We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, Good for Our Family and Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #150 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 9, 2007

When my travel agent suggested Paradise Point, I was definitely nervous, what with so many mixed reviews here. But I took a shot, and I am glad. Our family, including several small children, really enjoyed PP. We rolled in at 3:15 on a Saturday and no one was around guest-wise. Based on previous reviews, I was worried about not being able to check in. No problem at all actually, I walked right to the counter, quick CC swipe and got the key. The bell staff came right over and gave me a ride on their golf cart while my family followed behind in the van. Parked at the unit, a suite on a little cove, and the bellman took everything in. Suite was perfect for us, a living room with pullout sofa, nice little kitchenette with refridge/micro/sink and then a separate bedroom. No cracks, smells, etc. They had forgotten our cribs, so a quick call and three minutes later another cart pulls up and a man sets them up for us.

The rest of the stay was very. Our kids loved the little cove as they could goof off in the sand and chase birds. The firepit was a huge, especially when we made smores. Staff we encountered were nice, efficient. We did not make much use of the pools or grounds due to weather and off-site activities, but the place really is pretty, reminiscent of resorts in Hawaii with all the flowers and foliage.

So I feel relief and good fortune for our stay. About the only thing I can say is that I wish it was a little closer or walking distance to offsite shops/restaurants, we took our car out almost every day. Never more than 15 minutes, but might try the Marina or Coronado some time.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank rubytuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,337 - 5,343 of 5,787 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2007

The name of this hotel truly describes it. The staff are exceptionally helpful, every part of the resort is immaculate and the pools are all amazing.

Would highly recommend this resort for anyone wanting to have a really relaxing holiday but there is lots to do in San Diego if you want.

Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Paradise Point for 5 nights in October on our honeymoon. We let the front desk know it was our honeymoon and they upgraded our room to a gorgeous suite overlooking the bay. The staff was courteous and helpful at every turn and helped create the perfect honeymoon for us. We cannot wait to return and are already planning our one year anniversary trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmrv2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Paradise Point is a highly restful and relaxing resorts at which we have stayed. That is due to the accomodations and the staff. The "rooms" are small but adequate cottages that allow you to relax in comfort and solitude. The locations of the cottages are quite a walking distance from the main lobby, but the staff offers complimentary rides whenever needed just by calling the front desk.

The staff were all courteous and friendly. They helped us locate attractions in San Diego, and answered all of our questions. The dining in all locations on property was delicious and relaxing.

Only one suggestion is that you should use the safe that is provided for your valuables as the cleaning staff left our door open when they left our room. No big problem, but one should be aware that incidents can happen anywhere.

We plan to stay here on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MidwestTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We just returned from the Paradise Point Resort and I have to say I was disappointed. The meeting and conference rooms are very nice and well serviced, but the sleeping rooms leave much to be desired. I found the rooms to be dingy and not very clean. The beds are very uncomfortable and some of the bungalows do not have much room in them. The view was very nice and we had a room right on the water, which was wonderful. We found the service to be good and the concierge was extremely helpful. The drinks at the Barefoot Bar and Grill are a little pricey compared to what we're used to . Expect to pay $7-10 for a bottle of beer...mixed drinks were much more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hawkeyelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

This resort is WONDERFUL! Four of us booked a trip through Expedia and were a little nervous reading the reviews. I cannot understand any of the negative reviews on here. The only thing we decided is that there are some people that will complain no matter what, they will find something to pick on. Also, there are always people trying for a free room!
The grounds are beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean. Everyone that worked here always had a friendly smile and great attitude about helping with anything. The food and drinks were very good, although a little expensive. We went to a nearby store and stocked our refrigerater witch helped alot. The concierge was great with information for the nearby attractions.
We all agreed we can't wait to go back and bring more friends along with us - our last couple trips were Cancun and Cruises - we decided this was just as nice without leaving the country.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisvillemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

we stayed here for eight nights at the end of a busy three week holiday travelling around California with friends. We were a bit apprehensive having read reviews before we went which couldn't have been further from the truth. Although we arrived on their busiest weekend due to the power boat racing in the next bay we found the resort was quiet, beautifully maintained, and a real haven to relax in. The room and ensuite were well proportioned and kept very clean and tidy by a housekeeping staff who dealt with any problems very quickly. The pool we used was very clean with a constant supply of clean towels. Breakfast in the Barefoot grill was reasonably priced, the waiters very attentive and the views over the bay very picturesque. The concierge was most helpful with any queries we had about local attractions and the shop sold a variety of items from foodstuffs, clothes, and souvenirs. The only disappointing part we found was at the Baleen restaurant where the drinks were quite pricey and the service not as good as it should have been. We would certainly return here and would recommend this little bit of paradise to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 278 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $141 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Prestigia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing