We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #150 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I usually don't write hotel reviews, but I felt like I had to write this one. First, I'll say, I made a reservation about 6 months ago to insure a good thanksgiving weekend. When we arrived, we were assured that I had booked a 1 bedroom room, wrong!! We went to the room and it was a single large room with a bed. I went back to change rooms and the clerk at the desk (same one who checked us in) said he was sorry and got me a 1 bedroom with a view of the water, again, wrong!!! I went back to the desk and got my original room back. Not a good way to start out. The next evening (thanksgiving), after returning from a wonderful dinner off the grounds, we found the people from both sides of us with a picnic table blocking our view of the bay. They were drinking and playing extremely loud music. I called the desk to complain and it took 2 more calls for them to do anything about it. Unacceptable. They offered me another room, but at that point (1 1/2 hours later), I was done staying at this hotel. The manager said he was busy checking in other guests and left me hanging. My wife and I told him,when he did call back, that we were checking out. When I went to the desk, I was offered a free stay at the hotel some other time. I will never pay to stay at this hotel again. Besides the obvious hassles, the rooms, grounds and facilities were extremely dated and I have been coming to this place since 1985!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,483)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Point Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,806 - 3,812 of 5,483 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nice get away in the middle of San Diego. Cabana/Bungalow type of rooms with small patios for enjoying the tropical landscaping. The rooms are older but well maintained and clean. Great areas to just sit along walking paths and enjoy the views, birds and nature. Lots of walking and areas to explore. The gift shop is well stocked and has good line of clothing, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I orignally booked this hotel solely on the basis of its proximity to the Susan G. Komen campgrounds, which was the base for our 60 mile 3-day experience and where others camped. I had no idea what to expect, other than I hoped it was going to live up to its website photos.

Check-in for this footsore guest was an efficient dream, complete with upgraded room on a small lake and golf cart to whisk me directly to the room. Room service was on time and the food was excellent. All amenities worked perfectly and subsequent service during the two days of my stay was impeccable.

My only regret was that I did not have time to wander the grounds and take advantage of the many amenities. Although I live only 1/2 an hour from this hotel I would be very tempted to stay there again for a get-away with my husband, and would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The rooms are all 'bungalow like' in the style of one-storey and scattered throughout the pr...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvalonBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay was for a wedding, so the group rates were reasonable. We were upgraded to a Junior Garden Suite, which was spacious, with a large bathroom. The bathtub could use updating but the bed was very comfy. A nice, private patio overlooked one of the pools. The grounds were gorgeous and the resort location was convenient to to all San Diego points of interest. Both venues for the wedding events were lovely and the food was very good. This resort experience was a positive one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetgirlsnonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

As a first time guest of Paradise Point, we weren't really sure what to expect. As our cab pulled in to the property, we were taken aback by the beautiful, lush scenery! We had originally booked a Lanai Garden room and our desk clerk instantly offered to upgrade us to a Lanai Garden Premium room. Gorgeous! Beautiful rooms, beautiful property, and the staff was amazing. We left after two days to continue our vacation in the San Jacinto Mountains, and over an hour away, we realized we had left a sizable amount of money in the hotel room safe. We called back in a panic and the staff was so wonderful. Phil offered to mail our money overnight (never once asked for us to pay the postage). We were still on vacation for a week, so we had him send it regular mail. And when we arrived home, every cent was in our mailbox. So impressed! We will absolutely be back again....and soon!

Room Tip: Lanai Garden Premium is beautiful, lagoon in your backyard!!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed here many times while in San Diego, both for business and on vacation. They remodeled the rooms within the last few years, which is good as many of them were quite tired. The hotel property really has a resort feel but is not really high-end as much as it is family-friemdly. The beach is a short walk from almost every room (and is far less crowded than may other area beaches) and there are lots of pools throughout the property, and there are also bike rentals, mini-golf, and tennis on-site, so you can stay on the grounds and still have lots to do. Sea World is less than a 2 minute drive away, and downtown is only about a 15 minute trip. It's not really convenient for business other than on-site conferences but makes for a great getaway if you happen to be in the San Diego area. It can also get pricey during peak summer months, as is expected, but you can find great deals and often get upgraded by going during off-peak times. Overall, I really like this hotel and hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaltimoreGuest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Californians are unique and wonderful people who live in a world full of beauty and great weather. Explore it. You won't be disappointed.
Next time, I will bring the woman of my dreams, and it will be perfect. I was there for a
conference, but my California friends were wonderful. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlustat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#163 of 278 in San Diego
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $164 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing