We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Andaz San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indogo(San Diego)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
161
235
142
56
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
235
142
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centergreat locationsuper shuttlewindow acstreet noiseyogurtroom was small but cleanfree shuttle from the airporteggs and sausagefree breakfastcoffee makerbudget hotelpetco parkfree internet accessmicrowave and fridgerestaurants and barswithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 629 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Yes as other reviews indicate small rooms (if your pre-cruise it'll set your mind for the size of your stateroom, post-cruise it will feel spacious). I was a party one, two might be a squeeze, but they do have suites. For the price I paid via Expedia and the location, staff and 24hr (albeit a little pricey even with 10% off from hotel) restaurant & bar attached couldn't beat it. Elevators are amazing from historic viewpoint (but they kinda scared me) and being lucky enough with a room on the 2nd floor I could take the stairs (even post marathon). No view to speak of, also didn't experience any outside or a/c noise, I got inside noise from neighboring rooms as their tv was very loud. I had however read reviews and had earplugs handy. Anyone bigger than maybe 5'4" and on the bigger side may have issues with the shower - that was small! Overall a great place for two nights and to see the sites of San Diego w/transportation provided to/from the airport and free internet!

Room Tip: If your two or more and staying for more than one night regular room may not meet your needs - go for a suite.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivetoTravel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and I hope to see you again. Many of the guests at our hotel are return guests and stay with us yearly. Best prices are available on our own website. Thank you again for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is on the edge of the Gaslamp district of San Diego. This puts you in walking distance of the interesting sites but it is a longer walk to get to them. Their parking rate is one of the better rates of the area. I arrived by taking the public bus from the airport to a corner bus stop 3 blaocks from the hotel. This is a small hotel, only 3 floors high, with no pool, restaurant or workout room. However you are given a pass to a local gym , breakfast is part of the rate and they do serve a decent breakfast and the Gaslamp district is packed with restaurants. The room was clean and well kept and came with a small fridge, microwave and free wireless. My room faced G street and the street noise was loud at times. When it came time to return to the airport they gave me a voucher for a free cab ride. All in all, a great value for the area.

Room Tip: rooms on the north or west side will have less street noise
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyosoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do think we are the best value in the area. I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed post cruise at the Comfort Inn, the rooms are very small and quite hot even with the air con going.But the location is really central, right in the middle of the gaslamp district. You are within walking distance of Horton Plaza and the Trolley car. Saturday night is very noisy. Breakfast is included, and is quite adequate, staff in front office very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broddles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. We know Saturday in the Gaslamp an be noisy. We do have courtyard rooms that are less noisy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. I picked it for the price and the location. If your looking for more than that you might be dissapointed. Just a 10 min wall to the convention centre. Room was very small and tight. If you do not expect much maybe for the price this will will do for you..

Room Tip: Do a bit of praying before you get there.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Inn on a recent trip to San Diego. There is a free shuttle to the hotel from the San Diego Airport. Hotel is conveniently located in the Gaslamp district and within walking distance to the train stop. Room contained refrigerator, microwave and in-room coffee. The room was small and sink located next to the bed but had a large countertop which was nice. We were going to get breakfast but ended up at the free buffet as it was very good and had everything we needed. Front desk was able to direct us to restaurants in the area & provided an area map. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COMO1ColumbiaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We know you have many choices and we are glad you stayed with us. I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews