We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Cabrillo National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #8 of 426 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stately monument honoring Cabrillo, discoverer of San Diego Bay, is located in Point Loma that overlooks the city and the Bay.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Don't be fooled this is not just another monument as it gives you a great view over the ocean and harbour. You can also go down to the tide pools as well as go around the light. House. A great morning out

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJH-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,277
    1,073
    166
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Thought we would spend just a short amount of time here--but instead spent a half of day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was really surprised how much was offered here. First of all the view is wonderful. I could spend a lot of time watching the boats go in and out, and the Navy Aircraft taking off and landing. There is also a lighthouse to tour, with a great explanation of how it worked and what life was like living is isolation. There is an exhibit on Cabrillo. And we were pleasantly surprised by the Army bunkers and exhibit. Soldiers dressed in uniforms from different eras giving interesting explanations of what went on here. Then we stopped at the tidepools, and had a nice walk along the ocean. Beautiful day--but didn't see any whales. Maybe next time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my second visit, had to show my husband how beautiful it is. Not disappointed! Visit the lighthouse and walk on the trails. Be sure to drive down to the tidepools, fun for children.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wvvolleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great place with lots of history. Beautiful view of the naval base, ships etc. Check out the coast guard pad located by the water where the real lighthouse is.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Totally Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the place to see the cliffs and shores that people associate California's rugged coasts with. The views are absolutely stunning (too bad you can't stay late enough for sunset!) and the light house was very interesting, though you can't make it all the way up to the lens, at least when we went today. Despite that, the cool breeze and the unbelievable views of the coast and of Coronado and downtown San Diego make this a MUST see for anyone in San Diego.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabrillo National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Cabrillo National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing