We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #145 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I spent two nights at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs this month for a relaxing getaway after a business trip nearby. What a great choice! The property is great -- AMAZING views, nice pool and courtyard patio. (I wish the weather was warm enough to have taken more advantage of it!) I was fortunate enough to be upgraded into a 2-bedroom upstairs, which is basically laid out like an apartment and would have been plenty of space even with another person or two. Some of the decor in the room is a bit dated, but everything is very well-maintained and clean. The mini-fridge and microwave were a nice touch.

The hotel's location is great -- it's in a more residential area, so it's quiet, but just a 10-minute walk takes you to the main strip of restaurants and shops. The manager gave me some great recommendations for food, but there are so many options that you can't go wrong. There's also a little cafe and convenience store right by the hotel, and a coffee shop half a block away. Just down the block in the other direction you hit a trail to walk along Sunset Cliffs, which is beautiful. There's some parking available and it seems like a good amount throughout the rest of Ocean Beach, so if you aren't a walker, a very quick drive will easily get you where you need to go.

Highly recommend the Inn at Sunset Cliffs and would return if I'm back in OB!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindz0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 380 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Inn at susnet cliffs is simply amazing. It has a great location next to the ocean with some great views. The staff is excellent, provides wonderful service and are very helpful. The place is surrounded by beautiful flowers which I was told were planted by the owner himself. That is a sign of a person who is dedicated to his hotel. The hotel also has a great location in san diego close to ocean beach, downtown san diego and cabrillo (which has a great view of all of san diego). The rooms are clean and well furnished. At night if you open your windows you can hear the ocean waves. The Inn at sunset cliffs is one of the best hotels i have been to in San Diego, I would definitely go back there again and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking about going to San Diego.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaspreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs on 3/19 for business. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel sits in the perfect location right on the ocean. The property is well maintained with beautiful flowers and plants throughout the hotel. The views from the hotel are spectacular. The rooms are clean and you go to sleep with the sounds of the ocean waves. The service is great too. You can't beat the location, as it is close to downtown, gas lamp, ocean beach, Sea World, and much much more! We will definitely go back and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The motel is in a great location very close to Sunset Cliffs park. The courtyard is beautiful with a nice pool, many flowers, and a patio overlooking the ocean with tables & shade; we could see surfers and hear waves crashing. There is a convenient store across the street for snacks and beverages.
The ground floor rooms (although cheaper) are small and are under the walkway for the 2nd floor rooms. During our stay, the upstairs wedding party went back and forth until late at night. Consequently, we got very little sleep. Maybe we should have complained, but the party had the entire upstairs rented and we did rent the cheaper room; so we just chalked it up to "lessons learned". I would like to note: if we had paid more money and rented a larger upstairs room, our experience and review would be completely different. Overall, we would return but would NOT rent a ground floor room.

Room Tip: Pay more and get a larger 2nd-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IA-bolledudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs recently and had an amazing time. This place is so cute and the views are breathtaking!! In our past trips to San Diego, we would typically stay downtown. I am so glad we decided to try out a new location. This was such a refreshing change!! We were so comfortable and had such a relaxing stay. We will absolutely be going back! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I recently stayed at this beautiful Santorini-inspired hotel while in San Diego for a business meeting. The hotel grounds are excellently maintained with beautiful flowers - step outside and you'll be surrounded by the birds chirping, brilliant flowers, a refreshing ocean breeze and the sound of crashing waves. As someone coming from the East Coast after a long, cold winter, I could not have enjoyed my stay more! All of the hotel staff are wonderful, pleasant and extremely helpful. We stayed in the Presidental Suite and were lulled to sleep by the sound of crashing waves every night. The room was clean and very well-appointed with simple, classy furnishings.
If you are in San Diego for work, the Inn at Sunset Cliffs is very conveniently located (approximately a 15 minute drive to the San Diego convention center). In addition, Ocean Beach is about a 1 mile stroll from the hotel, with plenty of quirky charm and varied eateries (there's a great farmers market to explore on Wednesday evenings). We will definitely be back to the Inn - thanks for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having grown up on just blocks away, I'd always wanted to stay at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. Took advantage of a Groupon and was not disappointed. This is a Point Loma landmark and treasure. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. It was like a little apartment: 2 bedrooms, living area with small fridge, microwave and coffee maker and a clean updated bathroom. Furnishings were nothing fancy but the views and cliffside beauty were what it was all about. The grounds were immaculate, well cared for, welcoming and relaxing. The pool, fountain and garden outside our room added color and charm.

Room Tip: A bit of noise outside our northside bedroom window during the night was the only downside. May req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkp9389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#23 of 286 in San Diego
1,077 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#141 of 286 in San Diego
222 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#157 of 286 in San Diego
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#161 of 286 in San Diego
757 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $179 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing