We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY WELL CLEAR! HORRIFIC ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Diego/Imperial Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 San Diego/Imperial Beach to your Saves list
Super 8 San Diego/Imperial Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1788 Palm Avenue, San Diego, CA 92154   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #243 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“STAY WELL CLEAR! HORRIFIC ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't make my worst energy stay there! Remind me of a horror movie hotel! Turned up had no sign up so a pain to find. Checked in and the person tried to charge me way over the price I booked online. Walking to the room a crowd if men stood drinking on the walk way. Got into our room. Booked non smoking. The minute I opened the door the room stank of smoke! I turned the air-con on which was like a cloud of smoke! Then went to turn the lights on. None worked. Went and complained. The lady handed us air spray and a light bulb. Ridiculous. The door barely locked properly so slept in the back room for own saftey as searched other available hotels. Never again! Stay away it's horrific!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kadie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only asked for quite, which we did get but thought we booked a non-smoking room. We about choked when we opened the door. We were moved to another room that was better but it also was not a non smoking room even though the sign on the door indicated such. We understand that some occupants just do not observe the rule but housekeeping could have done a better job. Maybe it is time to replace the carpet, drapes and linens which are way too worn and probably would not withstand the required cleaning to eliminate the smoke odor and particles.

Room Tip: View room before accepting. I'm sorry we didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZRelocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Imperial Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For 80bucks its not terrible. Pillows flat but room was clean. Shower was good but not provide conditioner. Latoya was awesome! Someone did try to enter room but left so no problems, just a mix up. All in all you get what you pay for people.

Room Tip: Non smoking is usually a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

One of the nice things about getting away to an area with a nice climate is to be able to enjoy the swimming pool at your pleasure -- NOT -- the pool was empty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#152 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay
#193 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#50 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Diego/Imperial Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Diego/Imperial Beach

Address: 1788 Palm Avenue, San Diego, CA 92154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Diego/Imperial Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Super 8 San Diego / Imperial Beach hotel, located off Interstate 5, minutes from beautiful Imperial Beach and just four miles from the Mexican border and Tijuana shopping district. Begin your day with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza, look up local destinations from your room with free high-speed Internet access, then head out ready to explore the area. When you return from your busy day, relax with a swim in our outdoor pool. We offer free parking, guest laundry facilities and 24-hour front desk service for your convenience, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in San Diego. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Imperial Beach, host of the U.S. Open Sand Building Competition, is just a mile away, and the Mexican border and legendary Tijuana shopping district are four miles from our hotel in San Diego. See dolphins, killer whales and more at Sea World, or view rare and endangered species from around the globe at San Diego Zoo. Great shopping and exciting nightlife can be found in downtown San Diego, Old Town and the Gaslamp District, all rich in culture and history. For a family outing, thrilling slides and water activities are nearby at Knott's Soak City Waterpark. DINING OPTIONS Our hotel in San Diego, CA, is near a variety of restaurant choices. Try authentic Mexican dishes at El Chile Mexican Food, less than a block away, or dig into pizza, steak, seafood and more at D'Lish California Cuisine. Taste the islands at A & D Hawaiian BBQ, or head to Liu's Chinese Restaurant for Asian specialties. Beach Club Grille Restaurant offers beachside dining just a short drive from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 San Diego/Imperial Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Diego/South Bay Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super 8
San Diego Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing