We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #99 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel sits right on the bay, close to Sea World. You can rent different types of boats, or a bike and cruise around toe bay. The check-in was flawless, every question I had the gal answered. Got a great room that looks out at the bay. Room is well appointed, clean, quiet, and does not smell.

Be careful to put any value in posts on Tripadvisor where the person only has a couple of entries.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we thank you for your feedback as your opinion matters. Our guest's comments and suggestions are important to us and we hope that you choose to share them with your friends and loved ones. If you are ever in our area, we hope we get the opportunity to provide you with another excellent experience.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,230)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,307 - 2,313 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for a conference, nice location on the beach, the pool area is lovely. The restaurant was good. If you do not have a car, it is a challenging place to stay at as they are not close to anything and eating in the restaurant three times a day can get very pricey. I heard that the parking was outrageous (32 dollars a day) and I still get so very angry with places charging for internet and that always sours my view of them. (I find it shocking that internet is free in places like Mc Donald's, the airports, and low end motels, but what are considered to be high end hotels charge out of this world prices, to me that is horrible service and it is something that needs to change.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy_Been_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your recent experience. While it sounds like you enjoyed our facilities, I apologize for some of your frustrations. We currently offer complimentary wireless internet in the public of our hotel such as our lobby and foyer area, and are currently looking to install them in all guest rooms. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your patience as we continue to improve in this area. In regards to our parking, while we feel we are competitive with other resorts around the bay, we understand that this additional cost can be frustrating. It is our hope that the complimentary vouchers presented to guests upon checkin will help offset the cost of parking.

Again, thank you for posting your review. Excellent guest service is the cornerstone of our brand promise and reviews like yours will ensure continued improvement.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

So, this was a rather dated hotel/resort that rents out the rooms at a pretty good price, at least in the winter when you cannot use the resort facilities. The room was quite large and comfortable. It seems that they make up the difference in price through the extra charges for parking $32 a day(!!) and internet ($15). This is not downtown, so it was not like they are short of space. in fact, the location is away from town, and with little public transport it is a bit inaccessible - the local area is nice enough with parks and beaches (rather sad looking). Staff were OK but not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for providing us with your review. It will help us greatly in improving upon our guests' experience. I'm sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. You review will be addressed with our staff to ensure that we provide every guest with better customer service in the future. It is our hope that you give us another opportunity to provide you with a different experience.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Check in was easy and the lady checking us in her name was TC she did everything possible to make sure we had a wonderful stay! She reassured us our room would be beautiful and it was! Are room walked right out onto the beach and it had a small fire pit to enjoy at night! My boyfriend and I had a great stay and will be a Hilton customer for life! Thanks Hilton for your amazing services and employees!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanaerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am thrilled that we were able to provide you with excellent customer service. TC is one of our seasoned veterans and I will be sure to communicate your review of her performance. It is our hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had really looked forward to our stay as we have used Hiltons in the past and been impressed. However this Hotel goes right at the bottom compared to other Hiltons we have stayed at and as a previous reviewer stated the whole propery is looking tired and in need of more that a little TLC; it needs a few bucks thrown at it. The bathroom in our particular room was way out of date with a rusting bath ( how much does it take to replace and old bath with a plastic one which does not show signs of rust) and the tiles in our bathroom reminded me of ones we had 20/30 years ago. The room was very quiet and spacious with a large comfortable bed but there was only one chair in the room. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful so the main problem was purely property related. The shuttle service was a bit of a mystery and as the hotel was a bit out of town it would have been good to have a regular service to down town, we were even let down on the last day despite having booked it to go down to the cruise terminal. I loved San Diego but would stay downtown next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for providing us with your review. It will help us greatly in improving upon our guests' experience. I'm sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. We are currently working on several improvement projects and it is our hope that you give us another opportunity to provide you with a different experience.

Sincerely,
Vera Johnson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Unlike marvin3004, I do not often stay in a half-dozen different five star hotels in rapid succession, so my experience was contextually different right off the bat. I enjoyed my time at this bay front resort in the self-proclaimed world's finest city (arguable). The views were nice, the food was tasty, and the customer service staff was on point. They were extremely friendly and accommodating - exactly the type of reception you'd want when checking in somewhere. Especial mention to Amanda at the front desk. She had me at hello. The rest of the staff were great as well. A+ to HR and/or management for recruiting and/or training a legit varsity squad. Overall good experience and I'd definitely come back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great location,Staff was excellent and friendly.Room was spacious and clean.Tall tower had great view of
the bay.Parking a little pricey at $32.00 a night and they block off qute a few with cones but all in all was
an excellent stay

Room Tip: if you like a view get a west side 8 story tower
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we thank you for your feedback as your opinion matters. Our guest's comments and suggestions are important to us and we hope that you choose to share them with your friends and loved ones. If you are ever in our area, we hope we get the opportunity to provide you with another excellent experience.

Thank you,
Vera Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#164 of 278 in San Diego
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $192 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing