We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of San Diego and Pacific ocean”

Cabrillo National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Coastal Tour of San Diego
More Info
$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
More Info
$42.00*
and up
San Diego Seal Tour
Ranked #8 of 438 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stately monument honoring Cabrillo, discoverer of San Diego Bay, is located in Point Loma that overlooks the city and the Bay.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great views of San Diego and Pacific ocean”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Well worth the drive up to the monument; small fee to enter unless you have the senior park pass. Beautiful views of San Diego bay and the Pacific ocean. Might also see whales.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,432
    1,140
    175
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Longer hours....Please!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

After driving from LA to San Diego, we wanted to make a stop after we checked into our room and see the Cabrillo National Monument but it closes at 5 pm. That just sucks!!! It's summer, aren't the days longer? We weren't the only people that were disappointed as we seen cars turning around near the entrance. I think it should be advertised of the hours in the travel guides before we make the trek to be there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cappie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
803 reviews
324 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for the view alone!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Interesting visitor center with lighthouse and statue to visit. Great view of how San Diego is situated with vies extending to Mt. Helix on a clear day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great history on San Diego and amazing sweeping views. Seeing the lighthouse, tide pools, views of San Diego, and the navy ships are worth the trip and $5. charge to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great views and tidepools”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Beautiful views of the San Diego area. My two children, ages 10 and 12, enjoyed spending at least 2 hours exploring the tidepools. There is also a lighthouse and other things to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigGameProShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabrillo National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Cabrillo National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing