We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Little Italy”
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Pensione
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location in Little Italy”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for five nights prior to boarding for a cruise. Picked it for it's location which was excellent. Two minutes walk from the tram stop, right in the middle of Little Italy's bars and restaurants and only a fifteen minute easy walk into centre of town. Only a short taxi ride from airport and even nearer to cruise terminal. With San Diego's efficient transport system meant we didn't need a car with this as a base. Heard train the first night and thought stay might be noisy but it wasn't. Staff were helpful and room was ok. Not much choice near to hand for breakfast. If you want to spend lots of time in hotel probably not for you but fine as a base.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiretourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    231
    91
    36
    26
See reviews for
36
257
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here based on price and location and we got just what we paid for. The neighborhood is fun & lively. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The trolly is a short walk. The room is smaller than we would've hoped and we were glad we only planned on one night in the hotel. Save some money here, just expect to step over your luggage on your way from the sink to the bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefchuck102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My spouse and I stayed at this property in years past and enjoyed it much more then. It's really starting to look rundown and neglected. Our room this time was very small and quite dirty. We tried to check in early but our room wasn't ready. Javier at the desk, was accommodating and checked our bags allowing us to walk the surrounding area unburdened. When we returned and retrieved our luggage and room keys, we opened our door found the room had never been cleaned since the last guest. Javier offered to move us but we opted to wait for the room to be cleaned so that we could stay near our friends. We returned a couple of hours later and found that staff had cleaned our room and delivered our bags for us. While it's picky, I know, white paint in the wrong shade, topped off with a sloppy application, makes everything look cheap and shabby. The 2 inch diameter hole in the wall behind the door didn't help much either. The carpeting was in need of replacement and housekeeping didn't vacuum anything but the small walkway around the room. Under the edges of the bed and under the desk and chair, the debris that welcomed us to the room stayed put throughout our two nights. The mattress was really too firm. The sheets appeared clean and felt crisp and I liked the light-weight duvet. The towels were unbelievably cheap and shed white fuzz balls on everything that came anywhere near them. Management had added air conditioning since our last visit but it didn't work well enough to cool the room. We opened the window which was filthy and enjoyed the sea breeze. We also had a small refrigerator--installed in the side wall about 4 feet off the floor--something of an odd place. While the shower/tub combo is in a fairly good sized room with the toilet, the vanity and sink are at the entrance to the room and had no towels or towel bars in that location. All plumbing fixtures in our room were in need of replacement. Our sink was rusted and chipped and water pressure in the shower was very weak. While we did have a TV in our room, we had no remote control (how did we ever live without these things?) and the front desk said they didn't have one--"maybe housekeeping could provide one the next day." No such luck. I'd rather they ditched the desk, chair and TV cabinet and provide some closet space for hanging clothes instead. As this hotel is located right next to the Amtrak line, you'll need earplugs if you're any kind of a medium to light sleeper. On Sunday morning our friend (an early riser desperately in search of coffee) discovered the the letter "P" from Pensione had actually fallen from the building and shattered on the sidewalk outside. I love the location of this place in the heart of Little Italy but won't be back until they complete a remodel and step up their game. As a boutique hotel I'd recommend they pay attention to all the little details (paint color, cleanliness, fixtures) that make it possible to overlook the size of the rooms and lack of amenities such as a coffee maker in each room or closet space, especially given the price they charged us.

Room Tip: Train tracks are half a block away. Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyBlacksnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

For a one-night stay this was okay. Bed was comfortable, hotel is next door to a coffee shops and within steps to good Italian restaurants, and only a $10 cab ride to the airport. But if I were staying any longer I'd expect a few more amenities, a coffee maker and an iron in the room, for example, and a TV with clear reception. Also, the rooms are very small and the sink + mirror are outside the bathroom so it was impossible to get ready in the morning without waking up my partner, which was a bit of a nuisance but not completely horrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed at this well located modern hotel during an unusual heat wave. The air conditioners in EVERY room, made buzzing sounds off and on all night making sleeping difficult.
Their excuse- it's humid this time of year, and they can't be fixed.(it's in Little Italy- sounds like they got a deacon the ac's from cousin Vinny) They should try living on the Eastcoast- what they call humid is a dry clear day. Don't go there July- September. Otherwise I'd give it a 4-5 star rating. Loved getting up to an amazing Farmers' Market on Saturday.

Room Tip: call to see if they got new AC's/ we loved our 2 double bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at La Pensione for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and did the job, we just needed a base for exploring the city. We were concerned when the air con started buzzing incessantly, so I used the free wifi to check trip advisor for recent reviews. That's when I saw that the buzzing air con was not just a problem in our room!! Luckily it wasn't horrific, if you turned the air con off a while before you went to bed it would stop making the buzzing alarm sound (although it would go off once or twice in the middle of the night). Our room faced the courtyard but there was a bit of noise from the cafe first thing in the morning. We recommend Mimmo's over the road for Italian food & enjoyed the USS Midway museum, Balboa Park & the zoo

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milica0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Where else can your weekend begin with standing infront of the entrance, watching the sun set to the west and a full moon rising to the east. Then having a great dinner, a walk, music, and people watching. Then waking up the on Saturday, walking out the front door to see the street filled with vendors selling flowers and farm fresh vegitables and fruit. In short, the location if perfect.

The hotel is super. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Don't worry about the reviews of small rooms. Yes, the room is small but you are in one the best areas of San Diego so who cares. The only smaller room I stayed in was in Venice, Italy, but you are in Venice, Italy so who cares how small the room is. The hotel itself is an architectural wonder, with lots of intersting nooks and cranies to explore, views of the patio and the exciting street scene, and even an area where all of a sudden you are in an outdoor area.

The hotel is a short walk from the LIttle Italy trolley stop so don't worry about parking, just use the trolley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDHydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#132 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Property: La Pensione
Address: 606 W Date St, San Diego, CA 92101-2526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing