We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would highly recommend the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa for a family vacation because It the perfect hotel to go to for par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #101 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went to the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa for the weekend with our family. There were 13 of us including 5 children from 18 months to 6 years. There was so much for all of us to do. The kids loved feeding the ducks and the fish. All of the Hotel staff were wonderful. The food and the service was A+. Kevin always welcomed us with a smile and had tables set up for our large group. He kept checking to make sure we were happy and the children had whatever they needed. Ignacio remembered what all of us ordered to drink the first morning for breakfast and brought it to us when we sat down for breakfast the second day. From the welcoming staff at the front desk, the staff who were very helpful in the pool area, the friendly ladies in the wonderful gift shop to the best food and wait staff, I would highly recommend any family go to the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa for their vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GBELL222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Wow. Thanks for the fantastic review. The Hilton SD team strives for excellence and I’m so glad that we were able to make your family vacation so special! We look forward to welcoming all of you back again soon!
Lisa Campbell, Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,833 - 2,839 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights while we were on vacation. There are five of us so we had to get a fold-out bed which made the room pretty small, since it wasn't that big to begin with. There was a musky smell to the room which we figured was due to the hotel being on the Bay. The beds were not comfortable unfortunately but the room was clean. Parking our car was sometimes difficult since there were not enough spaces near the rooms, but we were told to make a space. My husband gets free breakfast vouchers since he travels a lot, so we ate at the restaurant every day. The food and service was very good. Also, we were very pleased with the great location of the hotel. Most places we went to were only a short drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avivaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review. Its comments like yours that help us improve our services and standards. I’m happy that your overall experience was positive and you found our location to be convenient. However, I’m disappointed that you were not a 100% satisfied with the condition of your room. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping team and we have had the carpets in all waterfront rooms cleaned to remove the musky smell from the Bay. Also, I’m not sure which room you stayed in, but we have larger rooms to accommodate families including our studio suites and one bedroom suites. If you are interested in booking again, please feel free to give me a call directly and I can assist you in finding spacious accommodations for you and your family!
Lisa Campbell, Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The clerk at the counter @ ck.in TC was very helpful as she put us in our room 2 hours early on Sat the 4th when we arrived in San Diego.But the room for a Hilton Resort was overrated as the AC didn't cool, the door had an opening at the bottom as the door seal was missing and you see day light coming in.also the room had a very strong odor.we asked for another room and it wasn't until Monday the 6th that we were moved down the hall in to a like room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallascowboys1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you for providing feedback so we can improve our overall guest experience. Please accept my sincerely apologizes for any disappointment you had during your stay. Our housekeeping staff has been notified and we recently deep cleaned all of the carpets in our waterfront rooms to remove the musky smell from the Bay. I have also discussed the door seal issue that you mentioned with our maintenance staff so we can make sure that all doors are secure as possible. We hope you will consider visiting us again. If you decide to do so, please feel free to reach out to me personally and I will do everything I can to accommodate your needs. My direct line is 619-275-8978. Thank you again for posting your comment!
Lisa Campbell, Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay last week it was our anniversary and Alyssa at the Front Desk was amazing. she accommodated our every request and to her a big thank you. she was both friendly and helpful, we will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: make staff aware of your special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trcscott712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you so much for the flattering comments. I’m thrilled to hear that we were able to make your anniversary special! I’ll be sure to thank Alyssa personally for making your trip so memorable. It is staff like Alyssa that makes our hotel a place that guests want to come back to. We look forward to seeing you again for those special occasions in the future!
Lisa Campbell, Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at the tower bay view room. The balcony was barely a balcony and filthy with bird poop. The bathrooms are so small you could barely move and old. The remodel needs remodeled! I would not recommend this hotel, until they spend some money remodeling the hideous bathrooms. Not impressed with the customer service either. They do not offer free Wifi and their rates are awful. No special offers, just hideous bathrooms!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZscimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Please except my apologies for your disappointment. I will share your feedback with the appropriate managers and make sure that we put additional efforts into patio cleanliness moving forward. Also, we are renovating the entire internet system after the first of the year so we will be wireless throughout the property. If you do decide to give us a second chance, please feel free to reach out to me personally so that we can make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for the comments – they are truly appreciated.
Lisa Campbell, Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I took my family to San Diego for the Memorial Holiday Weekend and we stayed at this wonderful resort. I have never stayed at resort that accommodated our needs as much as this place did. There are all kinds of activities to do, plus they are centrally located to all the parks and ocean.

I was very impressed how clean and updated the resort was. As soon as we stepped foot on the property I was greeted by a friendly staff and helpful service. I instantly new we had chosen the right place for our family vacation. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable about the area and answered all questions that I had. When we arrived at our room, we were able to park directly in front of our door which was a huge plus considering parking in San Diego is hard to find. Once we were in our room we not disappointed. The room was very clean, large and it had a huge sliding glass door. When that door was all the way open, it seemed as if the entire patio and outdoors were part of the room.

We had a garden view room which allowed us to watch our children play in a large grass area while my wife and I had a glass of wine on the patio. When the kids were bored with the lawn area we were only steps from the pool and the beach. With this hotel being on the bay it allowed my two boys to play in the sand and water yet not have the fear of them being tackled by large waves or the crowd of Mission Beach.

The pool and restaurants are top notch. The pool is large and has an awesome relaxing atmosphere...a real oasis (plus it has a kiddie pool for the little ones). The restaurant on site has spectacular views of the bay where my family and I were able to watch wind surfers from the patio and enjoy our meal.

Because the resort is on the boardwalk we had the opportunity to explore all of Mission Bay by way of walking or by bike. We actually rented a four seater bike (through the Hilton) and cruised the boardwalk for an hour. What a great way to cover lots of ground yet still be able to appreciate your surroundings.

Finally, what is a San Diego trip with the family without visiting the parks? This place is is practically on Sea World's grounds it's so close, it's around the corner from the San Diego Zoo, and a few miles from Old Town and Mission Beach. Perfect location!! But to be completely honest, my family and I would have been perfectly content staying at the resort all weekend and never attempting to battle the holiday crowds.

We will definitely stay here again and I will be recommending the Hilton Resort and Spa to anybody headed to San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank themitchells8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Wow. Thanks for the fantastic review. The Hilton SD team strives for excellence and I’m so glad that we were able to make your family vacation so special! It really seems that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities the resort has to offer in addition to our great location! We look forward to welcoming all of you back again soon!
Lisa Campbell, Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We enjoyed our experience at the Hilton as a family (kids 11 & 7). Pool is good, fun enormous checkers games, beach and yummy mojitos. Ate at the resort and food was good. Our room, however, looked nice as we walked in but after spending time there, noticed that the table was pretty beat up, the upholstered headboard had half the brass studs missing on one side, the closet was the old closet doors only with updated handles. It's a nice resort but I think lacking when you consider it is a 4-star with a $250/night plus $25 parking fee.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAvacationmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at our resort. We take our guest comments very seriously as we are always interested in improving the guest experience. I’m thrilled that you and your family were able to enjoy the pool, family-friendly amenities, beach and our food. Yet, I would like to extend my sincere apologizes for any disappointment you had during your stay. I have shared your observations with my maintenance team and we have conducted an inventory on all rooms that have headboards in need of new upholstery and brass studs and will be replacing these asap. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention and please feel free to contact me directly at lcampbell@missionbayhilton.com with any additional suggestions or to discuss further.
Lisa Campbell, Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,085 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#47 of 286 in San Diego
2,489 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $160 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing