We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the Value Minded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #91 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not for the Value Minded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

It was nice but not worth big bucks. Our room was huge for a hotel room (a definite plus)but somewhat dated and in need of some general maintenance (bulging wallpaper, tub could use a regrout and the place could generally be updated). Pool umbrellas fading etc... It could be that I just prefer value but I really hated being charged for every single basic service that is typically included in a 2 star range. Parking $25 a night, internet also outrageous (I guess they don't want you Googling for nearby restaurants lest you not pay $13.50 for the basic burger –cheese is extra - that your kids wouldn't appreciate anyway). Grown up meals start about $40. Maybe it's just me as there we're plenty of folks partaking. It was nice on many levels but for the prices I would have expected much more. Also, don't expect early check-in. On the bright side, they happily allowed us in the pool area early with a temporary key and said they'd call when our room was ready. That turned out to be 15 minutes prior to when was contracted (4:00).

Great location near Sea World right on the bay. Only a few minutes drive to all San Diego attractions.

Don't plan on using the internet unless you want to swipe your credit card. As of July 2010 use was $8.16 minimum for the first 15 minutes and .54 a minute after that. Bring snacks and don't plan to eat there at all - crazy expensive. There are plenty of places within driving distance that are worth a try. We loved Su Casa near La Jolla.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsandiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear Sunshine103,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. I'm sorry you feel you were nickle and dimed during your stay at the resort. I guess the best way to explain our philosophy is that guests are allowed to partake and choose the services they would like to use rather than bundling these charges and raising everyone's rate or adding a mandatory resort fee for services you may not use. On another note, our guest experience desk would be more than happy to assist any guest in arranging dining or entertainment options off property as to avoid internet charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    859
    557
    305
    165
See reviews for
1,143
699
80
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

The thing about this hotel is that it is literally in the middle of no where. You are about a 5 or ten minute drive (by highway) from restaurants, etc. definitely too far to walk. The restaurant at the hotel was good, but expensive.

We got the room for $139 a night which was fine, but in my opinion, it is not at all worth what they normally charge to stay there (upwards of $200). The room was nice, but not spectacular and the pool area was pretty.

I probably would not stay there again simply due to the location--too isolated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taeyasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsandiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear taeyasmom,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though the resort was not your preferred location. While some of our guests do feel we are isolated, there is also a large portion who enjoy the resort feel and quiet the resort brings as compared to a downtown location. The best part is all these amenities are a short drive and we are conveniently located near the interstate which makes downtown, zoo, airport, etc. easily accessible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Attention to Hilton Management:

The customer service is excellent at the San Diego Hilton Resort and SPA (1775 East Mission Bay Drive); including the staff members at the registration TC, Ramon and Josh Morrison! With their smiling faces and grade confidence of knowing their professional responsibilities, TC and Josh made our stay very welcoming, pleasant and enjoyable! If your organization has customer service rating scale of 1-10, I would give 10 to TC and Josh's services!

Thank you again for your outstanding services!

Sam S. Yeremian

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsandiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear hotels12,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. The service we provide to our guests is what is most important at this hotel. Thank you for taking the time to recognize the efforts of TC, Josh and Ramon. Your comments and experience will be shared with the staff. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again at the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, BCS, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Amazingly situated on Mission Bay and close to many major attractions in San Diego. That is about the only thing the Hilton had going the four days we were there. The pool area and jacuzzi was dirty and completely overrun with underaged and un-chaparoned young children. The rooms and hallways were loud and it seemed that they were putting twice the maximum in some many of the rooms. The pool and pool bar area and staff was not able to accomadate the guests. One afternoon the local football team had a preseason game which the hotel had promoted as being shown in the lounge of the main restaurant. (physically separate from the formal restauran). The place was packed with guests eating lunch and wishing to watch the game. The staff refuesed to turn the volume on. The management came out and apologized and said the chef would not allow it?? We had a table of six and it took the kitchen three tries to get our food order correct and we finally gave up and ate what was served the third time which was not what was ordered. Many other issues, but these were typical...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tailhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsandiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear Tailhuntress ,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. We appreciate all forms of feedback that our guests have to offer, positive or negative. It is clear we were not able to meet your expectations on your most recent visit and for that I apologize. In regards to your concerns about the cleanliness of the pool facilities and the service in the food & beverage outlets I wanted to assure you your comments have been heard by our staff and management of these areas. We do hope you consider the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa for future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

The weekend was a non-kid weekend with my husband for my 39th B-day. We were in room 327 which I highly recommend to anyone planning to visit, it was amazing and the views all around were perfect-the view from the private patio at Sunset is beautiful. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left our stay was a great one. The employee's were all very friendly and accomodating. The General Manager personally checked on us to see how we liked our room and if there was anything they could do to let them know. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully landscaped and well maintained, it was nice to walk around and relax. Overall the weekend was terrific, we will definately be returning to this Hotel in the future. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT THE HILTON

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsandiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear tomtristen,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay this summer. Suite 327 is probably my favorite room here at the resort and is unique in both design and location. We will pass along your comments to all staff members and we look forward to seeing you at the resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porter ranch, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

As a family, we have been coming to the Mission Bay Hilton for 25+ years and have always enjoyed our time at the Hotel. From the moment we drive in we see the same familiar smiling faces of the bellmen, to the ever so courteous reception at the front desk, to all the phone operators including Penny, Marc, and Becky who are happy to assist you in any way possible, to the best and friendliest housekeepers, and to Justin who is always there to lend a helping hand. The mornings would not be the same without our daily trip to Aqua for breakfast.. All the waiters and waitresses have become part of our family including, Maria, Terry, Mariano, Luis, Ernie, Nacho, Nemma, Roberto, Carol, and Tony. We look forward to seeing all of them. Lastly we can not forget the resort. They make us feel right at home. The bartenders by the pool at Frescos are the best. We do not want to forget to mention are friend Chris, the building engineer who makes a point of visiting us at least one time during our stay just to get the latest family updates. The hadest part of the trip is saying goodbye to the front desk staff including Josh, Ramon, Edit, and William. Sincerely, Jason, Sue and Art Rosen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonsueart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsandiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear jasonsueart,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. It is always a pleasure to see your family each summer at the resort. Your loyalty to the resort over the past 20 years is a testament to our staff and facilities. Thank you again for your patronage and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Lastly, we look forward to seeing you and your family again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

We recently stayed in the tower section of this hotel and found it to be comfortable with nice clean rooms with balconies. The walls are a bit thinner than you'd expect from a hotel of this class, however. The overall feel of the resort is good, with lots of open areas and seating. The pool area is nice but becomes a bit crowded during the day, but the beach is just a few steps away so it's easy to find a spot. It's along Mission Bay which has a great walking trail. As for location, it's great for what it is. You're not in the middle of everything but Mission Bay is beautiful and offers lots to do. If you're looking for nightlife or shopping you'd be better served to look elsewhere. We have 2 small children and they had a great time at the pool and at the beach, and unlike at some other properties we did not feel uncomfortable having our children with us.

That said, the service leaves something to be desired. There were a number of little issues that left us feeling like this is a 3 star service hotel, not a 4. A few examples: some of the restaurant service was quite slow, although the waitstaff was uniformly friendly. Also, the bathrooms in the restaurant were not well maintained. Of 3 sinks, 2 did not have any soap in the dispensers, and my wife informed me that the waste baskets in the women's restrooms were overflowing (and not during a particularly busy time). The food was very good to occasionally exceptional, however, though quite expensive. As for other staff, they were mostly helpful with an occasional exception. For example, a linen cart deliveryman was at the the elevators and occupied the 1st to arrive without offering it to waiting guests. It was not like there was an endless stream of people waiting, either. It's things like this that can make people paying premium rates feel less than valued as customers. If the resort were to fix these small but quite important details it could, given its location and otherwise good offerings, be considered a true 4 star resort.

And of course, no review would be complete without a complaint about the ridiculous charges assessed by most hotels in this class. No free Internet in the rooms? $25 to park when this is not a downtown location? These things leave one feeling as if Hilton is picking one's pockets. Coupled with the overall level of service, I would have to say this is a 3 star, not a 4. Good, but not great. We would only return if we were paying a good bit less than what we paid (which was north of $275 a night).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsandiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear Tripster101,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa. We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding your stay. It is this type of feedback which helps our organization identify opportunities for improvement. In particular I have passed along your comments to our food & beverage and housekeeping departments to address the speed of service in the dining room as well as the condition of the restroom facilities and the courteousness of our housemen as they transport the hotel linen. We agree that Chef Hermann Schaefer's work is exceptional and hate to see such an experience spoiled. Again, thank you for your feedback and I assure you it will be used as a training topic for our staff members. We look forward to seeing you as a guest in the future as I know these issues can be corrected so future guests do not have the same experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,627 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#146 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing