We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #147 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
Reviewed September 14, 2003

Well, I guess it all depends on what your idea of paradise is. We saw a lot of repeat customers when we stayed here in August 2002, so clearly it works for some - but not for me. Don't be duped, as I was, by the slick web site that suggests a serene high-end experience. Service, value and amenities here are really poor. The beach is ugly, the main pool is mediocre, and all the little pools aren't even worth a mention.
I want to especially caution anyone thinking of coming here with small children, as I did not find this place at all suitable for them. Of most concern are the roads that COVER the property (the lovely landscaping is only in the center, not around the units), with constant traffic and many, many blind corners. One step off our patio and my kids were at risk. Also, with kids, and limited restaurant options on site, seemed worth it to pay extra for a room (large and clean, by the way) with a kitchen - but only got a microwave and bar fridge. No cookware or cooking utensils and had to phone to even get some plates.
I asked for a refund on the "kitchen" and got it. Southern Cal. has way better options than this one - keep looking.

Helpful?
6 Thank schubeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    1,373
    976
    589
    540
See reviews for
2,227
1,059
84
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2003

I had to organize a girls getaway weekend for 8 women in June and Paradise Point was at the right price and the right place for it. They were able to give us two bungalows next to each other and the accommodations were very nice. I recommend the rooms with the view of the back patio and the dressing room. It came in very handy! I only wish they were able to accommodate us at the spa.

Helpful?
3 Thank Beamblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2003

Having read the neg reviews on this site we were worried about staying here. We need not have worried at all. It was fantastic. We were on a world trip in july and august 2003 and stayed here last for 5 days. The room was very clean and smart with lots of accessories and it was just a standard room near to Mission Bay. The steaks and food in the Balleen Restaurant are excellent. The portions in the Barefoot Bar and Grill were huge and well presented.

Service was excellent although check in at 4pm is inflexible.

All told we loved this hotel more than most we stayed in on this long trip. We would DEFINITELY say IGNORE the negative reviews - this place is a tropical paradise and we think the bad reveiws are from people who want to keep it a secret really!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2003

This resort was just wonderful and I plan on going back next year and staying longer. This resort from the time we arrived, service was A+ and I'm from Las Vegas, so I'm use to good service. The rooms were very clean and private. Great place to take the entire family. I would highly recommend this resort for a wonderful family get a way. The views of the bay are magnificant. I went in Aug, so prices would be high, but as I have found, you get what you pay for and this place was worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2003

I read your reviews and headed to Paradise Island with a room oil deoderizer and ready for the ants. We stayed three nights. What a delightful time we had! No ants. We opened the bungalow door and it was a little musty. We plugged in the deoderizer, turned on the air conditioner, and headed to the Barefoot Bar and Grill for the $11.50 hamburger that is now $12.50. And what a deal it was! We could have spent thousands more for a trip to Hawaii and it would not have been any better than Paradise Island. With that $12.50 burger came a place so beautiful - lushious greenery, a pond next to the Bay so clear you could see the fish swim, a splashing waterfall, a trio of Spanish musicians, and friendly, well-polished service. We climbed the 81 step observatory and watched the 9:50-10:00 PM spectacular fireworks at Sea World (walking distance). I travel for my job and have high standards when it comes to hotels. This resort is not just "a wonderful room with an elevator ride" type of hotel. We want to return and next time get a bungalow on the beach.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City, State
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2003

Ok we checked in and then checked out. For the price they were charging we were able to find a resort much closer to the Beach and allot nicer.
They call themselves a beach resort but you have to get into your car and drive. Yes it is only 3 miles to the beach but on the weekends it is like sitting in a traffic jam... We were told our room would not be ready till 6PM and with a family filled car they would not even let us store our bags and things. The door man said we should not have bought so much stuff with us. The service was pitiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#156 of 278 in San Diego
3,323 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing