We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Nearby Hotels
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$282
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$237
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$207
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
261
68
22
21
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
68
22
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean beachpresidential suitesound of the waveswedding venueliving roomsmall hotelbottom floorhotel in san diegoenjoyed my staymini fridgecoffee makerobginapoolsidesurfersretreatblinds
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 385 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as the last two nights of a two week fly drive to California, hoping for something better than the normal motels we'd selected along the way.

Although it was in a decent location for the coast there isn't much there to make the extra cost worth it, especially considering that the facilities and quality of the hotel are quite poor.

The room we were given was very small and the bed was very creaky and not overly comfortable. Nothing about the room was bad, just not particularly inspiring. The rooms mostly open out onto a central courtyard and have wooden blinds meaning it doesn't feel very private and the sun dazzles in the morning so light sleepers beware.

All in all we expected much more considering the cost compared to other hotels we visited during our stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Womouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you taking the time for reviewing our property. We apologize you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest. We have remodeled the hotel in 2011 and being on the ocean, there is a constant maintenance required. The room styles we have do vary in size. May we suggest reserving one of our suites next time if you are looking for more space. They are roughly 3 times the size of our studios and just a little bit more in cost. Our cost are competitive to hotels in the area, we actually range 10% less than most hotels in our market. Please visit us again sometime soon. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon, the room was clean if not a little small, but totally adequate for everything we needed. The bathroom was lovely. The weather was terrible but the terrace down on the cliffs was amazing especially with a morning cup of tea! Great location with parking too.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fabulous situation on the coast. couldnt fault the view We booked Presidential Suite ..... sadly needs a few improvements before it gains presidential status and the $400 per night pricetag is disgraceful!
Faded heavy ancient drapes hinder the only set of opening french doors and as a result instead of the ability to bring the outside in which I was promised.... these doors opened a mere 4inches! The room is very public to the stairs. and to use the jaccuzzi bath youd have needed to deal with all these heavy drapes Nightmare!
The hinges on the bathroom door were totally corroded and no remote for the TV and one measly coffee sachet for the coffee maker
When I pointed these things out no-one cared a hoot!
A bit of time and investment would make the whole place a lot better!

Room Tip: sea view room a must but not the presidential its not worth the extra
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fabulous location on cliffs. Lovely rose garden around the pool terrace and out front. Staff were very helpful and friendly. No breakfast options, and so a long walk or drive to Ocean Beach necessary.
Issue is with the room. Poolside on ground floor- it was small, not absolutely clean and definitely in need of a makeover. Cracked sink; wallpaper re-stuck to wall poorly in bathroom; paintwork knocked about; tv lop-sided on its bracket. Appearance of lower terrace overlooking ocean was off-putting, too. It needs some building work, painting and some aesthetic improvement.
Overall, apart from the views, roses and staff, it appears a bit sad and needy at its current price-point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to go for a morning run alongside the cliffs. So be sure to bring your running shoes.Staff and management is amazing! They know their stuff so if ANY questions I would talk to them first especially if this is your first time in the area. Walking distance to ocean beach.. also if your catching a taxi anywhere..be sure to go through staff. They are contracted with a taxi company..and your less likely to get more charged and screwed. Bus route 35 is right across the street and you can take that to ocean beach. The queeside pool room is Nice and cozy, perfect for two. Like all other reviews the landscaping is amazing..and the deck area is a beautiful place to just kick back and relax. Be careful of the birds.. and yes.. we would stay here again! And also if you can.. try to stay here during a weekday as it is less quite and kids are in school till summer hits. Great place and we'll worth the money.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Austin_1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews