We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission San Diego de Alcala

Mission San Diego de Alcala
Ranked #50 of 424 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Mission Valley section of San Diego, this historic mission was founded by Father Junipero Serra, who started a string of 21 missions along the California coast.
Scotch Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved the grounds and how they were kept it and the church itself felt peaceful. Th einside gardens were wonderful and the bells were very neat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne5502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    94
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,122 reviews
562 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit, Beautiful Facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I took my daughter here on our visit to SD and we were not disappointed. The story of the Mission is indeed interesting but the best aspect is the beauty of the grounds. It is worth a visit if you are in town.

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Older than these United States of America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Founded in 1769 by Father Junipero Serra, this first Franciscan mission in Alta California is older than the USA.

You do not need a car to visit if you can get on San Diego's Trolley system/light rail. From the Santa Fe Depot in downtown San Diego, I hopped on the Green Line towards Santee. It was about a 35 minute ride ($2.50 one-way ticket). The Basilica Mission San Diego de Alcala is about a half-mile walk from the Mission San Diego station. Head north on Rancho Mission Road, then turn right on San Diego Mission Road. The basilica will be on the left.

I wandered around the grounds and enjoyed the gardens. Ample signage told of California history. I visited the Museum Father Luis Jayme (enter through an entryway marked "El Museo", then follow the hallway around an inner courtyard, and enter through the doorway marked "Museum Father Luis Jayme"). This tiny museum provided plenty of information about the San Diego area's five periods of occupation, beginning with the Kumeyaay Indians. There is a wall dedicated to all California missions, an old American flag with thirteen stars, and a copy of the deed signed by President Abraham Lincoln returning the Mission grounds back to the Catholic Church following a period of American military occupation during the U.S. annexation of California.

In comparison to many other missions, the basilica interior is rather small and simply decorated. I attended the Saturday Vigil Mass at 5:30 p.m. and the church was filled to capacity, with a few parishioners standing in the back.

Learn more about California history and visit La Mision San Diego de Alcala.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CCC_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Small but historical site. The chapel was inspiring, and the quaint courtyard was soothing for the eyes and the soul. Visitor's center volunteer was very kind and informative. A very well-spent hour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank moclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
229 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Lovely Piece of San Diego History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not difficult to locate but parking can be a problem. We viewed it on a glorious sunny day and also enjoyed the garden. As the first of the Californian missions, it is a beauty. It has lovingly been maintained and is in full use today. The gift shop has great postcards and merchandise.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank carliewired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Diego de Alcala also viewed

 

Been to Mission San Diego de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing