We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much flare”

Extraordinary Desserts
Ranked #9 of 151 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Too much flare”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The desserts have too much flare, too flowery, and not enough flavor. The different desserts taste similar, just sweet. They don't have enough flavor to distinguish them from one another.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    108
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Incredible Desserts”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a wonderful place for sweet lovers. They also serve other food but the dessert is the star. Its kind of expensive. One coffee and three desserts almost $40.00. They are works of art some with gold leaf. Most all of them have flowers or rose petals on them. The plate came with sauce with designs in it. Its hard to choose because everything is so first class and beautiful to look at. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food here is fresh and delicious. They don't just do deserts, but the cakes are absolutely beautiful. The service is a little slow but well worth the wait. Good coffee too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try the tofu club!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The 1430 Union location serves delicious meals, salads, and wine along with so many desserts!
I look forward to excursions from Las Vegas to San Diego partly because I'm salivating for the tofu club and dessert.
Saturday I had the tofu club along with a kale salad (that was good too). I returned Sunday and enjoyed the fruited salad and a side of berries - yum!
I suggest eating early, especially on weekends, this is a popular restaurant (for good reason) and it gets very busy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“decadent, delicious”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A must for anyone with a sweet tooth. The location is a bit off the beaten track but is very modern and as soon as you walk in you see all the fabulous desserts. You can dine in or take out and you are given a number to be served. We were there on a Saturday night and although it was busy, we waited only a few minutes for a table and chose to sit outside as it was a lovely evening. We needed the time to peruse all the options from tortes, squares, cookies etc. I opted for an apple crostata which was large enough for 2 portions. My husband likes cheesecake and although he didn't see it, he asked our server and she offered him a coconut cream cheese cake. It was fabulous with pieces of coconut, very rich but worth the calories. I had some of my choise, which was delicious but far too much after sharing the cheesecake, so as most were doing, we had it packed to take home, which we had with coffee the next day. I also chose a pecan shortbread cookie which melted in my mouth. It is a bit pricely, $29 for 2 cappucinos, 1 cheesecake slice, 1 apple crostada and 1 cookie but it is the best. Selections vary daily as to make sure everything is fresh. They also serve homemade ice cream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extraordinary Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Extraordinary Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing