We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #148 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous and Relaxing”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Our room at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs was beautiful. The room we stayed in backed up to the ocean and we could fall asleep listening to the crashing of the waves. The room had state-of-the-art amenities such as a flat screen TV, leather furniture, and Jacuzzi spa tub which I enjoyed nightly. There is a view from every window in the room and the bamboo flooring was a nice upgrade. The double shower heads were a great touch too. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends. The grounds were lush and a joy to view. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveesPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    63
    20
    21
    12
See reviews for
114
131
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I truly cannot say enough about this vacation place. Waking up to the beautiful ocean and gardens was just breathtaking. The staff was welcoming and took care of all our needs. Felt like I was at my favorite family home somewhere in Paradise. so much more comfortable than staying at a huge hotel with elevators and huge parking lots full of cars, traffic and too many people. Betsy, Mary and I had our special moments for early morning coffee and sunrise to the ocean-front patio with our warm and toasty fire and wine for the gorgeous sunsets. Thank you Gavin and Matt!!!! Great times for us. And kiss "Kruz" for us too. We will certainly be back one day with all our L.I.P.S Friends!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIPSTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We enjoyed a weekend here and the spot was just great. Wonderful view, great location. We had both the King suite on the end for two nights, and the Presedential suite for two nights. Both were very comfortable and well appointed. The grounds are lovely with lots of flowers and Cruise the miniature doberman was always fun to play with. If I had one complaint its the pricing. Seems to be a bit too expensive, and I didn't get my fourth night free since I had changed rooms, which seemed to break the rules. Rather than fight about it and ruin our stay, just went with the flow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triplefff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

This was a great place to stay! The views were absolutely beautiful. The staff was all very friendly and helpful with directions. There is a walking path just in front of the hotel and you walk the cliffs for miles along the beach. Perfect for couples wanting a romantic place to get away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater New Orleans Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This was our second trip to the San Diego area from the greater New Orleans area. First time we stayed in Carlsbad, but since husband had meeting to attend downtown we decided on The Inn at Sunset Cliffs. We drove to Legoland 2 days which was about 40 minutes away. Glad we decided to stay at this charming location. Everything else we did was close to the downtown area and this location was ideal, about 10 or 15 minute drive. It was so much better than being in a giant high rise hotel downtown. Plus no matter what you would pay elsewhere, you could never get these views. AMAZING..!! Sound of waves crashing all night, ocean breezes, pool for the kids, safe area and a friendly staff. This isn't the Waldorf Astoria, but that's not why you should choose this hotel anyway. Prices aren't way off the charts. I've paid the same & more at hotels in other cities and had fancier rooms, but NEVER had this view. We had a 2 bedroom suite on the second floor with a living room. T.V. in living room and 1 of the bedrooms. Small fridge and microwave. Entire stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mominNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, TX
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We had a two-bedroom suite, comfy beds, nice sitting area, and a fridge and microwave in the closet. The bathroom was updated with a double shower and the terrace is really a great place to view the, you guessed it, sunset. Pity about the mist that came in every evening and morning to block the view though.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorishf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I recently stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs with my boyfriend and our three kids ages 8, 12, and 15. They gave us a 2-bedroom suite with a kitchen. It was very comfortable, clean, and the grounds are charming. Nice small pool and patio area for watching the ocean. It's in a nice quiet area, away from the bars and crowds on Newport, but there is a store that has basics right across the street and a wonderful little cafe for breakfast or lunch almost next door. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Prices are reasonable too. This is a good place to stay with kids, but would also love to go back sometime with just my boyfriend and stay in the room with the hot tub! This is a wonderful little independent hotel.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoBeachnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#145 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#176 of 278 in San Diego
331 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#130 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Property: The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing