We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #139 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our family shared an absolutely wonderful Thanksgiving visit at this beautiful resort! We were completely blown away by our beach front bungalow. We loved how we were able to connect our rooms together to create one large bungalow space. The rooms were clean and nicely designed. We enjoyed using the kitchen and dining areas. The bathroom was very spacious with lots of closet space. Our bed and pillows were very comfortable. We slept very well. Our TV was very large with excellent resolution.

The landscaping and beach areas are absolutely gorgeous! We kept feeling as if we were in Hawaii. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. We had an incredible breakfast at one of the restaurants. Their coffee and herbal teas were excellent!

A few minor issues with our stay: Other people kept parking in our designated parking spots. Our adirondack chairs kept getting taken from our porch so that people could use them to join bonfires on the beach. Our wooden bed frame had very thick sharp corners that stuck straight out from under the mattress. I had to be very conscious that they were there so I didn't bump into them especially at night when they are less visible. The mattress should really be flush with the bed corners to avoid this problem. Our coffee table had an odd sleigh shape to it that created an optical issue. It tricks you into thinking that the table is shorter than it actually is. I got a large bruise on my leg when I thought I had cleared the table and ran right into it.

Overall a wonderful. luxurious hotel! We definitely want to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77TravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,717
    1,326
    912
    545
    505
See reviews for
2,087
1,018
80
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked this trip through third party. The price was good but by the time we checked out, we were charged another $50/night ($32 for parking and $17 resort fee), although the resort gave us a break by not charging us for the resort fee as we arrived for a late check-in and early check-out. When we inquired about the extra charges, we were informed that if we had booked our accomodation directly through them our parking and resort fee would have been included. Doesn't that defeat the purpose of booking through a third party for a good price?

The location is great; close to airport, Old Town and Sea World. The beaches were clean and the view of the surrounding areas beautiful. The staff were all very friendly. The room was dated; large gauge on the wall and the vanity mirror vandalized. The shower above the tub was water damaged. The beds very confortable and our view was the parking lot although we were within walking distance to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach is awesome but you'll need to book through them (not third party) to stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mango58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay. Very tropical with updated rooms and amenities. Best part---the parking. Nothing better than getting back to your room late and parking right at your door! The bungalow style rooms really are the way to go. No elevators or people walking in front of your window...and the patio in back with your own chairs and mini "yard" truly is enjoyable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applestrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was very nice and the food was excellent. Loved the setting. We rented bicycles and rode across the causeway to the ocean. I do think that the bikes should have been free for guests. We spent $60 to rent two bikes for 4 hours. The adult pool was also very refreshing and the hot tub was great. I wish I had had more time to enjoy some of the amenities such as the tennis courts and the boche courts. +

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Judes555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Bayside Bungalow was great, nice and comfortable, wonderful view of Mission Bay
Close to Old Town San Diego
Walking distance to Sea World
Lots of activities
Nice Pools
A Bit Pricey
Guests were nice
Thanksgiving Weekend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusTonsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We choose this resort style hotel ahead of some of the downtown hotels.The rooms are a little dated but large and comfortable.It would appear more geared to conference business and the staff in the Barefoot Grill were not attentive and disinterested.The food here is poor and expensive, as are the drinks.Both criticisms are less likely to worry the conference crowd who are on expenses....there are better options downtown

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smittywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked this through hotwire because I wanted something close to Sea World for our family trip. I have to say, it was probably one of the best family trips we've ever had. The property was breathtaking! When you arrive, the driveway is lined with trees lit up with Christmas lights. There are paths beside rolling streams through the property with gazebo's to sit in. The property is simply amazing, and if that is not enough, the island property is surrounded by white sandy beach!! Absolutely gorgeous.

They have several pools and we swam every morning in the main pool. The design was so well done, the pool is surrounded by trees and birds. It was November when we stayed so we actually had the nicely heated pool and hot tub to ourselves.
We did have a glitch with the hot water in our room while we were there but the staff was on it immediately and they were so gracious that it wasn't a big deal.

It's very close to Sea World and our only regret with staying here was that we had plans and didn't get to spend more time at the resort.

Couple personal additions: If you are going to SeaWorld, the resort gets you there by water in peak season. It's not really worth bringing a car since it's $32 for parking per day at the resort and $15 parking per day at SeaWorld. When we go back, we plan to cab it and rent bikes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginn_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#149 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing