We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accomodations, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Sandy Barbara
1 review
“Nice accomodations, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Comfortable, clean room. Good breakfast served hot at the table, hot coffee always on the stove. Not a large number of people. Close to Balboa Park-- which I learned is a LOT more than a zoo. Easy walk to a 'neighborhood' commercial area for restaurants, shops, etc. Most important (to me)- made to feel very welcome in Carole's house. Felt more like a friend of the family, rather than a paying guest.
No doubt, would stay with Carole and family again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
It was our pleasure making you feel like family, and it sounds like you had a nice fair share of what our beautiful city has to offer. Enjoy the wonderful California summer, and try to stay cool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    20
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
47
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We (me, wife, and 3yr old) loved our 4-night stay at Carole's. The casita was roomy, comfortable, and cared for. The front door parking was convenient. The location was fantastic- great sushi and Italian in walking distance. The pool was fun! And it was wonderful meeting all the interesting guests over breakfast, which was great (thank you Michael.) I highly recommend Carole’s B and B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Servand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Glad to hear to you had a great time with your family, and enjoyed the neighborhood, all while basking in the wonderful San Diego summer sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Staying with Carole and Michael provided an instant home-away-from home in their delightful and well furnished Inn. Everything good that everyone says is true, and we thought only we were getting such exceptional service and friendliness.Great mattress and smooth sheets. The location is convenient with a bus only 1 block away; downtown in 15 minutes, same for Balboa Park. The Rose room was private in the main house, yet we felt comfortable using the TV room in the evening and sitting around the pool in the afternoon.Upstairs rooms looked comfy too. Michael tells the best stories and makes the most remarkable breakfasts. Carole felt like a long-time friend and even walked me around the neighborhood to check out day care for my granddaugher who lives nearby. We really can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casavartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We truly love every aspect of our Bed and Breakfast, and we're definitely glad to see it show through you all, can't wait to see you again, have a nice summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpin, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The ambience is so pleasant, the hospitality fine, and for us the location is wonderful as we can visit our North Park children and grandchildren and go to the park without the need for a car.

Room Tip: Hummingbird room offers private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
It makes me so happy to hear you enjoyed our location and hospitality, and got to be so close to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Carole & Mike's brand of hospitality is unexcelled in this hemisphere! Staying at Carole's is like coming to the coolest house in an extremely cool neighborhood and being a part of the family that lives there.....instantly accepted and loved.

Room Tip: The downstairs casita is private and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uttster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
We were glad to make you feel like part of the family during your stay in San Diego, and would love to have ya back in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I was supposed to stay in the studio across the street from the main house,but Carol said the Rose room was available,and it had it's own private deck.I asked to see the room,and decided to stay in the Rose room instead.She did say the bed was hard,and it was,but i was only there for three nights.The only problem was the toilet seat didn't stay up,so i had to hold it up while using the toilet.The deck was nice and cozy overlooking the pool.The best thing about this place was Carol's hospitality.I felt like i was staying at a family member's house.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freebird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolesbnb, Owner at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will look into that, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I had a wonderful stay here! Breakfasts were always delicious! Very accommodating, and welcoming!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CieraMarisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolesbnb, Owner at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
We were happy to have you and definitely happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfasts. Thanks for staying with us, we'll be here if you're ever studying in San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Hotel Vyvant
#4 of 33 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 3227 Grim Avenue, San Diego, CA 92104
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely historic home in North Park has been home to Carole's BNB for over 28 years, where guests from all over the world have come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing