We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #101 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Just spent week for Spring Break withy son and had an amazing time. Hotel centrally located in great spot. Close to Pacific Beach and downtown. Only negative is parking fee which is $34.00 a day. Plenty of parking so I totally disagree with Hilton trying to get extra money. They charge a resort fee so that should be enough extra fees. Restaurant experience was amazing. Had problem with steak and they corrected it quick and new one was amazing. Pool area had plenty of thins to do. Rooms were great and beds were extremely comfortable.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Dennis9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

It's a pleasure to have welcomed you to our Hilton Resort, and we're happy to hear that our team was able to make your visit a relaxing one. We hope that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities afforded by our competitive fees, and we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your future San Diego destination needs. We'd love to welcome you back!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 3,309 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

After 3 weeks in the US and some excellent hotels, we were looking forward to some chill out time at San Diego. The gardens and main pool area at the Hilton are absolutely lovely and Jeffrey, who showed us to our room and settled us in, was a delight. But unfortunately that is the end of our positive comments.

Check in was very impersonal - we weren't given a resort map or a San Diego map which we found later at the check in area. Sounds petty but it sets the scene. On arrival we thought the ground floor room was ok - a bit tired and a musty smell but bearable and we had a nice view of the gardens and we were right at the end ofa corridor. Unfortunately, being at the end of a corridor meant that the sound of everybody going through the gate was heard very loudly. But worst than that was that every footfall from the room above was also very loud especially as they seemed to start exercising at 6.30am. We tried banging on the ceiling but they obviously couldn't hear us as well as we could hear them!

The room was also very dark because although we had a view there were large plants right in front of it which meant that the room got no sun at all. The adult only area adjacent to us was the same which may explain why it was always deserted.

We tried a meal in the restaurant which was ok but on the expensive side for the quality.

However the final insult was the charge for parking - which we had not been told about at check in. We paid for parking in San Francisco but that was a city with limited parking facilities so we understood. There is no excuse for the parking charge at the Hilton where you need a car because the hotel is out of town. For the extra 40$ a night I would have preferred to use that money towards a stay at a better hotel and there are lots of them in San Diego.

Would we stay here again? definitely not and wish we hadn't.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JSGGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We're happy to have welcomed you but sorry to hear that your stay was plagued by these disruptors. We aim to afford our guests with an unparalleled level of hospitality, from first encounter to last, so we're extremely saddened that our more commonly exalted guest services fell short of the mark here, and we apologize if our parking fee came as a surprise to you. We certainly aim to be as transparent as possible regarding all our pricing structures,and we'd certainly welcome the opportunity to discuss this and any other shortcomings of your visit. Please reach out to our team with those lingering concerns you might have; it would be our pleasure to learn from them and to make your next visit a truly memorable one.

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The whole resort is great and the beds are super comfortable. We went to the sea world and a few other places. The beach on the property is small. I like how it is open to the little bay instead of the ocean. I also like the mini baby pools.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank 451Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the many comforts of our property, and we look forward to welcoming you back to showcase even more of those offerings that make us so special. With summer just around the bend, we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your San Diego destination needs; it would be our pleasure to host you again.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The greatest things about this hotel are its location, the pool, and the restaurant. The staff and the rooms are comparable to an average hotel with cheap upgrades. Beware of the room type and location. These will make all the difference in your stay as you can get two very different looking rooms and get charged about the same.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Sylvia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out with this feedback for us, Sylvia. While we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our site and it's scenic, relaxing offerings, we apologize if some elements didn't fully resonate with you--particularly our guest services, for which we're more commonly acclaimed. We'd welcome the opportunity to speak with you further regarding this visit, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team with any concerns you might have. Until then, all our best and many thanks for your time.

Kind regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed one night at this fairly upmarket establishment. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped including free internet. We had to pay $34 to park our car for one night. Much too expensive. We decided to eat in the restaurant but changed our mind when we had to use a torch provided by the waiter to read the over elaborate dinner menu. From what we could see there were not many diners. Switching to the bar we ordered several very tasty bar snacks, we asked our server why the place was so dark, she said that the hotel thought that it enhanced the ambiance! I responded that may be the case but that it would be helpful if we could see what we were eating. We had a pleasant room service breakfast on the terrace outside our room. "Beware the seagulls". They are hungryand we had to escape inside minus our butter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We're happy to have hosted your recent visit, and we appreciate your time in lending us this feedback. We're pleased that your overall visit was an enjoyable one, and we're sorry if our dinner ambiance was an obstacle for you; we can certainly understand your frustrations with this, and we'd happily offer some additional light in your returning visits. Until then, we wish you all our best, and we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your future booking needs.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel grounds were very well kept.
The crib I requested ahead of time was not in the room and this was not helpful as we had a 9 hour travel day and a very tired 1 yr old.
The room was nothing to knock your socks off (average), and it smelled like someone had smoked in the room. There was a few burn holes in the furniture validating that others had smoked in the room before.
The bathroom (the tub specifically) was very dated.
For the most part the staff was very friendly with the exception of one front desk employee who I felt I was bothering anytime I had to ask her a question. The concierge was very friendly and helpful.
I feel you're paying the high cost for the location. it is very conveniently located to everything (Downtown, Sea World, San Diego Zoo). I have been to a lot of Resort & Spas many of which I would go back to because you're getting what you're paying for. However, paying over $300/night and not really feeling like you're even at a resort doesn't add up. I feel like this place was the spot back in the day, but is past it's prime.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

While we're glad to have hosted your recent visit to San Diego, we apologize if elements of your respective room missed the mark. We'll be sure to pass these concerns along, and we'd very much like the opportunity to welcome you back and to showcase some of the many other rooms on site that are bound to be better suited to your preferences. Additionally, from our spa services, to poolside activities, to our engaging, waterfront amenities, we'd love to introduce you to some of the many acclaimed elements that stand our property apart as the region's premier resort. We hope you'll consider us again the next time you're in the area, and all our best until then.

Kindly.
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This vacation was wonderful. The staff at the hotel was amazing, Clean rooms. No complaints EXCEPT renting a car through them. Now do not get me wrong-the concierge was great and set everything up for us. But the dealing with Enterprise was the problem. We had an early flight on a Saturday. I was told I can leave the car at the hotel or return to the airport. We decided to return to the airport to find out the DO NOT have an airport drop off location. Horrible. Then to top it off the 1800 service number that says 24hours..is not! So I could not get anyone on the phone. We barely made our flight! and still never found a location. So please stay at this hotel. GREAT hotel. But do not use their rental car recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdipietro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We're glad to have welcomed you and to hear that our concierge service exceeded the mark, and we're sorry that your rental car company's misleading information caused this ripple in your departure. We hope this cleared up without additional glitches, and we look forward to hosting you again the next time you're in the area.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,100 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $130 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing