We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in Little Italy some street noise”
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pensione
Ranked #132 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved proximity to Harbor, a few blocks walk, and easy drive a few miles to zoo. Parking underground,was great for us as we wanted to walk.most places..Little Italy great food, Buon Appetito and Mona Lisa.for market items too.

when signed in, were in one room, then another clerk assigned us to a different room. Above street leveln ,noisy, burnt odor in room. Three trips to desk, finally moved to 4th floor room after 10:00 pm, quiet inside, could hear hum from above though, maybe roof h/c system, but we slept some. Each modern room was lovely, bed fine. If you are not a light sleeper, and hvac works well, then this is a perfect place, Parking fine under hotel. Staff also very considerate.
Little Italy Restaurants excellent.

Room Tip: Away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsnetnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review! Sounds like you had quite a fun time exploring San Diego and the restaurants in Little Italy. Thanks for your patience with moving your room and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 576 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was lovely - small rooms, but well decorated and with great AC. Lovely staff - so friendly! Made me feel at home.

The only negative that I found was the lack of in-room wifi, but moving to the public spaces was not a big deal as the people were friendly and the cafe had hot coffee. :) The business centre was also well equipped and useful for wifi use.

Location-wise, the hotel can't be beat - it is right on India at West Date and the whole block is restaurants and nightlife. In the morning, the cafes and streets are filled with locals speaking English and Italian, giving it a very Euro vibe.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinospizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! We're happy that you were able to take advantage of the cafe's free wi-fi and their stellar coffee (you'll find us there often too!). Thanks for your flexibility with the Wifi - we're currently looking at options for our guests, but agree that working downstairs in the courtyard definitely gives off a Euro vibe. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very good location in Little Italy, and the website and reviews make it look awesome. Good deal through Expedia, with translated into hidden problems such as a tiny room and hidden charges of $15 for overnight parking. Major problem was no wifi signal in the room, and a wifi signal in the business center too weak for Skype. Front desk staff said wifi service was from restaurant next door and suggested we go there. Who wants to do that, especially if the restaurant is closed during late night and early morning hours? We checked out after one night, and hotel did not want to refund charges for second night. So we had to contact Expedia and arrange the credit. Not what I expect of a $150 per night hotel stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DonMiguelLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for giving us a try! We know Wifi is of paramount importance to our guests, and we're currently weighing out different options to provide Wifi for every room. Since you booked through Expedia and you paid directly to them, they would handle any refunds - not the hotel. Most Expedia bookings do not include parking charges in their rates, so that is why it was a separate charge. Our $15 rate is one of the lowest found in all downtown hotels in San Diego. Sorry it didn't work out this time around, and hope you give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel served our needs perfectly...clean, friendly, modern decor, helpful staff (Andre at reception was really helpful), great location. It's in the heart of Little Italy which some people will tell you is away from main attractions. Firstly, it's right next door to lots of restaurants and bars (cafe zucchero is a must for breakfast) and secondly it's a trolley ride from everything or a walk if you are able and willing to do so (approx. 15 mins walk from seaport village and approx. 45 from the zoo). If you want a nice, clean place to lay your head after busy days of exploring, this place is for you. Our bedroom was small but newly decorated, the bathroom was lovely and we had a big full length mirror and a fridge. Downsides are that there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room but this didnt matter too much. Also the ice machine in the hall was a bit noisy but i would always recommend people travel with ear plugs wherever they go. If you want a fancy hotel with a swimming pool, gym, fancy bar etc then this is not the place for you. If to do stay here, take a trip to Old Town for an evening if you can as its a fun and busy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and for the awesome review! We hope we see you again on you next visit to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location, great redone hotel if you don't mind small. This is a restored hotel which means it has trendy updates and a comfortable bed, but the rooms are much smaller than nowadays hotels. The staff was super nice, there is a great little snack spot next to it and a bar diagonal from it (English Pub with good food and prices).
We really liked it here, the location was great. Super easy access to the highway, right near the harbor (walkable) and only like a mile from the airport. The neighborhood is really nice as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventurePig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi - we appreciate that you took the time to leave us a good review! Sounds like you had a great time exploring. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Il Gioiello Nascosto Della Piccola Italia!!! (The hidden gem of little italy)

This place is truly beautiful!!! I did alot of research of little italy hotels as well as surrounding areas to prepare for our adventure ...I was looking for a place walking distance of ALOT of bars & restaruants as well as being close enough to the harbor & beach for the great views!!!

We checked in to La Pensione around 4pm after our Downtown/Little Italy Food Tour ended @ the Cafe Italia which is located ground level of the hotel. I fell in love with the location the second we walked up. The little Italy sign is RIGHT outside the windows of the hotel & standing on the street looking up at the sign & out on the street you feel like your in italy! On saturdays theres a farmers market on the street right outside until 3pm & there is an amazing place for food, beer or wine everywhere you look. Just park your car & start walking..you will find something delicious or incredible with every turn!

Checking in was pleasant...the front desk were helpful & friendly & I would to if i got to work in such a lovely place every day. We made our way up to room 414 on the fourth floor...walked in & our huge smiles turned into ear to ear smiles!!! The room was GORGEOUS!!! It is a bit smaller than a normal hotel room...but its not a problem at all!!! Boutique hotels are more chic & stylish vs size...the bed however was sooo comfy & the overall ambiance made us feel pampered & fancy! Our window was perfect!!!! It looked down onto little italy & at night we got to see the sign & the whole area lit up...we would hang out of our room window sippin a beer being serenaded by the accordian player down below..it was truly breathtaking!!! It had the greatest rain shower head with an open door shower & a large flat screen TV. The linens were clean & soft, the decorating was beautiful & the views all around were breathtaking!!!....overall we didnt want to leave!!! Theres a few vending machines downstairs in the garage if you are needing a late late night snack or beverage but you can just walk out the door & find something to nibble or sip on.

The only reasons they didnt get that last half a star was because parking was $15/day (ouchies) & the spots are very limited, maybe 10 spots max down in the garage. Finding street parking is plosable but during the busy nights & dinner rush as well as the saturday farmers market FORGET ABOUT FINDING A SPOT. Also i couldnt find an ice bin anywhere so if you are wanting ice I would stop & bring some with you. The wifi didnt reach up to the rooms, but if you bring an ethernet cable that is free & it definitely manages during your stay. The 2013 Tech freaks may have a hugeee problem with having to partake in such an archaic tradition as using an ethernet cable....but its a tiny trade off for the location & hotel itsself. The tiny minuscule issues are seriously nothing compared to the amazingness of this place so I would never let these things keep me away!

This hotel really is a hidden gem amongst a beautiful part of San Diego & this will be our go to spot when visiting downtown. You can not beat the location or overall GREATNESS of this place. We are definitely in love with LA PENSIONE! We cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Bring an ethernet cable if you want internet (for free) Room 414 Has An Amazing View Onto Little It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaaBellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hidden gem!! I will definitely go back. The rooms are exquisite and the prices are very reasonable! The views include little Italy, downtown and the waterfront. You feel like you Are in the heart of Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgirlsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hi,

Thanks so much for staying with us! We're all about offering San Diego travelers more boutique for their buck :) We hope to see you at our property and in Little Italy soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#61 of 286 in San Diego
711 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#78 of 286 in San Diego
1,439 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 286 in San Diego
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W Date St, San Diego, CA 92101-2526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $115 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing