We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a big fan”
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Pensione
Ranked #124 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The rooms are bit small they are TINY!! Felt a bit claustrophobic. Carpet in the bedrooms are worn. I agree that the shower is the best part of this room. Great water pressure, clean and updated. Had to ask to be switched to a room on the 4th floor with a view. The view was of the street and the Little Italy sign. First room had view of the alleyway through one narrow window. If you book through Expedia, they will treat you like a second class citizen, so if you choose to stay here, book direct. Beds are like sleeping on concrete and they are small. Another note on the upside, the rooms were cheap, but I think had we shopped more, we could have done better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the most windows on the upper floor. Book direct for better treatment from hotel...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachdoll_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for your review, we always appreciate our guests' feedback such as yours.

Just like all the other hotels in San Diego, when you book with a 3rd party such as Expedia, it is for a dedicated room type. I'm happy that we had the space to accommodate your request to be transferred to a larger room type with a city view. We truly treasure all of our guests, no matter how they came to us - no second class citizens here. If you'd like access to reserve any of our room types, than yes, booking direct is the way to go!

Sorry that you didn't find the bed comfortable. Usually our guests love them for how plush they are and they are the standard queen size. We have some of the best room rates in San Diego, and are proud to say that. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hope you'll come back to SD soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for La Pensione
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 556 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel, dead smack in the center of Little Italy, is not a bad choice. The rooms are very small but are clean, comfortable and modern. Mine had a queen bed, small fridge, and flat screen TV.
Since it was just a place to sleep while in San Diego it worked out fine.
Step out the door and you are in Little Italy, restaurants and coffee shops galore, if you are here on a Saturday the green market sets up directly in front of, almost in, the lobby.

Room Tip: The street can be noisy, and there are not room darkening shades, so bring sleep mask.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuscany1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello from Little Italy! Thanks for your visit and for leaving us your review. The farmers market couldn't have picked a better place, right? We love having it right outside the hotel, it's one of the most visited in all of San Diego, so it gives guests like yourself a chance to mingle with the locals. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We loved this hotel, only complaint was the parking and not having enough time to spend here.
The parking didn't turn out to be a huge issue, but the underground garage which we were prepared to pay $25 a day for was full. Luckily we found a parking spot, which can be difficult in the city, but we parked a couple blocks away and dragged our luggage back.
The rooms are VERY quaint... some people would say tiny, but after traveling through Europe, I appreciate the simplicity and loved the decor. Very high-end finishes, a ridiculously comfortable bed and a waterfall shower made our stay enjoyable. The Wi-Fi was very spotty, as you're sharing from a connection in the cafe below... so just beware if you're on a business trip, you might have to go elsewhere for a better connection.
All-in-all, we definitely plan on revisiting this little gem, in the PERFECT location on Little Italy, walking distance to tons of shops and great restaurants, and only a 5-10 minute drive to downtown and all the great sites of San Diego!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for the review! We know parking can be a hassle, especially in a bustling neighborhood like ours. So, thank you for your patience with that. We're continuously looking for solutions, and we're happy we can offer such modest room rates in the meantime. Thank you for your feedback and we hope we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel with lots of character in a buzzing little area.
The rooms are really attractive and very funky, but they are a bit on the small side. The shower in the bathroom was excellent. The hotel does seem to get a bit noisy at times as there is a courtyard below which goes through to the sidewalk. I would definitely stay here again as it's a really nice hotel and a very nice area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louweasle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hello - thanks for visiting us all the way from across the pond! Next time you stay with us, feel free to request one of our larger room types, or even our double-queen rooms if you have more guests with you. We hope we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We picked La Pensione based on previous ratings and everything was bang on. Small rooms but spotlessly clean with basic but adequate amenities. Poor WIFI, but a quaint cafe below with good wireless (were offered a LAN cable for room access). Friendly staff. the location is fantastic, within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. Half a block from Prepkitchen and across the street from Cafe Zuccaro (great for breakfast). Reviews of restaurants to follow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, street noise can be a bit loud.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeGirl4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks for the review! Glad we were "bang on" with your visit. Just like our guests, we love being in the smack, dab middle of Little Italy! Thanks for your patience with the Wifi, we're currently working on other options and in the meantime the LAN cables are always available to our guests. Another tip, if the city noise outside is a bother, is to request an interior room that faces our open-air courtyard. We appreciate your staying with us and hope you can stop by again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I attended a medical conference in San Diego. I was out all day at the conference so spent very little time in my room and had no need of anything luxurious. For a good value, fairly basic hotel this was excellent. Probably not ideal for a family holiday. Beds were very comfortable. It is in Little Italy so several excellent restaurants are nearby. It is quite far from the convention center so I had to walk a long way, but this was fun and good for fitness. There are more luxurious hotels nearer the conference center but for good value this one is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Not really
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anisur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hello - thanks for choosing us during your convention. We're happy that we can provide visitors, especially those traveling for conventions like youself, excellent value on your trip. If ever you want to rest your laurels (we know how tiring those conventions can be), we are just a block from the trolley stop, which takes you right in front of the Convention Center.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights. Great location, with lots of nice restaurants around. Walking distance to Embarcadero, Sea World etc. Had a modern small comfortable room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi was sometimes a bit unstable.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank TravellingAlesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Sounds like you got a lot of walking and exploring done during your stay. That's the best way to make the most out of your stay! We're currently updating our internet connection, as we know that's one of the most important services for all of our guests. Thanks for your patience during our transition! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#67 of 278 in San Diego
663 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#128 of 278 in San Diego
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W Date St, San Diego, CA 92101-2526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $122 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing