We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtakingly Beautiful Desserts!”

Extraordinary Desserts
Ranked #8 of 148 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
171 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly Beautiful Desserts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

These desserts are so beautiful and well displayed that they give new meaning to the words EYE CANDY! AND they are delicious! We went there specifically for the desserts so I don't know how good their lunch selections are. Our table tried the lemon/berry cake (can't remember the real name), the chocolate trifle bundt and one of the cream brulee items. They were all wonderful and we took photos before we ate them! Most of the desserts are adorned with fresh flower petals and so pleasant to behold! We had very good service and all the staff was very friendly and pleasant. The prices are in line with what you would expect in a fancy dessert store...ranging from $2.95 - $9.95. But the items are large enough to share, so the prices don't seem unreasonable. Our waistlines won't allow us to go there often, but it is worth the trip to check them out! TAKE YOUR CAMERA!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katdod50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    106
    26
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wifey's Chocolate Fix!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife "casually" mentioned this place during our visit to San Diego. On our busiest day, we got back to our Hotel really exhausted and my wife couldn't eat much because she was too tired. Of course I had to "go for a stroll" and returned with chocolate dulce de leche. It was really delicious, and she told me that was one of the best chocolate cakes she ever had!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ifeanyi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlo.ablaza@gmail.com
Level Contributor
153 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You have to try this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes, the desserts are a feast for the eyes as well as the tastebuds, but being more of a "savory" than a "sweets" person, I decided to try this location for their non-dessert foods. What a nice surprise! The ambience was great, the service was friendly, and the décor/design was cool but welcoming. We sat at the bar and were glad we did.
We ordered a charcuterie platter which was well done. We also got a Greek salad which was good, but they did something strange: the menu said butterleaf lettuce and was a primary reason why we got it, but when the salad arrived, it had mixed greens instead -- romaine, baby spinach, etc. Funny that they didn't change the menu description or our server didn't mention any substitutions. The wine selection was great, though our server didn't know much about it.
Yes, there are kinks for sure, but overall, it was a very good experience and a nice way to end our evening. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cja2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The clue is in the name!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

For once a place that lives up to it's name! We were slightly worried that we'd be disappointed when we read a review that the choice was not as good as the other branch. Frankly if there was more choice is would be completely extraordinary!!
This place provides food theatre as well as the experience of eating desserts of your dreams
The cheese board looked amazing too
Not just form deserts but all sybdining with breakfast, sandwiches etc
We visited on our last day of a 2 week visit to San Diego..next time we'll be there on day 1,2...14 etc
Do not miss!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
842 reviews
632 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Out of this world desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is the place to go for decadent desserts. We went with my sister and brother-in-law. I never saw so many choices - cakes, cookies, pastries, brownies, ice cream and sorbet. The cakes were decorated beautifully - likes pieces of art. My husband and I shared the Au Chocolate Cake - for anyone who loves chocolate with a scoop of milk chocolate chip ice cream. The cake was rich and flavorful. The ice cream was creamy and flavorful too. In addition they do serve food, coffee and tea drinks. We sat at the bar and avoided a long wait time to get a table,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extraordinary Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Extraordinary Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing