We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for making our tour such a success!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
lousiana
1 review
“Thanks for making our tour such a success!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We're Cajun musicians from Louisiana and were recently in California for some dates. We had the fortune of staying with Carole and Mike in San Diego. It was really like staying with family, Mikes' cooking was great, we have a couple of big eaters in the band, not a problem, Mike took care of them! Miss Carole made us all miss our own moms, she's sooo sweet!! Mike was great, helped out with band logistics, sound checks, equipment,
and directions, priceless!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chankychank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    20
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
47
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

I really enjoyed my three day stays. Carole and her son really make you feel at home. The breakfast is great ! The location is very good : North Park is a booming neighborhood where you can get a feel of the "real" San Diego

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exiled_sandiegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

I spend 2-3 weeks a month on the road and just discovered Caroles in San Diego. My stay in the Casita inspired me to book a three night second Honeymoon with my wife. Five star's . Ambiance and the exceptional fresh fruit breakfast have us ready to come back for another romantic getaway

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orobert4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and I were going to stay one week at Carole's B&B, we spent one miserable night there and left. I did not like it at all, I was very disappointed after reading al the wonderful reviews. We stayed in the cottage across the street, parking space was tiny, hard to get out of the passenger side with a tree overlapping, the cottage was dark, one lamp was out, the television was tiny and remote didn't work, it was very hot inside, one window air conditioner in the bedroom that was noisy, kitchen and living room hot! It was smelly to us and had a fire alarm wire hanging out of the wall. the kitchen seating area was just about enough for one person to sit at. Aftr leaving hot Arizona, I wanted to be comfortable, the bed was queen and I prefer a king. We left and for the same amount of money had a beautiful hotel, lovely room with full buffet breakfast on Shelter Island. Bathroom tiny didn't seem clean. Never met Michael, he cooked breakfast for the two of us but never came out of the kitchen to say hello.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

This is the second time I have had the good fortune to stay with Carole and her son Mike.

Great home/great location and cozy ambiance are the 3 things that come to mind when staying at Caroles. Too bad it was too cold to swim in the pool.

I will be staying there again and again as will my guests when they visiit San Diego.

Thank you Carole.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Priced well for the value- after being in hotels I was little worried about losing my privacy but quickly found that the warm "Hello how was your day?" and "How are you today?" that was offered to me by Carole and her family was the exact extra touch I needed. It was the right balance of home and solitude. If you want to mix a bit with world travelers and locals this is a wonderful stay- yet you can get away to the pool and your room as needed. A great chance to get a personal touch while I found a place to live.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

Carole's is a great B & B. We have stayed there almost every year for several years because of the warm but non-intrusive emotional atmosphere, the terrific location, the fantastic hot tub & pool, the pleasant rooms & lovely garden.

Carole & her family are terrific & helpful people. The breakfasts are wonderful--tasty & healthy & well prepared [unlike the overly rich, overly pretentious food too often served by B & B's which load on the cholesterol in an attempt to impress people]. Carole's B & B is clean & well-appointed. It is not a pretentious place that just tries to look fancy. Rather, they have kept their meaningful family photos & art objects, reflecting Carole's interesting family & life-- one feels welcomed by friends in a very happy home

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Hotel Vyvant
#3 of 33 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 3227 Grim Avenue, San Diego, CA 92104
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely historic home in North Park has been home to Carole's BNB for over 28 years, where guests from all over the world have come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing