We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #100 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location. Minutes from Seaworld and beaches/kid friendly parks in every direction. Spa, pool, bike rentals, water sport rentals, kids activities during the day and night, good restaurant on property. The staff was very friendly, some are transplants from New York and like sharing their NY stories.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach, great view and the breeze is refreshing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for reaching out to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that our location, services, and outgoing team made for a memorable visit, and we hope that you'll think of us the next time you return to the region. With an ever-evolving list of engaging amenities and activities, we'd love to help create your next memorable San Diego experience. Thanks again for your time and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,228)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is located by San Diego Bay which is a good location if you want to get away from the main town. We were really looking forward to staying here but were quite disappointed. The hotel rooms are very basic and not what I expected from Hilton. The block we were staying in was quite noisy and you are constantly woken up by the flushing of toilets on the floors above and below. The fact that it is called a resort is overstated - it has an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and some tennis courts. At the tennis courts you can borrow racquets and balls although they were in poor condition. There is a volleyball net on the beach but there were no volleyballs we could use unless we bought one. We have two young boys and we were expecting lots of activities for them to do. In the end there was very little - an evening movie and toasted marshmallows. The Wifi was a disaster. So slow and the only good thing was that it was complimentary. There is a shop in the hotel lobby which is very expensive. However what you are not told (we only found out on our last day) is that less than a mile away there are banks, supermarkets, laundry etc. The car parking is $34 + tax which just seems a ridiculously high price given the room rate at the hotel and the resort fee. On the whole we were underwhelmed and a little disappointed. My rating is based upon what we were expecting, the reputation of Hilton and the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the tower block. If you stay try one of the villa rooms which maybe less nois...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Barney442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our resort and for taking the opportunity to reach out with your experience. We're sorry to hear that our facilities fell shy of your expectation and that you were unable to explore the full span of amenities that stand us apart as the region's premier resort. Whether you're hanging by the pool. playing on our tennis courts, relaxing at the spa, or engaging in the countless water sports and activities available on our property, it's our hope that these and our countless other offerings are engaging for each of our guests. Clearly, there is room for us to grow, and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss this more with you. The guest experience drives the evolution of our property, and we certainly value the feedback that is afforded to us by our guests. We'd love to hear more from you, and we hope that you'll reach out to a member of our team at your next earliest convenience. Many thanks again for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I brought our 6 year old for a long holiday weekend over the summer. The resort was really ideal for all of us. The resort offers swimming at the pool or in the bay, ping-pong, bean-bag games, a bouncy house, face painting, bikes, paddle boards, Catamarans, kayaks, jet skis, beach fires, fireworks (Sea World's that can easily be seen from the hotel grounds) - there was so much to do we didn't manage to get it all in over the weekend. Our daughter met another little girl early in our stay (there were many if not mostly all families there) and they had so much fun playing together. We were there over labor day weekend and while the pool was extremely busy, it is so large that we didn't feel hemmed in. The hotel infrastructure shows it's age a bit, the room itself was adequate, but there was nothing particularly spectacular about it except the view of the bay. Everything was very clean and in good working order. There are many beautiful very old large trees on and around the property and quite a number of exotic flowers and shrubs throughout their manicured landscape. You can run or walk for miles along the bay on paths that are far away from vehicle traffic. The staff was absolutely outstanding - everyone we met from the bell-hop to the bar tender, to the girls serving at the pool - all were super friendly, efficient, and attentive. Service was on par with a Four Seasons - absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the south side of the resort in building 5, right on the bay - you can see the fireworks...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such enthusiastic words regarding your HIlton experience. It's an absolute pleasure to be able to share so many engaging amenities and activities with our families, and we're happy to hear that you and yours were able to capitalize on so many of our offerings. We aim to provide an incomparable experience at our waterfront oasis, and it sounds as though our team was able to afford you with just that. We'd love to host you again soon, and we hope that you and your family will reach out as you plan upcoming trips. Many thanks again for being a guest and loyal advocate; we look forward to seeing more of you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was completely satisfied. The facilities and location were perfect. The pool was immaculate and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The venison and fish was incredibly fresh. My family loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank djknight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our HIlton Resort and for taking the time to share such enthusiastic words with us. We're so happy to hear that our team made your West Coast experience an enjoyable and memorable one, and we hope that you'll return again soon to experience more of the offerings of our property and region. Please be sure to reach out as you plan future travels; we'd love to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here with my family for labor day weekend and was so impressed by all of the fun activities they have here that really made a memorable stay like movies by the pool, smores, bounce house for the kids, and the staff was very friendly. People complain about parking and the resort fee but dont mention how many fun activities they offer! Alyssa checked us into a beautiful garden view room and was so helpful and knowledgable about the area and hotel it was wonderful. We didn't miss a beat because she informed us on everything offered at the hotel right down to the best spot to sit and watch the fireworks from the bay. We travel a few times a year and this is our first time feeling so pleased with customer service that we would go online and write about it! Thank you Hilton we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newrevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for sharing your holiday weekend with us and for taking the time to share your Hilton experience. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we're thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the many family-friendly amenities afforded by our nominal resort fee. Hopefully, you were able to take in a bit of relaxation yourself by enjoying a treatment at our newly renovated Mantra 'The Art of Spa'. We look forward to sharing it, our attentive hospitality, and our property with you again, and we look forward to your return to the region. Many thanks again for your time and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our first time staying in San Diego and we picked the Hilton Resort and Spa due to the location (Mission Bay) and all the amenities. We were very pleased with our choice!! You could pick from a spa, renting bikes, canoes, jet skis, etc. We decided to just relax on the beach and the pool since it was our anniversary. They also have live music by the pool in the afternoon. They have a small kid pool, so adults could relax at the larger pool - great set-up. Our most memorable was the polite staff, one in particular was the lead concierge, Whitney. She really went out of her way to help us with transportation to/from our dinner cruise and other outings. She knew I was pregnant and sent a balloon with chocolates to our room to congratulate us. Overall, great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_S2013900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Many thanks for being a guest of our Hilton Resort and for taking the time to share such kind and thoughtful words with us, Jennifer. It's a pleasure to be able to share our expansive amenities and unparalleled hospitality with first time guests like yourself, and we're happy to hear that Whitney and the rest of the team made your stay an enjoyable one. We'd love to host you again, and we hope that you'll reach out to us the next time you visit the San Diego area. Thanks again for your time and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and checked in. Then made our way to the room. Come to find out, the room was not ready. We waited half hour (not less) at the door while they were figuring out what to do. Gave up and went to the restaurant and they finally switched our room to another. But... that was just the beginning.

During our five night stay, one day they did not make our room the whole day. When we arrived back at 6:00pm and called the front desk. We were quoted that their rules allow them until 7:00pm to make up a room. Never in my travels I have heard such a thing.

The room smelt musty, and it bothered my wife throughout the trip. I finally figured out why...they turn off the a/c when they make up the room during the day... i suspect to save money, but a terrible mistake given the musty and uncomfortable smell.

The resort is also very dated. reminds me of the saying, 'pig on a lipstick'

They also charge $34 per day to park daily. This is not NYC or Chicago. Plenty of resort parking. They are just trying to squeeze an extra buck from the guests.

Great location, but a miserable experience.

Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our property and for taking the opportunity to voice your experience and concerns with us. We apologize for any inconvenience posed by the delay in your room becoming available, and we certainly hope that our team was able to provide you with a glowing experience at the restaurant during your wait. We will look further into this miscommunication on your behalf to prevent its reoccurrence. We'd also like to share our sympathies for any bothers posed by the beachy essence of our waterfront rooms. This is un unavoidable byproduct of our locale, and we'd love to introduce you to one of our tower rooms, should you return to our area. We think that you'll love their scenic view of the property, along with their breathtaking position for the nightly firework displays of nearby SeaWorld. Many thanks again for reaching out to share your stay with us; we'd love to see more of you down the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,950 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#163 of 278 in San Diego
3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $193 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing