We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carole and Michael open up their home to you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #11 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked two rooms for four adults with a few days' notice at Carole's, the only inn available since Balboa Park was crowded for an event that weekend. Carole's place is a quaint, homely place in a quiet neighborhood in North Park. It reminds me of the wonderful, welcoming Last Homely House described by Tolkien. In many ways, Carole made us feel more like we were visiting a homely grandmother than staying at a hotel, which we loved.

In the morning, Carole's son Michael provides an excellent breakfast with fresh fruit, juice, coffee, eggs, and biscuit. The innkeepers truly live the laid-back style of sunny, coastal Southern California that people all over the world come looking for.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are good for families or good friends (2-4 adults) that have no problem sharing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UnViajeroEnElTiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

I couldn't have asked for better service or accommodations. The staff were incredibly friendly and made sure that every need was taken care of immediately. One morning we needed to leave before breakfast was served. We mentioned it to Carole and crew the morning before and they actually got around an hour earlier just to make sure we could enjoy their wonderful food! The bed was great, the shower just right and it had the feeling of staying with a beloved family member. The conversation was great (we even discussed the classic novel A Brave New World) and the house had a wonderful relaxed, vintage feel that was perfect after spending the day out and about on business. I will be booking with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

As a Norwegian couple, this was our first visit to San Diego (and California in general) and we couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Clean room, home cooked breakfast, nice and relaxed conversations with the other guests, helpfull staff (Carole and Mike) and a short ride from everything.

We highly recommend Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn and will stay there next time we are touring the beautiful California!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LineSjohelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We loved our stay here. This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast and what a difference from a hotel! Carole and Michael were warm, witty and welcoming, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were extremely clean, and the location is close to everything. The meals were delicious, and paired with excellent conversation, made our stay outstanding. I would highly recommend Carole's as a preferred destination if you are staying in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHowardsx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have been to Carole's Bed and Breakfast twice now!! Each time it has been a great experience from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out! If you like a good home cooked breakfast with good conversation then you should make sure not to miss it!! Mike and Carole are very helpful when it comes to where you should be and what you should not miss out on while you are visiting San Diego! We loved the quiet vintage feel of the Inn and will be staying there for all of our future visits!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Carole's and would recommend it to any of our friends headed to San Diego! The historic home is beautiful, as are the well-landscaped grounds. Carole and her son Michael were welcoming and very helpful with suggestions on great things to do in San Diego. And, Michael's breakfasts were an awesome way to start the day! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Came down to San Diego from the bay area for a concert and some get away time. Location was ideal for the venue which was in the downtown area. We were greeted by Carole and her daughter Marine who both seemed to love what they're doing. After a tour of the gardens and pool area we were led to our room with a private bath in the main house. The decor was something you would expect from a craftsman home build in the 1900's. We had a great time at our show and really enjoyed the breakfast served by Carole the following morning. Spent several hours out by the pool and on our private deck before our afternoon departure. Will definitely stay again when in the area. Thank you Carole for making your home our home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,425 reviews
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Found Hotel San Diego
#5 of 33 in San Diego
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 3227 Grim Ave, San Diego, CA 92104-4656
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $142 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely historic home in North Park has been home to Carole's BNB for over 28 years, where guests from all over the world have come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing