We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice but dark” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #91 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice but dark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were here for a conference and vacation and enjoyed it. There is plenty to do. The room was large and comfortable. I have only one complaint....there is virtually NO light in the room once the sun goes down. I literally had to pull the lamp right over my book AND take the shade off just to be able to lie in bed and read. Even with every light in the room on, it was still way too dark. Otherwise, it's a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wherearethemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We're so glad to have welcomed you and to hear that you enjoyed the many engaging amenities of our resort. With that, we're sorry that the lighting in your room missed the mark. We certainly love the opportunity to go above and beyond for our guests, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team the next time you're here and allow us the opportunity to shed additional light on your concerns. We'd love to bring an added lamp or two by to better tailor your room to your preferences. We appreciate your time and thoughtful review, and we hope that you'll join us again the next time you're in San Diego.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    807
    527
    282
    153
See reviews for
1,066
666
75
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
10024
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The first thing you should know is that your room is $60 more per night than advertised. They charge a daily resort fee of $22 and yes this is true $35 a day to park your own car on the hotel property plus a myriad of other small fees. It is not the cleanest place I have ever stayed in and the common area furniture is stained and dirty. The rooms themselves are clean, however my patio was filthy and the chaises and the area was never swept or clean. Did I mention breakfast of cereal and granola for 2 was $66.00.
Service was mixed, there were a few excellent people who truly cared and tried to address your problems but some staff were just lazy un-attentive to the point of rudeness. The check in staff, bellmen and management were all very good. But there is some level of disconnect with top management as you can easily see that there is no attention to detail, and attention to detail makes the difference between an average hotel which this is and a great hotel which this is far from it.
I would stay away I paid $1,000 for two nights at a Motel 6 there are so many better options in San Diego.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank davidmicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
While we're glad to have welcomed you, David, we're alarmed by your mixed experiences with our team, as our crew works diligently to ensure that each experience with us is a comfortable and positive one. It's clear that we missed the mark in this case, and we apologize for that. We're also sorry to hear that elements of our pricing structures took you by surprise, as we aim to be entirely transparent regarding these--both at booking and during check-in. With that, we do hope that you we're able to enjoy some of the many amenities afforded by our modest hospitality fee, and we'd welcome and appreciate the opportunity to talk with your further regarding those concerns of your visit. Please feel free to reach out to our management team at your next convenience; it would be a pleasure to learn from your visit, to welcome you back, and to showcase our services at their more typical, consistent and refined. All our best until then.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were not happy with the hotel. The front desk staff isn't very friendly or very helpful. Our flight brought us in at 9:30, but our room wasn't ready, and they certainly couldn't be bothered to give us a round about idea of when it might be ready. We were trying to figure out the best mode of transportation to go downtown and not pay an arm and a leg, and a few members of the staff scoffed at us for not wanting to pay $30 for a cab. I'm not really a fan of being made fun of, especially by people whom are supposed to be providing you with hospitality. Our room was located in the Villa Grande building. We had a room with two double beds. The room was very dark, no overhead lighting except for the entry way. Just two lamps and the balcony windows provided light. We were in town for an event sponsored by MTV and it was practically impossible to get ready with the horrible lighting. We had to switch back and forth in the bathroom to use the light to put on makeup. No full length mirror so we had to stand on the bed to use the mirror on the wall. The mattress on my bed was very lumpy so I got two nights of so so sleep. We ran put of coffee after the first day and had to call down to the desk in day two when housekeeping still hadn't come at 3:00 pm. We were supposed to have passes to an event along with a package left by someone, and it never appeared during our stay. The most they could tell us was "management would look into it". On our last day we asked for a shuttle to take us to the transportation center down the road so we could go to the convention center area and they assured us it was $12 for up to four people. So bell service shoved us into a cab that was "the exact same cost". It was $17.00 actually. When our car service came to pick us up when we were leaving our last night, they told him we had checked out and weren't there, even though they had just given us our luggage ten minutes before and watched us go sit down. Thank goodness we walked outside right as he was about to leave or we would have been out of luck. Overall, it wasn't a great experience. I've stayed in much nicer places that cost a lot less. A few pros though, the pool is nice and clean. There is a great park next door to the hotel that you can walk to. A'roma coffee bar has great iced coffee. Cucumber water on tap in the front breezeway. If you wanted to go to SeaWorld, its right down the road.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
While we're glad to have welcomed you, we're so sorry to hear of those hospitality concerns associated with your visit. Our team goes to great lengths to ensure each guest experience is a positive and memorable one, and we apologize for missing the mark in this case. We would have welcomed the chance to lend additional lighting or mirrors to your room, or to equip you with one better suited to your preferences. We hope that you'll consider joining us again and that you'll afford us the opportunity to showcase our services at their finest. We encourage you to reach out again the next time you're headed this way.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent service with easy access to beach. Driving from the hotel to area attractions and restuarants was smooth and easy. Parking on the hotel grounds costs $35.00 a day but it is worth it to not deal with the traffic in the park during a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We're so glad to have welcomed you to our HIlton Resort, Kenneth, and we appreciate the thoughtfulness of your review. We're always delighted to hear when our property's connectedness lends such ease of access to the city, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to offer even more of our area expertise. With so much to experience on site and beyond, we'd love to build a return visit that rivals this first!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Pleasant stay at the Hilton. I booked our stay at the last minute...literally while sitting in the parking lot. Some minor annoyances, i.e. had a pay a $35 parking fee…why? There was plenty of parking. I hate the whole resort thing…they make it sound like they are doing you a favor by charging you a resort fee... as though its an option (ala you get internet, use of the gym, etc.) but it’s not. They aren’t the only ones who do this,m so I can’t fault them for that. Once in my room, it occurred to me that I had not let them know that I was a AAA member. I called to the front desk and was politely told that I had to disclose that at the time I booked the room (10 minutes earlier) as; they “had a limited number of AAA-rated rooms.) Frankly, even with Comicon coming to town in two days, they didn’t seem excessively crowded. I wanted to ask, “So do you have any AAA rooms left?” Somehow I don’t think it would have mattered…that’s Hilton for you…they nickel and dime you to death.
The room itself was well appointed and comfortable. There was plenty of room for 3 adults. We visited and purchased snacks, etc. from the onsite the gift shop, which was well stocked. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. My son complained that the toilet was too low for his taste, but he’s 6’1”. It really didn’t bother the rest of us.

I did order the tuna tar tar (I think that’s what it was called). It was quite delicious. It along with the basket of bread made for a perfect sized light meal. All in all, a good stay but I will only stay there again if I can get the room cheaper.

Tip: Take the 59 mile scenic tour of San Diego. I’ve been to SD 200 times (at least) and saw things I had never seen before. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wannabetraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed the flavors and signature hospitality of our site, and we thank you for sharing this kind feedback with us. We also appreciate your concerns regarding our resort fee, and we understand how this was unsettling for you. That said, we do hope that you were able to enjoy some of the many amenities this nominal charge affords our guests, and we certainly hope for the chance to welcome you back and to showcase the continued evolution of our offerings. Please be sure to reach out if there's anything we can do to facilitate a more comfortable return.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this property on several occasions and have always enjoyed our stay for family get togethers. During the summer nights, the fireworks from Seaworld are easily visible. The property is well-maintained and the staff have always been responsive to our requests. There are a variety of rentals including Kayaks, Wave-runners, and boats. With grandkids, the rooms with adjacent fire pits are good for supervised s'mores construction. You can buy s'more kits there along with the requisite firewood.

On our most recent occasion, we staff go above and beyond to make a first-class visit. Our grandson lost his kite on the beach in front of the property. My wife found the kite hanging from a tree but the string was still stuck in the palm tree. When we asked the front desk if they knew where we could get string, Schyler at the front desk produced not just some string, but another kite as well. April at the front desk was also great in helping us with upgrading our room providing the opportunity to see what options were available.

We routinely dined at the restaurant and enjoyed the seared tuna salad for lunch and the eggs Benedict with crab for breakfast. Try their version of a Moscow Mule from the bar. Very refreshing for the summer. I missed the copper cup, but apparently patrons had been rather forgetful in returning them to the bar. The bar staff were fast and efficient not only with the drinks but food orders as well. Great way to feed folks when the poolside restaurant closes shop.

Overall great experience with adult kids and grandkids. Caring staff and fun environment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We're immensely proud of our dedicated team, and we're thrilled to hear of instances where their efforts afford for such memorable experiences. We'll most certainly pass your praises along, and we hope that you'll continue to join us to experience even more of this hospitality, along with an evolving inventory of amenities. Please be sure to reach out again the next time you're headed this way!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Wonder full Place to enjoy my 65th Birthday poolside its all good food , service and I live in San Diego where else would I enjoy such a great Bay experience. Dubai? stay home relax Ill be at the first to say its great in the USA. ok Mr A.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks for sharing your birthday with us, Arthur. We're so glad to hear that it was such a memorable experience for you, and we appreciate your thoughtfulness in lending this kind review. We always love sharing our site and services with our local residents, and we hope to welcome you back for many more visits ahead. Please be sure to reach out the next time you're looking for an inviting escape!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#69 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#148 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing