We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Hotel Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #89 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Marcos, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“San Diego Hotel Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fantastic stay! The grounds are not new modern, but they are San Diego villa style. Very comfortable with good size rooms. Pricey but worth it. We had a beautiful westerly view of the Mission Bay and you are right at the beach/bay. The restaurant's chef prepared excellent food. The Olive bar has happy hour at 4pm. When we arrived at 3:50pm they informed us of happy hour. So we waited in the bar until 4pm. Breakfast was an amazing eggs benedict with crab cake instead of ham. I highly recommend it. Staff was exceptional from valet to front desk to the dinning and bar staff- friendly, efficient, prompt and courteous. I will be returning soon for a staycation. As we are from San Diego. Thanks for a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on in the tower on the west side 6th floor and up have a beautiful view of the bay with a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to reach out regarding your visit. It's a huge pleasure to be able to share our relaxing oasis with San Diego residents, and we're happy to hear that our dining services and overall hospitality exceeded the mark. We hope you were also able to take advantage of the many other recreational amenities features on site, and we hope to see much more of you for future staycations. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    768
    487
    253
    140
See reviews for
982
626
71
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from a 5 day stay at the Hilton. We were checked in quickly and then allowed to make a room switch as our back patio faced the front hotel parking lot. The room itself was fine...adequate space with great beds and soft pillows, and a small refrigerator. The food at the restaurant is very good and the pool is also nice, featuring several cabanas and food and beverage service.
The major downside of this hotel is that there is nothing walkable close by. I spent more cab fares and shuttle fees that week than on my airline ticket. The hotel does provide a wonderful shuttle (for a fee) and the valet and drivers are extremely helpful. If you are here to sight see, I would definitely recommend renting a car at the airport.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a patio facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorikAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out to share your Hilton experience with us. We're happy to hear that your stay was an overall enjoyable one, and it was a pleasure to share our services and incomparable hospitality with you. We certainly understand the desire to explore the vast offerings of our region as there is so much to see and explore--both within and beyond our waterfront oasis. We look forward to your regional return, and we hope that you'll reach out and allow us the opportunity to host you again. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Overall great hotel, a little pricy overall with resort fee and parking totaling up to 45 a night extra. Had dinner at the restaurant and room service and it was a little on the pricy side but that should be expected since there is nothing close by (walking distance). Room was clean and fairly decent size. The restaurant was a great experience with sea world firework close by. Our server took great care of us . (Chris) and room service was fast in and accurate in our order, our order taker was knowledgable and friendly (George). The pool was recently change and it look great with a kids pool next to the adults pool. Overall it was a good place stay taking away parking fee (had to park across the parking lot because it was full) and price of everything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi David, thank you for being our guest and for taking a moment to leave us such a kind review. We are glad you were able to enjoy many of our amenities and happy you were able to dine with us as well. We strive to provide our guests excellent customer care across the board, so we appreciate you recognizing members of our staff. We hope to see you as a guest again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Resort is conveniently located off the 5 and short drives to La Jolla and downtown. It also has direct access to waters in Mission Bay and onsite bicycle and boat rentals. Overall services were good but not great. Overall we enjoyed the stay.

Only gripe would be parking. Paying $34/nt and not able to find any parking is not acceptable.
After circling around for 20 minutes looking parking with tired kids, I ended up calling hotel and was informed that they would send someone out to help me find parking. That's when I found out the parking lot has overflown due to a wedding. End it up parking 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool and facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wangkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the opportunity to reach out to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our overall services and amenities, and we apologize again for those frustrations caused by your parking difficulties. We hope that this instance was an isolated one during your visit, and we encourage you to reach out with any lingering concerns you might have. We aim to provide each of our guests with a first rate and memorable experience, and we hope to host you again in travels to come. Many thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

So a few of my initial concerns were overcome by fact that this place is 50 years old and they kept it pretty well.

Pool was great bummer had a little more dust tree stuff than I'd like but hey it was outdoors. And ducks would come in and out of water.

Rooms have upgraded hilton feel building old.

Walls are super thin. So that's the bummer there. As had loud neighbors


Happy hour was great

And did I say views r great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jf005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton property and for reaching out to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our peaceful oasis, and it was a pleasure to be able to share it and our amenities with you. We hope that you'll reach out in the future to enjoy our continued renovations, and we encourage you to reach out as you plan return trips to our region. Many thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been staying at the Hilton for over 26 years and have been through every possible renovation undertaken by the hotel. THE PROPERTY FROM WHEN WE FIRST CAME TO OUR MOST RECENT VISIT IN AUGUST, 2013 IS ALWAYS CONSISTENTLY BEAUTIFUL. The staff takes amazing steps to ensure every guest feels welcome and their needs are met. The grounds make you feel like you are in an island paradise and the hotel amenities compliment the "island experience". Whether you want to rent bikes, go waterskiing, take out a waverunner, play tennis,have a gym workout, a great spa treatment, or just kickback at the magnificent pool with tableside service or lie on the sandy beach of Mission Bay you are gtd. a great time. The restaurants are over the top AMAZING. Nothing more to say except DON'T PASS UP A CHANCE TO STAY AT THE HILTON RESORT, MISSION BAY. David M.

Room Tip: Always try to request if available a upgrade to the garden area. The staff will always try to accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal guest of our HIlton Resort and for reaching out to share your experience with us, David. It's an absolute pleasure to be able to share our San Diego oasis with you, and we're thrilled to hear that you continue to enjoy the evolution of our property and its many amenities. We will certainly pass your kind words along to the team, and we look forward to your return and the opportunity of hosting you again. Thanks again for your time and loyal advocacy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I didn't see anyone else post about this in what i read and am appaled! What is it with hilton and absurd parking fees? The rooms aren't cheap so why so much for parking compared to other places?? Just nuts! I was all set to have a stayvacation here but I just can't go along with the parking fee:(

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank calady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for reaching out to share your experience and frustrations with us. We're sorry to hear that our parking fee came as an unexpected surprise for you, and we apologize if it created a hinderance to your stay. We do aim to be as forthright as possible regarding this expense, and we hope that you'll find it to be a nominal one when the many amenities and features of our all-encompassing property are taken into consideration. We'd love the opportunity to share more of them with you, and we hope that you'll consider reaching out as you plan return visits to the region. Many thanks again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#66 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,058 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#133 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing