We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever unclean & unsafe.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #102 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have never stayed in an hotel as bad in my life i would not give it a 2* only think good about this So called Hotel is the staff and nice pool. I got a new hotel the next day . Arrived in hotel to be asked did we want an upgrade well yes we thought god id hate to see wat room was like before we up graded. 5 different rooms we looked at all so dirty the halls where like somthing you see in an hotel bed sit. After picking a room we still wer not happy with we had a man come up to our room asking for fags and said he was a stripper who would come back and do a special show. After calling to front desk they told us that was not right and they woukd sort it. Police had to be called i never closed my eyes all night spoiled first day / night of my holiday but Thankfully Manchester grand hayyd changed that unreal hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smcveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,288 - 2,294 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked this hotel through Trailfinders from the UK about 7 months ago and got a great rate. Worked out at under £100 a night for 5 nights. I have little complaint as the day rate was so good. We also didn't have to pay the resort fee that many travellers from the US have mentioned. I do feel miffed at being asked to pay an extra $33 a night for parking m own car in their outside car park. For this reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again as I think that' s taking advantage. The room was clean but not 5 star would suggest 4 star. We were on the 4th floor in the block facing reception and it was quiet. The food and drinks are expensive , we brought our own drinks in to enjoy on the balcony in the evening but had to buy a bottle opener as none supplied. In fact the hotel discourages you bringing in your own snacks as there are large signs all round the pool area stating that your own food and drinks are prohibited from being consumed round the pool. The hotel ran a lot of corporate events whilst we were here but that did not affect our enjoyment. This is where they are making their money.
A good touch was having a fridge in our room. This helped keep our supermarket bought water nice and cold :-)
Having a car enabled us to drive to local restaurants , and there are lots of them within a short 10 minute drive.
The hotel is very very close to SEA WORLD and a short drive to many other attractions.
Staff very friendly and helpful
One reviewer mentioned hard beds - I have to say I LOVED the beds and have had the best nights sleep for a long time :-)

Whilst the staff were great, location great, pool great, the parking fee SO annoyed me that on that point alone I wouldn't chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed a few days at the hotel, Service was great upon arrival, as our stay continued the service disappeared. The room had a musty smell,our room with a view was cut short by a palm tree that was right in front of our window. Hotel is run down needs renovation. Bed had stains on comforter, we relocated after 2 days to a different hotel close by. The only plus this hotel has, is the pool , the kids enjoyed it. Breakfast for 5 $120.00 , thought i was at disney having breakfast with mickey and friends. She told us that the room is normally 269.00 per night but she could do 179.00 per night after checking out with taxes and everything they added to invoice..room charge numerous other fees, our 179.00 per night room was close to 500.00 for 2 day stay.Glad we found a new vacation hotel that was aces compared this run down facility.

Room Tip: find another hotel to go to !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Parking is $33 per night & the Resort Fee is an additional $19 a night! We travel a lot, but have NEVER paid that for overnight parking. We asked for a refund for part of either of the fees & Alyssa refused to budge.
We asked for a quiet room & were happy with the top floor. However, when we opened the slider, all we could hear was the freeway. We asked for a view & although we could see the city, the freeway cars were whizzing by between us & our view. The elevator went down one night (we walked up the 8 flights of stairs-good exercise). Linens were nice but the bed was hard. Nice rain forest shower head and half & half cream for the coffee. The 16oz. water costs $3.50 & 1 liter is only $5.50.
We won't be coming back here.

Room Tip: Ask to NOT face the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auntgretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel looked good online so our family of four splurged for a waterfront room. The price was hefty so we were expecting top quality. Boy were we wrong and very disappointed. The room was smelly, worn out, had holes in the curtains, no bathrobes, barely any hooks to hang your towels and swimsuits to dry, awful cheap coffee for the coffeemaker (undrinkable, actually), not bottle opener when we wanted to enjoy a cold beer on the balcony and overall a very small space for well over $400 per night.

At the pool, there was hardly enough staff and you had to hunt down a server to order a drink poolside. There didn't seem to be anyone cleaning around the pool during the day and the walk in pool entrance was filthy with sand, bark and tree droppings by midday. Same with jacuzzi- had to scoop out the junk floating around with our hands before we dared take a soak.

Overall, a very overpriced and disappointing experience that I won't repeat. This hotel should cut it's rates drastically, or pump the premium rates charged into upgrading the rooms and providing the premium amenities the a hotel at this price point should offer it's guests. Could have stayed somewhere equivalent on oceanfront for half the price. Live and learn I guess.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Marilou E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got this hotel thru Priceline.
Thought $155 a night was pretty good deal for a Hilton Resort, but be Warned!
Hotel resort fee is $19 plus parking is $33,
Who charges $33 for unsecured. uncovered, self park?
Declined to pay $33, took my chance & parked on the road, which was few feet from room.

Stayed here for one night, to go to Seaworld.
Checked in 7:30pm. Area is remote, dark, near Park.
No security, no employees to direct where to park to check in.
Hotel gave me a garden villa side.
Walking towards the room, I noticed how run-down looking buildings were.
No secure feeling, anybody coud walk in from the road to the rooms.

Room was on 2nd flr, open walk-up, tiled open hallway.
Room had musty-older room smell, simple bathroom.
No plugs by bed to charge phones, WiFi Slowww!
Felt like I was in Holiday Express Inn, not a Resort & Spa hotel,
9:00pm, we coud hear next room people talking. going in & out, hallway is tiled.hear them walking.
After about 1 hr of this. had to call security. Now we coud smell pot smoke.
We wanted to walk around the hotel's pool, but my teen daughter was too scared to go out of room.
Had to call Security again at 2am!
Next room, people started to talk. Go in & out, walk around.
Maybe one needs to ask for a Tower room?
Carpeted hallway & thicker walls would've been nice
Definately not recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pats213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a terrific time at the resort. We found the location ideal for what our family desired. The employees at the resort are what make it so special. Whitney, at the concierge, was brilliant in helping us plan a great week. We found the resort to be clean, friendly, easy to get to, and a lot of fun for our entire family. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WAPC_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,097 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $129 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing