We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better location in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #138 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better location in San Diego”
Reviewed March 9, 2009

This hotel is right on the cliffs in Ocean Beach. I used to live down the street and always used to run by this little hotel. Now that I live out of town I finally got the opportunity to stay here.

It was great! Nice location on Pacific Ocean, nice rooms (we had a two bedroom suite), not to mention I was able to enjoy the sunset with friends and beer (alcohol now illegal at San Diego beaches).

I opened the window and fell asleep and woke up to the ocean waves crashing on the cliffs. (Very relaxing).

I would stay here again and would recommend to my out of town friends and family.

If the price was a little cheaper I would stay here every time I visit friends in OB. I guess you can't have it all!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmacinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    66
    20
    21
    12
See reviews for
118
132
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durant, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and loved it! The location is great - so quiet and close to Sea World, which was the reason for our visit to San Diego.

I originally requested a two bedroom unit with no kitchen and upon arrival we were upgraded to a two bedroom with a kitchen. It was very appreciated! Our room was clean, spacious. There were laminate floors throughout, the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and had a small table with a few stools around it. Perfect for the kids! I wasn't a fan of only having one bathroom as we have young children, but we managed!

I asked about internet and was told it's free if you can pick up their signal. Fortunately we could and had no problems, so that was a nice amenity as many hotels are starting to charge for their internet.

The only problem I saw with the room was the baseboards and walls looked like they could use a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser or a fresh coat of paint. It wouldn't stop me from returning, though! Yet.

The cliffs and sunsets we saw were breathtaking! I'd highly recommend staying here! When booking I checked their online booking engine to see about availability and it said they were full. Just to be sure I called the hotel directly and they had space available, so if it says there's no room at the inn, give the office a call to check!

  • Liked — Location, kitchen
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rebekahj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I drove from LA to San Diego and decided to stay one night at Sunset Cliffs to experience the more beachy side of San Diego before staying in the city for the new year.

While driving into San Diego there was fog on the coast which had just happened that day. Due to this we were unable to experience the beautiful sunset at the cliffs as we couldn't even see the cliffs. However the hotel was great and very clean. We walked a short distance up the road and there was a drug store, resturants, liquor store so we were all set. There is also a gas station and great cafe just next door to the hotel so we had all we needed.

It is a great location just on the edge of the town with what I expect to be amazing views.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dynartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia suburbs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband found this hotel on Trip advisor, and we booked through orbitz. I have to say the Inn at Sunset Cliffs is amazing. The views alone make the whole trip worth it. It was our first time visiting California and I have to say we were impressed!
We booked the King Suite and as I said above the views are amazing! You can here the waves crashing against the cliffs and that totally puts you in a relaxed state of mind.
The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The bathroom is beautiful! Granite and glass with a double shower head which make you feel like you are at a spa!
The staff at Sunset Cliffs are very nice and professional.
This was a perfect trip from start to finish, I definitely plan on coming back next year!!!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank neenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

I absolutely loved The Inn at Sunset Cliffs. I went there on a mini vacation for myself and this hotel was everything that I could have hoped for. I stayed in a poolside queen which was much bigger than the pictures made it seem. It was clean, had an extremely comfortable bed, a fridge, and the best part . . . a shower with 2 shower heads. That was just the room. When I walked outside, I saw the best view of the ocean. It was so beautiful and peaceful. The staff was also very friendly and accomodating.
I will definitely be coming back. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank beachyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the Inn and absolutely loved every minute of it! We had a 2 bedroom w/kitchenette which was very clean and well furnished. The suite was like staying in your own apartement - very comfortable. The staff there was excellent and the housekeeping department went out of their way to meet all of your needs. And they all did it with a smile on their faces! But what a beautiful place to work! The flowers were all in bloom and one staff member spent the day caring just for the landscaping. We had a fire one night on the lower patio, watched the sunset every night, enjoyed the pool, the putting green and just the relaxing feeling there. We will DEFINITELY go back! And soon.....

  • Liked — Having a complete apartment w/kitchen
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianBMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We spent a week at the Inn and had a wonderful time. Our room (Kitchenette Suite) was very clean and spacious. We were traveling with our baby and couldn't have picked a better place- this hotel has a very nice family environment. Perfect location to get a beautiful view of the cliffs. Can't tell you about the continental breakfast offered at the hotel......we literally had breakfast every morning at the Point Loma Beach Cafe- awesome food (it's to the left of the hotel). You have to try their Breakfast Burrito- so delicious! My husband loved their smoothies and wraps (he's a health nut). We sometimes ate their twice a day.
We had a wonderful experience at the Inn. Felt really safe. Loved looking at the beautiful rose gardens.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly environment.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luuuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#150 of 278 in San Diego
747 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#178 of 278 in San Diego
337 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,003 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Property: The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing