We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated room in an older property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #100 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room was nice but it was obvious someone had been smoking in it. As a Hilton honors member it would have been nice not to put us by the elevator shaft and ice machine so I could listen to that all night. It was raining and the room actually smelled moldy. The food was outstanding but very over priced. There are no restaurants near by to go to. The nearby Hyatt was much cheaper and nicer. This hotel might be nicer in warmer weather

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while staying at our hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and meet guest expectations of our valued Hilton members. Please feel free to provide any additional feedback to vjohnson@missionbayhilton.com

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,228)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,276 - 2,282 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

No internet in room and poor internet in conference facilities...and I was there for a telemedicine conference...ironic. I sent follow-up email 2x, before having to call to request folio for stay. Then I was emailed an incorrect folio. I was asked to call back later several times when I made requests. I wanted to extend my stay and was told they were full, but then charged for the extra night. There is little options as there is only one restaurant in hotel (very good) and nothing else close by. I had to eat there three times.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you experienced with our internet and staff and we will work with our team to ensure this does not happen again. We are currently implementing a new project to provide wireless internet to all of our guestrooms, which could explain the intermittent internet service you received. Your feedback provides great insight to areas for future improvement. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa. I stay at Hilton properties rather exclusively and this property was very nice. As a diamond member, they upgraded me to the bay side 3rd floor. Great view, room was well decorated, up-to-date, and very clean. Room service was prompt but food was not that great. Guest relations were very nice and friendly at check in. Very convenient to the airport. I would recommend this property to folks staying in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bkwinstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you had an overall nice stay with us. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us continue improve. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Find a hotel that has access to city transportation for the attractions; this hotel is too isolated. The rooms are average, with minimal amenities for this type of hotel. The concierge was not very interested in helping us with our questions. Limited restaurant capacity and staff.
Room service efficient, but the food a rip-off. One shouldn't have to pay $50 for 2 hamburgers!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noise of the freeway.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problem you mentioned with our staff have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to some of these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was trouble from the start. I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights last week. Upon check in I learned there was an error with my check in date. They had me checking in the previous day. I asked for the extra charge to be removed and the clerk went to check with the manager in a back office. The clerk came back 5 minutes later to tell me the manager said no. Fine, rip me off...

I ate at the hotel restaurant the first night with a couple of coworkers. When checking in with the hostess she asked us to wait outside for ten minutes because she said she just sat a table of 2 people. The restaurant was practically empty and only a few tables were being used. That should have been my first indication that the service was going to be bad. So we sat outside for 15 minutes with a man chain smoking cigars. When we were finally sat, we ordered and our salads came fast. It took almost another half hour for the main course to arrive. The waiter never came back to check on the meal and I had to flag him down twice just to get our water glasses refilled. When I flagged him down to get the bill, I asked to get the bill for the entire table. He came back with separate checks. Huh?? After a long tedious night we were finally finished.

The rooms are ok. My room had a balcony that had the world's thinnest glass. I could hear everything going on outside, day and night, as if the door was wide open. The walls are also just as thin. I just love it when I can hear the rooms above and next to me using the bathroom. So gross...

The last night of my stay I opened the $5.50 bottle of Evian water. I called the front desk and asked for the water to be added to my bill so it would reflect properly on the bill that would be slid under my door that night. For expense purposes, I need the bill to reflect the full charges and not have another charge show up days later that's not on the bill. The front desk assured me it would be on the bill. The bill came and, of course, the water was not on the bill. The morning of check out, I walked to the front desk and asked the woman at the front desk to add the water to the bill. She said ok and then printed out the bill. As I walked out, I read over the bill and she DID NOT add the water to the bill. I had to go back to the font desk and ask her to show me where she added the water. All she could say was I just thought you wanted a reprint of the bill. Hello! I already had the bill in my hand. I don't need a copy of the same thing. She then told me she couldn't add the water to the bill. At this point I'm totally frustrated. The front desk said they could add it when I called last night, then this lady tried to deceive me by reprinting the bill and ignoring my request, then she tells me she cant add a dumb $5 bottle of water!!! I ask to speak to the manager because I just need the bill to reflect the charges that will go on my credit card. Seriously is that too much to ask? A bill that matches the charge?!?! The clerk goes back to the back room with the manager and comes back and said the manager overrode the charge so it would reflect on the bill finally. I cant believe this process was so difficult. I NEVER HAVE THIS PROBLEM AT MARRIOTT. I think it's terrible that the manager hides in the back room like the Wizard of Oz and will never come out to speak with anyone. On both occasions, during check in and check out the manager would never come out and speak to me directly.

Now to top everything off....I was double charged for that dumpy bottle of water. They charged my credit card again on a separate bill after check out. Now I'm playing phone tag with the account receivables man to get this stupid trivial charge taken care of. ARGH!!!

This hotel was a total headache from start to finish. Overcharged for the room, double charged for the water, and completely INCOMPETENT STAFF. Soo not worth my time and now I'm still having to dealing with this hotel a week later. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olive272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us during your stay. We apologize for the issues you experienced with our staff and will work with our management team to ensure that all the issues have been addressed. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. The manner in which this situation was handled is not typical of our hotel and we’re very sorry this wasn't resolved during your stay. We hope you will consider staying at our hotel again. I would love to assist you in your situation with Accounting. Please contact me directly at vjohnson@missionbayhilton.com.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

DREADFUL place. filthy. the furniture in lobby was caked with dirt ,cobwebs on pool gate,sidewalks littered w pine needles and clods of wet mowed grass, stairways covered in bird dung and years of grime, ripped shredded carpeting, terrible restaurant service, insulted by the chef- when asked for our dinner to not be stacked the staff brought out every ingrediant seperate dishes, should be fired ! pool and tub needed cleaning,furniture was stained and worn. andrealize a 20$ cab ride to anywhere. that adds up quick!should offer a shuttle service to balboa.internet was like 1992, need to let people steal the pool towels so they can get new one. Disgusting faded worn out has-been hotel. moved to Hilton bayfront and treated like royalty. AVOID this place. Manager needs to be replaced.NOT Hilton standards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamondmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us and sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations. The manner in which your restaurant experience was handled is not typical of our hotel and I will be sure to address the appropriate parties. The condition of our resort is something we continuously work to improve and are grateful you brought this to our attention. We are very sorry we were not able to provide a satisfactory experience while you were here. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will be able to use it to improve our guest experience. Thank you again.

Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Biggest frustration is that internet did work anywhere in the hotel! What is the point of
Having business meeting here without internet!

Restaurant is nice and location is good. However as a business person the above does not outweigh Internet issues.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g2g5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with using our internet. Please know that this is currently being addressed and we are working as swiftly as possible so that this does not affect other guests. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,950 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#163 of 278 in San Diego
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $193 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing