front door outdoor light was out and we had to ask 3 times for it to be replaced. The resort is surrounded and encased by driveways and asphalt. The foliage is overgrown and borders on dangerous in areas where palm trees are in desperate need of branch trimming overhead. Pool drinks were over $10 for specialties on their menu. The area around the pool was dirty and unswept, irritating when guests were naturally barefooted. The dining room was noisy but most disgusting were the seagulls or other seabirds who were lurking ready to swoop down to your tables, even at night. One was under the table right next to our set of tables. Upon checkout two of our son's bills were placed on our bill, causing a delay while they verified our concern. Our overall view is that.....where is management? Tired is an apt phrase for this resort. Would we return........NO

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank les805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

ROOMS not at all what the pictures show. Broken Toilet that would not flush and leaked constantly. CHARGED extra money for 4 in room and then the sofa sleeper was broken. After bringing it to the attention of the front desk they attempted to add an extra person charge that was already paid for at booking. Service slow and poor at the restaurants. The landscaping and location were the only highlights. WE FELT LIKE COMPLETE SUCKERS when despite bringing our concerns to the attention of management, they did nothing to rectify. We have left 4 messages for the general manager and still no REPLY. This place is arrogant, you will find MUCH Better options at MUCH LOWER prices......
SAVE YOUR MONEY........ SKIP THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We've just come home from our third stay at San Diego Paradise Point and won't be returning there in the future when we head back to San Diego.
We booked at Paradise Point again because of our past great holidays there, however, now the hotel is way over priced for what you get. Over the last couple of years they've let the rooms run down.
We were supposedly upgraded to a better room when we got there, however the pull-out bed our son slept on was so uncomfortable that we left it as a couch for him to sleep on the last three nights. Our garden view was of a a big tree with the highway directly behind it. This for just about 500.00 a night?? plus parking fees, plus admin tax...the size of the room was small, the amenities they provided were of dollar store quality and one night, we were given one towel to use for all three of us. We had to wait over an hour for bedding for our son the first night and one of the blankets they brought had holes in it. We travel a lot and have stayed places that were half the cost that had much more to offer. The food in the lounge was over priced, especially for the quality. Want to play on the tennis court? Don't expect to be able to rent a racket that isn't crooked. We must say thanks to the great staff at the court who must have known that it was silly to charge us 10.00 for a half an hour to play with lousy rackets-thanks to him for giving us one positive experience and allowing us to play for free. We were very saddened by our experience there as we'd returned because of our great memories. We'll be staying elsewhere next time and would recommend the same as the rest of our trip to San Diego was fantastic. It would have been great to come home to a nicer place at night, but ah well, at least we didn't spend much time there.
The grounds are pretty, but for what you get in the rooms, you might want to just stay at a motel 6

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goingplaces63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

My wife and I decided to make a "romantic getaway", so I booked this hotel. The internet site that I used to book this trip labels the property as a "four-star" resort. We are not picky travelers - we're very easy to please, but this was nothing like described. The first room we checked into had "leftovers" in the toilet, and a great deal of hair on the floor of the bathroom. The tub was dirty, and the non-skid surface of the tub was peeling up. The room smelled strongly of mildew, and the bed was very old and cheap for a supposedly "upscale" resort. To top it all off, the curtains would not fully close over the floor-to-ceiling windows, allowing a foot-and-a-half wide unobstructed view of us in our bed to anyone who cared to walk by. Since the room was filthy, we asked for a different room. Management complied by putting us in a room that was smaller, also smelled strongly of mildew, did not have adequate lighting to fully light the room, and the curtains still left a foot-wide gap through the windows. So, we went back to the front desk again. This time, the management gave us a suite that was, in their words, "one of the best units on the property". Being a one-bedroom suite, it was certainly acceptably roomy. But that's the best thing I can say for it. Even though it was a "luxury suite", the furnishings were still terribly cheap and uncomfortable. Exact same bed as in the two other rooms. Smelled just as strongly of mildew as the two previous rooms. Still unacceptably dirty (there was a a dirty plunger and several wadded-up pages of a newspaper on the stoop in front of our unit), but we just didn't have enough energy to complain anymore. The carpet was a worn, threadbare, indoor-outdoor carpet that was fraying along all the edges and along the seam in the center of the room. To top it all off, there is an additional $22/night charge for parking - which is not even covered, it simply gives you an uncovered (and undersized) parking space on the asphalt in front of the unit. In short, this hotel simply does not meet expectations. The grounds of the resort are OK, but the room quality is two-star at best. I'm not exaggerating - the rooms are along the lines of what I would expect to find if I stayed in a discount hotel along the side of a deserted highway somewhere. Which would be fine, had I paid a two-star discount hotel rate. Which I didn't. The "discounted rate" that I paid for this trip was more than what a legitimate three-star hotel costs at the full price. In fact, In the past I've paid less to stay at legitimate four-star hotels hotels in the San Diego area. Be warned - this property is old, run-down and until they give it a complete renovation there will be many other hotels in the area that can give you a better experience for the money. Room service was extremely rude and surly in the morning on the last day of our stay (in spite of the fact that we had tipped them extremely well the entire time, and did not complain to them even once about their slow service). On a positive note, however, the front desk staff was very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank entmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $142 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing