We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelorette Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #104 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Overall our stay at the Hilton was pleasant. We used the gym during our stay daily. The one issue I have is the lack of parking. Locating a close parking spot less than a 5 minute walk from out hotel room was an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maribel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We're so glad to have welcomed your group to our site and to hear that the experience was an overall enjoyable one. We hope that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities, in addition to our recently redesigned fitness center, and that you'll consider us again he next time you're looking for a relaxing escape. We'd love to welcome you back and to secure your a room that offers plentiful options for parking. Many thanks for sharing this visit and feedback with us!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 3,376 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Recently stayed at the Hilton Resort and Spa during our recent trip to Sea World for my sons 5th Bday. Beach front room is a must, pool area is great for kids and adults and the breakfast worked for everyone's special request.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legend785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to reach out with this thoughtful feedback of your visit. We're happy to hear that our site and services helped to make this birthday experience an even more enjoyable one. We'd love to welcome you back to our waterfront oasis, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you're craving a relaxing escape. All our best until then, and thanks again for your stay and review!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting San Diego for a girl's soccer tournament. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the pool area was fantastic. We had 11 ten year old girls and they loved the hotel. We have both breakfast and lunch in the hotel restaurant, Aqua. The food was decent, but very overpriced. My only complaint is that in addition to your room rate, they charge you a $22 resort fee and $30 per night for parking per day! That seemed steep for me and you shouldn't have to pay extra to park at a hotel you are staying at.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Fieldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We're so glad to have welcomed you to our site and to hear that the experience was an enjoyable one for you and the girls. We apologize if some of the costs associated with our property came as a surprise to you, as we work to be entirely transparent in terms of our pricing structures. With that, we hope that you all enjoyed the vast offerings of our resort, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team again the next time your travels return you to San Diego. We'd love to host you again!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our overall experience was very good. We had just a few service issues. We requested wine glasses one evening. We were assured two times that they would be right there. They never arrived. I have had wine from a paper cup before but not at those prices. Also went to dinner one night at the otherwise excellent dining facility. Enjoyed the food and drink and the waiter never came back. Not even to deliver the check. I had to approach the hostess to pay my bill. When I told her what had happened there was no compensation made. Other than that it was a beautiful facility.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

We're so happy to have had you as our recent guest, and we appreciate your time in extending us this feedback. We will certainly share this information with our hospitality teams to ensure our incomparable Hilton standard is consistently represented across all facets of the property. It would be a pleasure to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out to the team as you stage return travels to the city.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My previous review was removed probably because I mentioned a staff member which on reflection I probably shouldn't have but just wanted make sure the rest of the hotel employees were not blamed for his poor service as they were helpful and friendly. I still feel the restaurant is over priced and like I said before felt sorry for an American family who were struggling to find something they could afford. If you have a car parking fee is steep for a hotel out of town, if you don't have a car you are slightly stranded as nothing within walking distance therefore would have to rely on taxis or more expensive shuttles provided by hotel. If you are happy to stay in the hotel then as a resort it offers everything at a price. If you have come to see San Diego go somewhere else nearer and more accommodating. Originally I gave hotel 1 star as annoyed by treatment, but that does not reflect the majority of the hotel staff.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We appreciate your reconsideration and thank you for extending this feedback of your experience, Paul. We certainly aim to afford our guests with an enjoyable visit, start to finish and in every regard, so we appreciate your attention to any hospitality shortcomings, and we assure you that they will be handled accordingly. We encourage you to reach out the next time you crave an all-encompassing escape, and we thank you for your thoughts regarding this recent stay.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

As others have noted, rooms are somewhat dark, but I understand from the Manager, the lighting situation is being addressed during 2014. LOCATION is OK if you have a car to get around San Diego (but the charge is $34/nite to park). Otherwise, very hard to get around. Pool is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out with your feedback, Edward. As you've noted, we look forward to showcasing an even brighter site, marked by our signature hospitality and our relaxing amenities, as we move through 2014. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to sharing this growth and evolution with you, and we encourage you to reach out to the team as you stage return travels to San Diego.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The "suite" only had 1 sink in the restroom and no fan.

The rooms don't come with microwaves, but they are available- you have to pay $20 per day to rent. Not exactly family friendly if you have little ones with picky eating habits.

The pictures show lots of images of the beach. However, when I called to ask if they have beach chairs or umbrellas or anything related to use, the response I got was, "we have volleyballs..." Otherwise, we were told to sit by the pool if we wanted to relax in the sun- not quite the beach experience my kids were looking for. Also, the walkway between the hotel and the beach is heavily used by the public as a jogging, bike, stroller walkway.

The "free" breakfast still required a tip for the wait staff. Since the value of the breakfast is so high, the recommended 19% - 22% gratuity on the bill ended up being around $15 per day. Not exactly free, so I recommend not getting any deals that cost a little bit more each night, but come with free breakfast and wifi unless you really need the wifi.

The maids threw away the bottled waters we had purchased and placed in the minibar as well as our reusable Starbucks cups. Granted the water (from Target) and cups were inexpensive, but it was inconvenient and annoying to have them disappear when we wanted them.

I would not visit this hotel again, unless it was less expensive and I just needed a place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to reach out with this feedback, Colin. While it was a pleasure to have been able to host your visit, we're sorry to hear that elements of it missed the mark for you--particularly those pertinent to miscommunications from our team. We aim to be as transparent as possible regarding our pricing structures and offerings, so we apologize if particular elements of this took you by surprise. We'd certainly appreciate the opportunity to make this up to you and to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you find yourself in the area.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#45 of 286 in San Diego
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,185 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,082 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $181 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing